Moving advice

Gymrat76

Move done and here's a quick review of Cube Movers.

Overall: 3.5/5
Communication: 2.5/5
Speed: 5/5
Punctuality: 3/5

Contact move timing was 1-1.30pm as I couldn't secure morning slot. Told them they needed to be on time as condo has a strict 5pm cutoff for moves.

On the day itself, I texted the sales guy and was told 1-2pm. Called him at 2.20pm and was told guys were on the way. They arrived at 2.50pm, which is cutting it really close. Luckily the move distance is a 10 minute drive away only.

Guys were really fast, had everything stacked, wrapped and onto the truck by 4pm but was told I needed another half load. They drove over to the condo, unloaded all the stuff splitting their manpower in half while sending 2 more back with the truck for the second load. Everything moved and completed by 5.05pm.

In their favour was the fact that the move distance was very close, and that they used both lifts (and I moved to a low floor unit, else sure delayed.)

Gave the young chaps a nice tip for the good job done. They came to collect the box only after several unreplied WhatsApp messages to the sales guy, which I needed to call and ask for arrangement, but they came within a week to collect. Waiting for my refund of the $100 box deposit (prob need to chase them next week after the holidays).

I think overall not bad, but get morning slots where possible as the sales will prob tend to overpromise on the timing. After job done and paid for, responses slow down, which I also didn't quite like.

Update: Deposit received on Sunday night, day after the collection so thumbs up here

EJB

Move done and here's a quick review of Cube Movers.

Overall: 3.5/5
Communication: 2.5/5
Speed: 5/5
Punctuality: 3/5

Contact move timing was 1-1.30pm as I couldn't secure morning slot. Told them they needed to be on time as condo has a strict 5pm cutoff for moves.

On the day itself, I texted the sales guy and was told 1-2pm. Called him at 2.20pm and was told guys were on the way. They arrived at 2.50pm, which is cutting it really close. Luckily the move distance is a 10 minute drive away only.

Guys were really fast, had everything stacked, wrapped and onto the truck by 4pm but was told I needed another half load. They drove over to the condo, unloaded all the stuff splitting their manpower in half while sending 2 more back with the truck for the second load. Everything moved and completed by 5.05pm.

In their favour was the fact that the move distance was very close, and that they used both lifts (and I moved to a low floor unit, else sure delayed.)

Gave the young chaps a nice tip for the good job done. They came to collect the box only after several unreplied WhatsApp messages to the sales guy, which I needed to call and ask for arrangement, but they came within a week to collect. Waiting for my refund of the $100 box deposit (prob need to chase them next week after the holidays).

I think overall not bad, but get morning slots where possible as the sales will prob tend to overpromise on the timing. After job done and paid for, responses slow down, which I also didn't quite like.

Update: Deposit received on Sunday night, day after the collection so thumbs up here
Avoid. They damaged my item on 3rd Nov when moving my items. It was an item my late sister cherished (if you followed the thread about cancer and how my sister moved on earlier in Jan '22).

Until today I'm still waiting for repairs to be completed. I've pinged several times for updates initially, no replies or say will check but never checked. Few weeks later say they can't find the item, then ask if the item still with me. After I raised a ruckus and hoo-ha to the whole of the company, finally they found it. Early dec tell me will send to repair. Christmas tell me still haven't send and will follow up after the I/C is back from holidays.

Today is 31st Dec '22 and my sister's item is still not back.

I give up.

maumu

Avoid. They damaged my item on 3rd Nov when moving my items. It was an item my late sister cherished (if you followed the thread about cancer and how my sister moved on earlier in Jan '22).

Until today I'm still waiting for repairs to be completed. I've pinged several times for updates initially, no replies or say will check but never checked. Few weeks later say they can't find the item, then ask if the item still with me. After I raised a ruckus and hoo-ha to the whole of the company, finally they found it. Early dec tell me will send to repair. Christmas tell me still haven't send and will follow up after the I/C is back from holidays.

Today is 31st Dec '22 and my sister's item is still not back.

I give up.
oh dear. sorry to hear about your experience.

can I ask in general, for a single person unit (one-person home), roughly how much I need to prepare for such moving company's service?

when it comes to bulky items, I have only a small TV screen (32") that I need to bring along. clothes also not that many. maybe I think only need around 5 to 6 of those big brown boxes + 3 luggage carriers.

would they help to seal the TV screen before they move with bubble wraps or something?

