MOBO help needed

royfrosty

Hi guys would you choose Fatal1ty H87 Performance or MSI H87 g43 gaming?

None if im not gonna go for raid setup.

If so then I will still choose msi gaming mobo.

1. The pci slots that asrock has allocated is too redundant unlike pcie is being offered by msi.
2. I dont see anywhere in asrock webpage that there is a killer lan function on thier intel gigabit lan.
3. Asrock do not have creative audio boost features which is very good on headphones.
4. Asrock did not include freebies like gaming door hanger and a msi dragon logo badge haha.

hengheng220

None if im not gonna go for raid setup.

If so then I will still choose msi gaming mobo.

1. The pci slots that asrock has allocated is too redundant unlike pcie is being offered by msi.
2. I dont see anywhere in asrock webpage that there is a killer lan function on thier intel gigabit lan.
3. Asrock do not have creative audio boost features which is very good on headphones.
4. Asrock did not include freebies like gaming door hanger and a msi dragon logo badge haha.

hi just wondering what do you mean by the PCI slots that asrock has allocated is too redundant unlike pcie is being offered by msi? (sorry newbie here)
and if compare the Asrock purity sound and MSI audio boost which one better leh?

HairySpice

MSI using creative sound chip vs Asrock using Realtek.
See which one you like better.

Also:
Asrock using Intel lan vs MSI using Killer Lan.

Both are good boards with good reviews. If i am not wrong MSI AUDIO BOOST will glow and is a pretty cool factor if you have a windowed casing.

royfrosty

hi just wondering what do you mean by the PCI slots that asrock has allocated is too redundant unlike pcie is being offered by msi? (sorry newbie here)
and if compare the Asrock purity sound and MSI audio boost which one better leh?

Pai seh see wrong mobo. The MSI H87 series gaming has the same amount of PCI slots as the Asrock H87 Performance.

PCI is an old standard slots. Both have 3 of it. Back then there are devices that uses PCI slots. Such as old Sound card and some old Wifi cards.

But the current trend is PCIe x1 slots. New sound cards and wifi cards are using this standard now.

Yes the Audio Boost is better on MSI mobo. It has many features for sound. Sound like virtual surround, extra bass, clarity and stereo widening.

Actually if you are not gonna do RAID the best is option is the B85 G43 Gaming Mobo.

Forgot to add on also. MSI mobo has VGA boost funtions that helps you optimize your gaming experience on MSI gpu.

royfrosty

MSI using creative sound chip vs Asrock using Realtek.
See which one you like better.

Also:
Asrock using Intel lan vs MSI using Killer Lan.

Both are good boards with good reviews. If i am not wrong MSI AUDIO BOOST will glow and is a pretty cool factor if you have a windowed casing.

Yeap it will glow redish pinkish LED in it.

hengheng220

orhhhh thanks hahaha you make until the MSI like tok kong sia but then hor the diff between is H87 and B85 is just the raid right? and if i never understand wrongly the raid function means using alot small HDD combine and make it into one drive right?

royfrosty

orhhhh thanks hahaha you make until the MSI like tok kong sia but then hor the diff between is H87 and B85 is just the raid right? and if i never understand wrongly the raid function means using alot small HDD combine and make it into one drive right?

Yes it is just that.

B85 Gaming would be a more appropriate one for you. With Aesthetics looks also very nice.

If you take a look at their heatsinks at the capacitor near the CPU you can see a dragon head. lol

soufigo

H87 still can crossfire but 1 slot will become x4. B85 cannot crossfire. If u want sli must go z87.
If u don't intend to raid or crossfire better b85

hengheng220

hahaha ok thanks guys for the input you mind checking out my specs and see if its ok?

MOBO: MSI B85-G43 Gaming + I5 4670
GPU: R9 290
Ram: G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz 8GB(1x8GB) 10-10-10-30 (F3-12800CL10S-8GBXL)
HDD: WD 1 TB Blue
PSU: Superflower HX600W
Case: Sharkoon T28

royfrosty

hahaha ok thanks guys for the input you mind checking out my specs and see if its ok?

Looks good! Good to go!

jiaweiii

Why dont get ssd

hengheng220

lols was intending as a budget build ma if ssd get which one is the most budget de? dont need so much space 128 should be enough

royfrosty

If budget SSD just get a Silicon Power V60 120gb ~ $120

Slightly better performance Plextor m5s 128gb ~ $139 Convergent Promo

hengheng220

hmmm ok thanks for the input hahaha will post a project log once i start doing hahaha still waiting for r9 290 non reference models

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.