Motor insurance system needs fixing

jq75

Motor insurance system needs fixing

YESTERDAY'S letter by Mr Clement Foo Dun Jie ("Governing body needed for motor insurance claims") struck a chord with me. Over the past few years, my wife's car has been hit twice by other vehicles.

In the first incident, her car's rear bumper was dented and loosened. The other driver admitted liability - not in writing, unfortunately - but denied responsibility subsequently when claims reached his insurance company, even counter-claiming that my wife was at fault.

In the more recent incident, a lorry struck my wife's vehicle from behind, causing her car to hit another one in front.

Her insurance company would not help with the third-party claim. But with photographic evidence and a police report after medical checks, the motor workshop was able to make a successful claim.

But when the insurer of the car in front made a claim against my wife's insurance, her insurer decided to settle it, which affected her no-claim bonus.

The current system has the following problems:

Third-party claims have to be made by the insured, and not the insurance company. This creates an uneven playing field of layman and workshop versus insurance company, which is made even more difficult by legal costs. It is also possible for workshops to inflate claims.
The reasonable policy of not involving the police in minor accidents makes it hard to obtain verified evidence in many cases, making third-party claims difficult.
The no-claim discount system forces the innocent party to pay up instead of pursuing those at fault for minor damages.
It would go a long way towards fixing these problems if:

For all claims, the motorists' own insurance company arranges for repairs and takes up third-party claims. Insurers should stand by their policyholders.
The Independent Damage Assessment Centre (Idac) is charged with the responsibility of collecting evidence from both parties, even when only one reports an accident. Enforcement can be through collective action of insurance companies.
The no-claim discount is replaced by generally low rates, with surcharges on drivers deemed unsafe based on the Idac accident database. Innocent drivers should not be penalised for others' recklessness.
Would the Automobile Association of Singapore care to take these up with the motor insurance industry?

Su Guaning

jq75

Governing body needed for motor insurance claims

Published on Nov 01, 2013

ABOUT four months ago, my stationary car was hit by another car coming out of a parking space.

My in-vehicle camera recorded the incident. I made an accident report and took the car to my authorised dealer to make a third-party claim.

Up till now, I have not succeeded in my claim against the other driver's insurer, AXA, because he has not made an accident report.

My authorised dealer also told me it could not proceed with the repairs until AXA authorised the claim.

The Traffic Police said they were unable to help because accidents that did not result in injuries would not be investigated.

Why are drivers forced to buy motor insurance when insurers can refuse to pay third-party claims in the event of an accident?

Those who cause "non-injury" accidents can get away scot-free if they choose not to make reports to their insurers.

There should be a governing body overseeing such insurance claims, to ensure that victims are able to get their due compensation.

Clement Foo Dun Jie

jq75

Unnecessary repairs behind rising motor insurance premiums?

Published on Oct 30, 2013

TWO weeks ago, a van made light contact with the back of the car my wife was driving.

The car was not badly damaged but the rear bumper appeared to have become loose.

Nevertheless, as advised by our insurer, we made our way to an authorised dealer to report the incident.

After an inspection, the dealer told us the bumper was "deformed" and needed to be replaced; the cost was estimated to be $1,000.

We were also told that fixing the existing bumper back was not an option.

Although the van driver had admitted it was his fault, we were reluctant to pass such a high cost to him. So we

decided not to proceed with the repair.
Such drivers (forum writer) are very rare these days

On the way home, my wife managed to locate a mechanic through her contacts.

In less than half an hour, he fixed the bumper back and also taught me how to do it. He even refused to accept payment.

Fraudulent claims have been cited as a cause of rising motor insurance premiums.

After my experience, I wonder if rising premiums may also be due to unnecessary repairs, albeit through the proper channels.

Kwong Hui Hen

jq75

i find AD are usually have power to submit inflated claims:o

jq75

3rd-party coverage for foreign cars

Published on Nov 02, 2013

SEEKING redress from the insurance company of a foreign-registered vehicle that is involved in an accident here is very difficult, even when its driver is at fault.