EJB

oh dear. sorry to hear about your experience.

can I ask in general, for a single person unit (one-person home), roughly how much I need to prepare for such moving company's service?

when it comes to bulky items, I have only a small TV screen (32") that I need to bring along. clothes also not that many. maybe I think only need around 5 to 6 of those big brown boxes + 3 luggage carriers.

would they help to seal the TV screen before they move with bubble wraps or something?
They go by loads, which I have no idea how they calculate. I hired them for disposal and my disposal costs 3x more than moving costs. I only had 10 boxes of items to move. A few jigsaws (framed up). I moved 2 TVs myself, a 55" and 32", I really didn't want to trust the movers with it. Usually movers will wrap up the sensitive items, at least for CM they did, but their disaster recovery is bad. A jigsaw glass panel needs 2 months and non-stop chasing and regular chasing somemore. Imagine your TV panel is damged?

Yours won't cost more than a few hundreds for sure. Do source around.

Cube Movers gave me a call on new year's eve after I dropped a bad review on Google. Wow... if I didn't, not sure would I get any reply. They request I take it down first, then let them resolve the matter before I post my review. I've since taken it down and will update again.

They cited that year end, the glass maker is busy, need time. I said the issue happened in Nov, you took your own sweet time to get it fix end Dec (2 months later) and tell me such crappy excuses? :s13: Wonders never cease. They say I don't understand. I think their conception of understanding they caused their own issue is not there.

If yours is just as mentioned, pay a friend with a car $200, ask him to ferry you in his car with the items instead.

maumu

They go by loads, which I have no idea how they calculate. I hired them for disposal and my disposal costs 3x more than moving costs. I only had 10 boxes of items to move. A few jigsaws (framed up). I moved 2 TVs myself, a 55" and 32", I really didn't want to trust the movers with it. Usually movers will wrap up the sensitive items, at least for CM they did, but their disaster recovery is bad. A jigsaw glass panel needs 2 months and non-stop chasing and regular chasing somemore. Imagine your TV panel is damged?

Yours won't cost more than a few hundreds for sure. Do source around.

Cube Movers gave me a call on new year's eve after I dropped a bad review on Google. Wow... if I didn't, not sure would I get any reply. They request I take it down first, then let them resolve the matter before I post my review. I've since taken it down and will update again.

They cited that year end, the glass maker is busy, need time. I said the issue happened in Nov, you took your own sweet time to get it fix end Dec (2 months later) and tell me such crappy excuses? :s13: Wonders never cease. They say I don't understand. I think their conception of understanding they caused their own issue is not there.

If yours is just as mentioned, pay a friend with a car $200, ask him to ferry you in his car with the items instead.

that's why singapore service standards still cannot compare to the western countries. there's this poor mindset about such kind of jobs and they tend to attract certain kind of workers.

if I were you, I'll counter-propose to them that I'll only take down the post *after* they resolve the issue, and post an updated one.

unethical companies always find excuses to cover their shortcomings.

anyway, thanks for your suggestion - you're right... it's probably easier and stress-free to move myself by borrowing my friend's car (I can drive) and pay him back for the mileage and petrol.

EJB

that's why singapore service standards still cannot compare to the western countries. there's this poor mindset about such kind of jobs and they tend to attract certain kind of workers.

if I were you, I'll counter-propose to them that I'll only take down the post *after* they resolve the issue, and post an updated one.

unethical companies always find excuses to cover their shortcomings.

anyway, thanks for your suggestion - you're right... it's probably easier and stress-free to move myself by borrowing my friend's car (I can drive) and pay him back for the mileage and petrol.
It was a very simple job to just get the glass replaced, it wasn't rocket science, I even pinged the sales guy after 2 weeks thinking they'd already repaired it. Each ping he tell me will check. Every 3 days I ping him, he tell me checking. Then one day tell me he can't find the item. I shot through the roof, I went through every number on the site and blasted, including the Finance which messaged me for payment information. Finally they found it and will send to repair.

