Money Saving Techniques

Soomp!

Very much better than me. I am living on capital.

Father 500
MIL 100
Car instalment 655
Road tax 60
Parking at home 88
Parking at office 150
Car insurance 60
Petrol 300
Car servicing 75
Conservancy charges 83
Property tax ??
SP Services 100
Kid tertiary expenses 1700
Cigarettes 300

There is no much area I can cut down on expenses except smoking or owning a car which I can't give up.
u are giving ur father so much....

car expense is crazy!

of cool, ur kid already in tertiary.. no problem what.. wait for him graduate and he can start giving u $$ instead.

please cut smoking.... bad for health../

henrylbh

u are giving ur father so much....

car expense is crazy!

of cool, ur kid already in tertiary.. no problem what.. wait for him graduate and he can start giving u $$ instead.

please cut smoking.... bad for health../

Actually I feel guilty giving him that little. He is 85 yo and not staying with me. He needs to go out with his gf 3x or more a week. No cooking at home and he eats out everyday.

I may give up that car when it expires in 4+ years time.

sAVaGEmP5

Actually I feel guilty giving him that little. He is 85 yo and not staying with me. He needs to go out with his gf 3x or more a week. No cooking at home and he eats out everyday.

I may give up that car when it expires in 4+ years time.

wow 85 yr old he still have a gf, and still eat out ? pro.

marnee

Woow 85 yr old with gf & still go out so often..wheres e gf from?

Mine is like:
insurance: $800
Transport: $140
entertainment/meals: $1200 (including out with wife on weekends)
hp: $58
Starhub: $32
Co Share option: $400
Property tax: $300
Maintaince fee/sinking funds: $330
haircut: $35
Allowance to parents: $300

All of these r still less than my rental income each month & my mortgage installment is fully settled by CPF...even if i factor the installment if as if its fully paid by cash, i will still have access based on just the rental alone..the power of passive income :)

Investments I use with my cash surplus as & when i feel its a good time to stock up on stocks..keeping enough bullets to get another property too..in asia property is really e way to go..create sufficient passive income n u can retire...dont listen to what some insurance agents tell u that u need millions n millions of dollars in cash to retire..

Konnichiwa

How u guys manage to keep ur meal expenses to 300 and below one...
I mostly eat all 3 meals including bf, lunch and dinner outside...
So most of time... I spend 600 or more monthly... each meal usually cost me 6 to 7 bucks. and all these meal are taken at kopitiam or fast food restuarant...

henrylbh

How u guys manage to keep ur meal expenses to 300 and below one...
I mostly eat all 3 meals including bf, lunch and dinner outside...
So most of time... I spend 600 or more monthly... each meal usually cost me 6 to 7 bucks. and all these meal are taken at kopitiam or fast food restuarant...

Smoking cost me $300 per month. TG I can't drink. But my car drink $300 per month.

lzr1984

Just started working and this is mine as follow

Meals: $200
Phone Bill: $33
Transport: $50
Entertainment: $50 (4D or Toto)
Allowance to parents: $600 (Until next year Aug then will be $400, cos monthly installment to pay back something i brought when i not working)

Konnichiwa

Just started working and this is mine as follow

Meals: $200
Phone Bill: $33
Transport: $50
Entertainment: $50 (4D or Toto)
Allowance to parents: $600 (Until next year Aug then will be $400, cos monthly installment to pay back something i brought when i not working)

How you manage to spend only $200 on meals? You eat lunch outside only? Breakfast and dinner how?

lzr1984

How you manage to spend only $200 on meals? You eat lunch outside only? Breakfast and dinner how?

$5 lunch and $5 dinner and 1 week around $50 then 1 month about $200.
Normally sat and sun will eat at home and also weekday dinner not always tabao go home eat one. Sometime i eat maggie mee, udon noodle, macaroni lor so the money i never use to tabao can sometime cover morning breadfast which i buy bread, sandwich or bao lor.

DeCogSG

I personally pack lunch to work everyday. Eating out at Suntec is a real pain to my wallet.

1 good thing about it though is my office has free flow tea and coffee! The good kind some more.