I suggest that the daily Vehicle Entry Permit fee for such vehicles be raised, as suggested by Mr Patrick Loh ("Raise entry fee for foreign cars"; Thursday), not only to control congestion on our roads, but also to include a component for paying the premium of a daily third-party motor insurance to a local insurance company.

This is to protect the interests of local drivers should they be involved in accidents with foreign-registered vehicles.

Ng Chee Kheon

gaolow

Governing body needed for motor insurance claims

Published on Nov 01, 2013

My in-vehicle camera recorded the incident. I made an accident report and took the car to my authorised dealer to make a third-party claim.

Up till now, I have not succeeded in my claim against the other driver's insurer, AXA, because he has not made an accident report.

My authorised dealer also told me it could not proceed with the repairs until AXA authorised the claim.

Clement Foo Dun Jie

Can someone explain to me ..why he can not claim? Is this consider hit and run?

DarkBlue

SEEKING redress from the insurance company of a foreign-registered vehicle that is involved in an accident here is very difficult, even when its driver is at fault.

I suggest that the daily Vehicle Entry Permit fee for such vehicles be raised, as suggested by Mr Patrick Loh ("Raise entry fee for foreign cars"; Thursday), not only to control congestion on our roads, but also to include a component for paying the premium of a daily third-party motor insurance to a local insurance company.

This is to protect the interests of local drivers should they be involved in accidents with foreign-registered vehicles.

Ng Chee Kheon

I chased this for years... LTA also never gave me a direct reply (ping-pong to different department). When collecting FINES on mod they very fast.

Simple cannot straight away claim or a claimable coverage on foreign cars (such as Malaysian cars).

I also know Malaysia car got coverage, we need a guarantee on the claims. Cannot make policies that discriminates your own people.

AL5509

DarkBlue; said:
I chased this for years... LTA also never gave me a direct reply (ping-pong to different department). When collecting FINES on mod they very fast.
100% agreed to this statement made!
But what can be done again?
NOTHING!
Or anyone got a solution?

DarkBlue; said:
Simple cannot straight away claim or a claimable coverage on foreign cars (such as Malaysian cars).

I also know Malaysia car got coverage, we need a guarantee on the claims. Cannot make policies that discriminates your own people.
Claim against foreign cars policy suck!
When they bang you, it as good as you are down on luck as claiming them is near to impossible.

But when you bang them, once they report the case to your insurance company, they will act and hold/terminate your NCD!
Such unfair practices have never been look into as far as I know. But will the government be bothered?
Nah...they will encourage you to not drive and take public transport.
Lolzz

darkmatt

remove compulsory insurance lor.

insurance companies will BEG you to insure with them.

limkopilimteh

chewing gum was banned when one MP sat on it in a MRT.
You need a foreign car to bang a MP car before we can see anything on compulsory insurance for foreign vehicles. Pray hard folks, it may just happen!

AL5509

NY__chickenpie; said:
might as well pay some FT to bang the car on a MP car then can huat liao.
FT drive a SG car still pointless as can claim through local insurance company.
Unless a foreign vehicle (eg. MY plate car crash into a MP car); then got story to sing le.

spell

Ng Chee Kheon

I can attest to above statement. My previous car was banged from behind by a Msian plate wira last year, none of my insurance authorised workshop dare to repair, citing reasons the other party insurance most of the time will simply drag or not respond, or even worse the driver got no valid license or insurance.

Which brings the question, when these foreign registered vehicles come into SG, our folks at ICA do not check whether they have valid license or insurance at all. With their bo-chup insurance companies, they are simply a time bomb on our roads.

Z_Dash

Seriously the insurance is flawed when foreign vehicles can claim us so easily.

Yet when we get hit and tries to claim for them it seems only 5% success rate subjected to the other party if they're honest enough......if they run away means we have to pay ourselves.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.