I gave them another 2 weeks, then the sales manager was overseas, fine, I let it be. Before Christmas I ping, they say will send after Christmas to fix. I ping on New Year eve, no reply, until I dropped the google review and once again reached out via the finance contact, that the sales manager called me. It was not a pleasant call and he let loose his tongue that I left a review on google.

Benefit of doubt I would take it down, but I will be as factual as possible when posting up the final review. It was a job badly done, badly recovered and for 2 months I waited for action but they were reactive more than passive. Honestly, give this mover a miss, you're better with others. All that 'packaging' on their works, sending me photos how they work, no doubt, that's how they work but their staff is far from professional. Especially the sales manager, damn chao ah beng in attitude, talk lose already try to shift blame, shift it to my fault and threaten me say finish fixing liao he will bring personally to my place. :s13: Really, he think he the only ah beng in town.

The workers are fine, I even gave them a bottle of hard liquor that I don't drink. Just their recovery, really is bad.

You can even hire a grab premium or lalamove and buy the material to protect the TVs and bring over, at least you can control the outcome. My 2cents.

maumu

I'm going to make 2023 a "marie kondo" year. most likely will be shifting at end of the year. things can throw, better start discarding...

then when it comes to moving, hopefully not much boxes or bulky items to worry.

EJB

I'm going to make 2023 a "marie kondo" year. most likely will be shifting at end of the year. things can throw, better start discarding...

then when it comes to moving, hopefully not much boxes or bulky items to worry.
Oh when I shifted house, I did the marie kondo thing, THROW. Everything THROW, dining table, sofa, tv shelf, cupboards, racks, plates, bowls, etc. Anything not used in the past year, THROW.

I bought 6 movable shelves and lined them up shoulder to shoulder in my storeroom, that way, everything is 'movable'. Can take out anytime easily and I maximise my storeroom space.

Now the new place is clutter free and clean. So happy to walk around without having to avoid this avoid that.

keithster

Hi. Need to move out by mid-December to a rental place for a year, and was wondering what are the most efficient steps I need to start with.

1. Need boxes from mover company, how far in advance should I engage them and ask them to send over boxes so I can start packing?

2. Any recommendations for a good but reasonably priced moving company?

3. How far in advance do I need to cancel/port over my PUB/StarHub accounts from current to new place?

Other things that I need to do:
1. Change mailing addresses at police post, for banks, etc. etc.
2. Ensure I check moving days/timing at the new condo and schedule with movers
3. Anything else?

1) As early as possible lor… so long as u dun mind boxes lying around. not possible to pack everything overnight right?

2) Tons of Carousell listings. Sort by best reviews.

3) I usually move into new place first while retaining a few weeks at old place. Then I start scheduling at new place. No need too early.

4) Submit form to temp stay condo for moving. Need to put a deposit.

5) Ensure ur temp stay can accommodate all ur things else u need to find a temp storage too.

EJB

cannot ownself rent a van or lorry to move ?
:s11:
Already paid so much for the new home and reno, 1-2k more for moving isn't exp la.

I saved a lot on moving because we have two SUVs at home and I borrowed a 100KG support trolley from friends (for 3 months). Morning I would load boxes and bags into my car, lowering the rear seats, so can stack a lot. After gym, I would go over unload. Bring the trolley home, then stack up the trolley with boxes/luggage then roll it over to my new place and work. I unpack when I'm free, my sister would be on call and use BT headset, walk all over unpack & do her meetings.

My other sis will do another batch in the evening when she gets back from work.

Basically 2 weeks we moved the fragile stuff - plates/bowls and our own clothes. Sometimes lunchtime my sis will pull the trolley home then bring another stack of boxes over after lunch. Sometimes I do it after work also. I spent a lot of 'marie kondo-ing' as I tried to dismantle and throw, but it was too exhausting. My family say just pay for professionals to throw. Spent 1K+ to throw. Only spent $300 or so to move the bulky items over lol...

jim889

Already paid so much for the new home and reno, 1-2k more for moving isn't exp la.

I saved a lot on moving because we have two SUVs at home and I borrowed a 100KG support trolley from friends (for 3 months). Morning I would load boxes and bags into my car, lowering the rear seats, so can stack a lot. After gym, I would go over unload. Bring the trolley home, then stack up the trolley with boxes/luggage then roll it over to my new place and work. I unpack when I'm free, my sister would be on call and use BT headset, walk all over unpack & do her meetings.

