monitor to tv question

pleeted

i plan to buy a monitor prolly dell s2440l 24" so that i can extend my display from my macbook.

qns

1) macbook does not have hdmi port, understand dat i might need a adapter, may i know does using adapter affects the quality?
1.1) there are adapters ranging from US$4 (ebay) to US40 (apple store). can those cheaper brand be trusted?

2) currently my room does not have tv cable point. is there any solution where i can convert the monitor to a tv by using any wireless solution? be it sharing from main source (if it is possible) or using tv receiver (attached to monitor or run from pc)?

3) is it better to wait for IT show for better deals or there is not much difference at all.

thanx

shadow84

1. If your macbook only gt displayport, you would need active displayport to hdmi adaptor. And it is very expensive.

2. You cant convert your monitor to a tv if the monitor dun have a RF port, similar to those found on TV. You can only connect a media box/player to it via hdmi. It would be the closest thing to a TV.

3. SLS sells it much cheaper. If you need to extend display from macbook, get the U2414H. It has DP, HDMI, dvi ports. But no TV functions. Costs around $369.

pleeted

thanx 4 reply.

i agree the original adaptor is expensive. anyway, i came across Thunderbolt Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Femal Cable Adapter Audio for MacBook Pro | eBay which cost US $4.11. is these type of cable trustable? i rmbr i have a cheap displayport to vga and it works quite well also.

i have a media box but i am looking more to a solution which can watch local live channel in my room.

i wonder is there any homeplug solution for RF port?
or can i share the main tv signal in my living room wirelessly?

i have also been looking into usb tv tuner dvb-t2 http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...-usb-pci-e-pci-tv-tuner-thread-3290548-9.html

noted on ur recommendation and will go sls if i pass by there.

1. If your macbook only gt displayport, you would need active displayport to hdmi adaptor. And it is very expensive.

2. You cant convert your monitor to a tv if the monitor dun have a RF port, similar to those found on TV. You can only connect a media box/player to it via hdmi. It would be the closest thing to a TV.

3. SLS sells it much cheaper. If you need to extend display from macbook, get the U2414H. It has DP, HDMI, dvi ports. But no TV functions. Costs around $369.

shadow84

RF port is connected directly into singtel/starhub cables. If can bypass or zhng, ppl would have done it liao.

There is no homeplug that have RF port de..

As for the adaptor, you can give it a try, just a few dollars nia.

That pci-e tv tuner might work, but it is dependant on the 'wireless' signal it can receive from broadcast station. The weaker the signal the less likely you can watch your shows in peace. At least connecting directly to RF port is more secured.

pleeted

thanx 4 ur advice.

will try the cable if i buy the monitor.

bo bian my room no have tv tuner port tats y nid 2 xplore ways to watch tv in my room. nowadays i see the new hdb all rooms like got the cable point, so good.

i think the pci-e tv tuner sure ex. might give up the thought of watching tv in my room :(

shadow84

If you do get the U2414H, just get a mini dp to dp cable will do. I believe all macbook comes with mini dp port.

pleeted

actually my budget is <$300. the monitor u recommend looks cool, i will nid to go down and take a look and also see if got other cheaper monitor can support dp or not.

shadow84

actually my budget is <$300. the monitor u recommend looks cool, i will nid to go down and take a look and also see if got other cheaper monitor can support dp or not.

Frankly, those monitors that have DP are usually expensive...

pleeted

do u have any idea if the adaptor (original) will affect the quality? if it doesn't, then i might just use adaptor instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.