Moi first experience calling 995...

doppypoppy

My grandmother suddenly not well early morning.

So I immediately called 995.

The ringtone is like calling normal land line.

Took a while of ringing before a Malay uncle pick up. He said something like 'Hello, 995...'

Told him what happened. He asked if patient is conscious and a few other things on the patient current condition.

Then I had to repeat my address twice and spell it out even. This can be improved.

About 20 mins later, ambulance arrived. 1 Malay girl, 2 Malay bros.

They did the usual checks and then put my grandma on the stretcher. Told us which hospital we going.

At the lift area, abit awkward, as the lift does not seem to have space for us. So I decided to auto abit and walked downstairs.

Outside the ambulance, the crew focused on getting my grandma into the ambulance. Also awkward moment as I did not know whether to enter the ambulance or wait for them to ask me to go in.

Finally, the Malay girl asked me to go insai. Sit beside driver. Once insai, I saw the screen display showing my case, there is even an audio clip for the crew to replay my call to 995.

Also I saw a sign that says no photograph.

Meanwhile, the ambulance did not move off immediately. This answered my longtime curiosity as to why some ambulance stay at a spot for very long.

The reason is they need to do ECG on the spot. Once that was done, then the driver will get signal to move off.

The ambulance also on the red and blue light which attracted some attention but there was no sound.

Soon, the ambulance arrived at the hospital. My grandma recovered quickly and was soon back to normal health.

Overall an interesting experience and give a 8/10 rating to the scdf guys.

IAmChiobu12M

I was the patient lying inside ambulance even more of an experience lol. And yes I think I rmb got a logo no photography or sth. But I was not super conscious back then. The paramedic keep tell me to stay awake and don't sleep. I only rmb is very cooling n clean n white with all the medical equipment lol.

Hyperephania

I was the patient lying inside ambulance even more of an experience lol. And yes I think I rmb got a logo no photography or sth. But I was not super conscious back then. The paramedic keep tell me to stay awake and don't sleep. I only rmb is very cooling n clean n white with all the medical equipment lol.
ijjit if sleep riao cannot wake up? :frown:

williewombat615

Thanks for sharing your sexperience… not everyone has medical emergency at home that requires SCDF to show up.

doppypoppy

interesting... i googled it...

EMTs and doctors often tell a very sick patient to "stay with me" as a way of encouraging the patient to stay conscious and keep fighting. It can serve as a way to reassure the patient and help them focus on staying alert and responsive during a critical situation.

--

Why do paramedics ask you to stay awake?

First, remaining conscious by volition allows the increased release of body chemicals that help blood pressure to remain elevated, Dr. Eachempati said. “Critical drops in blood pressure in the trauma situation can cause organ failure or death,”

IAmChiobu12M

interesting... i googled it...

EMTs and doctors often tell a very sick patient to "stay with me" as a way of encouraging the patient to stay conscious and keep fighting. It can serve as a way to reassure the patient and help them focus on staying alert and responsive during a critical situation.

--

Why do paramedics ask you to stay awake?

First, remaining conscious by volition allows the increased release of body chemicals that help blood pressure to remain elevated, Dr. Eachempati said. “Critical drops in blood pressure in the trauma situation can cause organ failure or death,”
Yeap that time my BP was very low n life threatening.

tmkedmw

Ambulance arriving in 20mins is I think longer than the median response time of around 10 mins.

TLCTLC88

I had numerous experience with call ambulance for my mum. Overall good experience.

In mid 2020, finally called ambulance for myself. Ambulance arrived within 10mins, the paramedic examined me, helped me to the stretcher, told my husband which hospital I would be sent to (my husband drove there). The female paramedic was very attentive. She knew I was in pain even with a slight touch, told the driver to slow down when approaching a hump.

newbie3214

My grandmother suddenly not well early morning.

So I immediately called 995.

The ringtone is like calling normal land line.

Took a while of ringing before a Malay uncle pick up. He said something like 'Hello, 995...'

Told him what happened. He asked if patient is conscious and a few other things on the patient current condition.

Then I had to repeat my address twice and spell it out even. This can be improved.

About 20 mins later, ambulance arrived. 1 Malay girl, 2 Malay bros.

They did the usual checks and then put my grandma on the stretcher. Told us which hospital we going.

At the lift area, abit awkward, as the lift does not seem to have space for us. So I decided to auto abit and walked downstairs.

Outside the ambulance, the crew focused on getting my grandma into the ambulance. Also awkward moment as I did not know whether to enter the ambulance or wait for them to ask me to go in.

Finally, the Malay girl asked me to go insai. Sit beside driver. Once insai, I saw the screen display showing my case, there is even an audio clip for the crew to replay my call to 995.

Also I saw a sign that says no photograph.

Meanwhile, the ambulance did not move off immediately. This answered my longtime curiosity as to why some ambulance stay at a spot for very long.

The reason is they need to do ECG on the spot. Once that was done, then the driver will get signal to move off.

The ambulance also on the red and blue light which attracted some attention but there was no sound.

Soon, the ambulance arrived at the hospital. My grandma recovered quickly and was soon back to normal health.

Overall an interesting experience and give a 8/10 rating to the scdf guys.
Call 995 before because got an auntie walking in front of me slip and fall, with the back of her head landing on concrete pavement. She lost consciousness.

Ambulance took about 20mins to come. And the SCDF people no sense of urgency, nua zhap zhap one

Really lost faith in them after that incident

Hope the auntie is well now

:(

enimen

Ok I gotta rant a bit. How come, in some none emergency cases, the ambulance still flash their red/blue lights thru out their journey?

I guess non emergency because the ambulance was at crushing speed on lane 2, no sirens, just driving along.

If there is no emergency, why must they on the bright bright lights to blind every drivers?? It's super annoying. Worse than sunlight

enimen

Oh gosh. Is it due to your recent ordeal? :(

Sometimes I see the ambulance rush like mad driven at 130 -140 km/hr. I always wonder how uncomfortable it must have felt for the patient...? Like wanna die liao, but driver still drive so fast, scare the old folk patient even more.

doppypoppy

Call 995 before because got an auntie walking in front of me slip and fall, with the back of her head landing on concrete pavement. She lost consciousness.

Ambulance took about 20mins to come. And the SCDF people no sense of urgency, nua zhap zhap one

Really lost faith in them after that incident

Hope the auntie is well now

:(
if i am not mistaken i was told or read somewhere that the paramedic shld move swiftly but not rush/run/move with speed to avoid another potential casualty situation...

but yes you are right... when the scdf guys arrived, they walked in a very lepak way to my unit, i won't fault them thou...

also if u are a cleanliness freak, they will surely not take off their boots to enter your flat

IAmChiobu12M

Oh gosh. Is it due to your recent ordeal? :(

Sometimes I see the ambulance rush like mad driven at 130 -140 km/hr. I always wonder how uncomfortable it must have felt for the patient...? Like wanna die liao, but driver still drive so fast, scare the old folk patient even more.
not the recent one, thanks for caring.

i don't feel much, I was too unwell but the paramedic did a good job to kept me alive n focus

saiyan2005

Huh wat so interesting?? Usually call this, is something bad liao leh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.