Money Saving Techniques

dhrye89

well, look for value, not price. That's what i meant.

Cheers! :)

Some ways to save money on transport:
Take bus whenever possible. Take taxi when you need to. It is still cheaper than owning a car.
Buy a second-hand car instead of a new car if you really need your own transport.
For your cable tv, you can get the basic subscription. and pay for whatever movies you watch. I don't think that HBO got great movies everyday. For football fans, you also have to subscribe to Champions League if i am not wrong.

Cheers!

Lesley Annis

I always suggest starting online by trying EBAY. Collect all the junk you have in your house you don;t need and try listing it for sale. You should also try this same approach on craigslist.org.

If successful, look for stuff locally that you can resell online at a profit. Go to Goodwilll stores and buy stuff there to resell online.Go to garage sales and then sell that stuff on Craigslist etc.
cd rates

skilled

sometimes buying a new car and driving it longer is better than buying a 2nd hand car.

goodcareer

I always suggest starting online by trying EBAY. Collect all the junk you have in your house you don;t need and try listing it for sale. You should also try this same approach on craigslist.org.

If successful, look for stuff locally that you can resell online at a profit. Go to Goodwilll stores and buy stuff there to resell online.Go to garage sales and then sell that stuff on Craigslist etc.
cd rates

how much profit have you made so far on resale online?

Joseph99

hi

does selling on ebay have fees ? cos when i wanna sell on ebay, it seems that there is a 30 cents charges and i need to input my credit card number...

ScottLey

Eat Cheap, Investment Smart, Earn Some Money through Internet, SAVE SAVE AND SAVE !

cnotsniw

Philips Spot-On LED is 19.90 (but can be bought at around 16.90 at Carrefour or promo 14.90). U need 3 AAA though but I build my own battery pack using Li-Ion handphone battery pack.

Hi Al-jay, since you are subject-matter expert on this, would u like to comment on the "Sanyo Eneloop Solar Light SSL-LT1S-E"? Currently retailing about $250 (anyone knows where to get this cheaper), it seems like a good alternative to using home lighting and also serves as an emergency light.

Are there any competitvely priced similar alternatives available?

Al-Jay

Hi Al-jay, since you are subject-matter expert on this, would u like to comment on the "Sanyo Eneloop Solar Light SSL-LT1S-E"? Currently retailing about $250 (anyone knows where to get this cheaper), it seems like a good alternative to using home lighting and also serves as an emergency light.

Are there any competitvely priced similar alternatives available?
250 for a solar light? Not for me. I just bought two 2nd hand notebook P4 at 330 altogether, for my 7 mth old baby to watch DVD. One at nanny house, one at home.

Anyway, Carrefour having 10% off this friday to sunday. Ikea also have solar lamp, think is 19.90. Eneloop battery is worth buying though for emergency use.

I bought those energy savings light bulb (18W) from fairpriceplus for 3.9 a pc and till today 5 yrs already, I hv not replaced a single bulb. It will probably takes another 5 to 10 yrs before I need to replace one. At 18W for 16 hrs a day for 30 days, the electricity consumption is probably 2 dollar a month. To invest 250, u paying 10 yrs of electricity upfront, I am not a fanatic environmentalist.

enriqueyang

250 for a solar light? Not for me. I just bought two 2nd hand notebook P4 at 330 altogether, for my 7 mth old baby to watch DVD. One at nanny house, one at home.

Anyway, Carrefour having 10% off this friday to sunday. Ikea also have solar lamp, think is 19.90. Eneloop battery is worth buying though for emergency use.

I bought those energy savings light bulb (18W) from fairpriceplus for 3.9 a pc and till today 5 yrs already, I hv not replaced a single bulb. It will probably takes another 5 to 10 yrs before I need to replace one. At 18W for 16 hrs a day for 30 days, the electricity consumption is probably 2 dollar a month. To invest 250, u paying 10 yrs of electricity upfront, I am not a fanatic environmentalist.

330 is cheap, but dvd player is like less than 100 bucks leh.. and need one laptop enough le ma, why 2..

cnotsniw

To invest 250, u paying 10 yrs of electricity upfront, I am not a fanatic environmentalist.[/QUOTE]

Good point.

What do u have for emergency lighting? in case of power failure, or, touch wood, real emergencies.

cnotsniw

for my 7 mth old baby to watch DVD. One at nanny house, one at home.

oh btw, dont let your baby watch too much tv/dvd at such a young age as their eyes are not fully developed yet. to stimulate him/her visually, u can try flash cards

... cheers :s8:

enriqueyang

hha nanny house sure have tv de ma, let ur baby watch normal tv can liao and making him expose to laptop at such young age is unhealthy later become a computer nerd then jialat liao ma hha

zhiz22

There is a guaranteed savings plan now

Interest range from 2.30% to 2.55% depend on how much you put in

5 yr plan.

Beta_Tester

im still working towards my 50K savings b4 i get marry. Est i can save abt at least 8-10K per year after minusing cost.. i did by die also 500 goes in to my bank 1st. Bonus/AWS all in. Then Watever excess i have for my salary also goes in. Im a big spender but i guess i can save too. My Salary is just enough to apply Credit Card. I indulge in nitty gritty waste money stuff sometimes, im 30% a saver and 70% Spender.

Heres my tips:

Get 2nd hand stuff if possible
join mass order
buy vouchers (can get 15-50% off face value)
Buy clothes during sale
Surf net for more lobangs
Get CC to save u on some meals
Buy a car? Co share with family
Know more ppl n get staff price from them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.