Monitor Flickering Issue @ 144Hertz

tadpol387

Hi Bros,

My monitor flickers whenever i adjust my monitor refresh rate pass 60hertz.

Details are as follows;

Monitor - PRISM+ F270i PRO

Graphic Card - Powercolor Red Devil Radeon™ RX 5700XT 8GB GDDR6 Graphics Card

Cable - UGREEN DisplayPort 1.4 Cable 8K 4K HDR 165Hz 60Hz Display Port Adapter For Video PC Laptop TV DP 1.4 1.2 Display Port 1.2 Cable

Video of the flickering;
https://bit.ly/2Myq1Fm

Quite sian that I can't utilise the 144hertz capability because of this.

Your help would greatly be appreciated.

Kindly advise.

Thanks you.

destiny88

try turn on/off freesync,

try another DP port.

if both fails use HDMI try.

If all else fails either 1 item is spoil

Vulpix

This looks like monitor issue leh. Did you try another cable first?

fzhfzh

From my experience, it’s DisplayPort cable issue. Try changing a cable. Had the same issue with my Alienware 3418

Vulpix

From my experience, it’s DisplayPort cable issue. Try changing a cable. Had the same issue with my Alienware 3418
Serious ah? He so sway his dp 1.4 cable got issue? :(

Anarky

I had the same issue before.. few options for you to try before spending money on new cable..
1. Power cycle the monitor, unplug everything from monitor, until all power discharged, then plug in again and see if it's working now.
2. After trying 1, repeat but use a different DP port.
3. Uninstall display driver with DDU and install latest drivers.

If all else fails, buy a proper VESA certified cable.. UGREEN is not certified according to this database https://www.displayport.org/product-category/cables-adaptors/

Also no need to try with HDMI cable, HDMI doesn't support 1440p 144Hz

EDIT: is this the cable you bought? https://www.ugreen.com/product/4k_displayport_male_to_male_cable_1m-en.html
According to the specs it only support 1440p 60Hz

Bardiel

I had the same issue before.. few options for you to try before spending money on new cable..
1. Power cycle the monitor, unplug everything from monitor, until all power discharged, then plug in again and see if it's working now.

If all else fails, buy a proper VESA certified cable.. UGREEN is not certified according to this database https://www.displayport.org/product-category/cables-adaptors/

EDIT: is this the cable you bought? https://www.ugreen.com/product/4k_displayport_male_to_male_cable_1m-en.html

In before TS self pawn. :s13:

incase is driver issue : https://community.amd.com/thread/242557

tadpol387

- Tried Step 1
- This Prism Monitor only have 1 Display Port

The cable i bought is;
https://www.lazada.sg/products/ugre...p-14-12-display-port-12-cable-i348676594.html

purpleberry

If it flickers every xx seconds, probably due to bad capacitors if the above suggestion fails.

Vulpix

Oh man.. 18 bucks for non-VESA certified cable.. this UGREEN jiak money very well..

I wonder if Prism will let you RMA monitor before you test with another cable..
Actually it depends lah. Maybe the OEM of his cable got VESA certified but if they don't reveal we won't know. A 100% VESA certified HRB3 DP 1.4 cable is around 23 so not too far off.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.