Another way I think everyone can save money is by trying to chiong with friends whom you can share cab home together. Saves quite abit IMO.

wulu1_69

if u are single stay in yr parents home...provided they nv chase u out...haha...save alot moolah...haha:D:D

modas88

Stumbled upon this thread. Some tips for car owners:-

Insurance - If at renewal time ur insurer does not give you a further No claim discount, dont be afraid to writein n complain and threaten to switch, they may give you a further discount.

Parking- There are several sites that show the rates of carparks all over Singapore. This is useful for eg if you are going to spend a long time in certain central areas over the w/e, there are still some carparks that charge per entry instead of per hour on the weekend.

Maintainence - if your ride is a run of the mill Jap/Korean/Malaysian car, when it comes to routine servicing you can buy the parts from those shops around Serangoon Rd and engine oil in Carrefour. The take across to JB and only pay Rm 10-20 for the labour

kenneth27

If you could have realise that we are paying alot to our local telco. Eg: Broadband and handphone and subscribed TV programs. Do we really use that much? Or do we really think we need it?

Let's say an average broadband plan cost $39 (Plus GST - 41.73). In a year, you are paying $500.76 . Add your handphone subscription - let say $39 too. In one year, this two items would cost you $1000.

In ten year, you paid $10,000. See how much this really is!

Let's say you have $10,000 deposited in your bank, and the interest is 1% (wishful), your yearly interest is around $100+.

A lot of us presume we need broadband at home. Most of us wake up at 6-7am and work till 5-6pm. By the time we reach home, it is around 7pm. After showers and dinner, we are left with only 2 hours. Instead of resting and relax, you surf the net again which you already did in the office. Is this really healthy to the eye, to family ties and love.

Addicted to something you didn't realise.

Maybe some of you will give excuses like you need to download movies, music.... That's worst. You spend most time checking and surfing for what to download. After download, can you finish all the movies you downloaded? Suppose I rent a dvd, it cost $3. For $39, I could have rent 13 dvd in a month. Each weeks, i could have watch 2-3 dvd on average. If you are single, you could watch 1 movie each week with the same amount paid on broadband.

Most of us usually subscribed to a high-end mobile contract. If you compare on few month, you may have notice out of the 100 or 300 minutes, you may not even have used more than half. Could pre-paid card better?

Don't follow what you do not need!

wulu1_69

If you could have realise that we are paying alot to our local telco. Eg: Broadband and handphone and subscribed TV programs. Do we really use that much? Or do we really think we need it?

Let's say an average broadband plan cost $39 (Plus GST - 41.73). In a year, you are paying $500.76 . Add your handphone subscription - let say $39 too. In one year, this two items would cost you $1000.

In ten year, you paid $10,000. See how much this really is!

Let's say you have $10,000 deposited in your bank, and the interest is 1% (wishful), your yearly interest is around $100+.

A lot of us presume we need broadband at home. Most of us wake up at 6-7am and work till 5-6pm. By the time we reach home, it is around 7pm. After showers and dinner, we are left with only 2 hours. Instead of resting and relax, you surf the net again which you already did in the office. Is this really healthy to the eye, to family ties and love.

Addicted to something you didn't realise.

Maybe some of you will give excuses like you need to download movies, music.... That's worst. You spend most time checking and surfing for what to download. After download, can you finish all the movies you downloaded? Suppose I rent a dvd, it cost $3. For $39, I could have rent 13 dvd in a month. Each weeks, i could have watch 2-3 dvd on average. If you are single, you could watch 1 movie each week with the same amount paid on broadband.

Most of us usually subscribed to a high-end mobile contract. If you compare on few month, you may have notice out of the 100 or 300 minutes, you may not even have used more than half. Could pre-paid card better?

Don't follow what you do not need!

spot on in my case...going to terminate the line in upcoming april liao :s12:

Jarlaxle

cancel internet connection and switch to mobile broadband from phone ?

kenneth27

Data plan mobile have internet tethering so that you can plug into labtop if you know how to switch on. Very simple.

But....you are still addicted. Quit this addiction..Get out of the house and live well...walk..exercise..cycle..or connect with family.

cancel internet connection and switch to mobile broadband from phone ?

tennisguy

Saved my handphone bill by $5-$8 a month

I am starting to use apps like WhatsApp and LINE

:)

Any kind souls can teach how to save utility bills?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.