My other sis will do another batch in the evening when she gets back from work.

Basically 2 weeks we moved the fragile stuff - plates/bowls and our own clothes. Sometimes lunchtime my sis will pull the trolley home then bring another stack of boxes over after lunch. Sometimes I do it after work also. I spent a lot of 'marie kondo-ing' as I tried to dismantle and throw, but it was too exhausting. My family say just pay for professionals to throw. Spent 1K+ to throw. Only spent $300 or so to move the bulky items over lol...

ya small thing easyla..

only problem is big thing..

matteress, sofa, fridge and washing machine.. is the problem.. 300 to move these is jin cheap
(y)

EJB

ya small thing easyla..

only problem is big thing..

matteress, sofa, fridge and washing machine.. is the problem.. 300 to move these is jin cheap
(y)
I marie-kondo, I threw all, and replaced 3 beds, only shifted 2 bedframes and 2 mattresses over as they were new.

Sofa is >40 yrs old, so I donated them, people came to take it. Washing machine and Fridge also donated away - usable just not new. Thought it's time to replace them so my mom has new 'toys'. Threw all my bamboo poles also, installed Steigen for her, now she super happy.

Whatever usable, I tried to give, but jokers on carousell want to chope don't want to give contact, or tell me cannot find movers, then ok lor, no choice, time up, I threw.

sourav4479

Very bad service and if everything added cost is very high . I am struggling till now and maybe next 3 hrs disposing and shifting materials left by them after paying 458 sgd. they initially quoted for one lorry 300 sgd. then if pushing distance is more than 40 m , 80 sgd each condo so total came 458 sgd. then they brought some fixed no of trolleys and said if trolleys are full they will not come back again even if the lorry is not full . If they come back again from loading bay and up it will be additional charge. So last 4 hrs and and may 2 hrs more i am shifting by my own car smaller items as they did not bring back trolley . So if you add up to full fledged service with somebody coming in advance and do everything cost will be much higher . I would rather pay 700- 800 sgd for inclusive package for standard movers where they pre vet and quote- agree go - no agree no go.Worst service till now for my 7th shifting in singapore
Worse than lalamove. Lalamove somebody atleast comes and checks in advance. Only sometimes they don't have control over 3rd party vendors who actually do the job. Also be clear of terms Nd conditions. Very few condo had loading bay within 40 m. So basically for one medium size full truck is 458 sgd. so actually you can end up paying close to 1000 sgd all inclusive . And worst part evwrything goes on whatsapp and nobody comes and checks. On times needed person incharge cannot be founs and ongiving bad reviews he calls 5 times in different modes - sometimes threatening- sometimes mediating and distirbing peace of mind

sourav4479

Very bad service and if everything added cost is very high . I am struggling till now and maybe next 3 hrs disposing and shifting materials left by them after paying 458 sgd. they initially quoted for one lorry 300 sgd. then if pushing distance is more than 40 m , 80 sgd each condo so total came 458 sgd. then they brought some fixed no of trolleys and said if trolleys are full they will not come back again even if the lorry is not full . If they come back again from loading bay and up it will be additional charge. So last 4 hrs and and may 2 hrs more i am shifting by my own car smaller items as they did not bring back trolley . So if you add up to full fledged service with somebody coming in advance and do everything cost will be much higher . I would rather pay 700- 800 sgd for inclusive package for standard movers where they pre vet and quote- agree go - no agree no go.Worst service till now for my 7th shifting in singapore
Worse than lalamove. Lalamove somebody atleast comes and checks in advance. Only sometimes they don't have control over 3rd party vendors who actually do the job. Also be clear of terms Nd conditions. Very few condo had loading bay within 40 m. So basically for one medium size full truck is 458 sgd. so actually you can end up paying close to 1000 sgd all inclusive . And worst part evwrything goes on whatsapp and nobody comes and checks. On times needed person incharge cannot be founs and ongiving bad reviews he calls 5 times in different modes - sometimes threatening- sometimes mediating and distirbing peace of mind

tbl12345

I used them for storage and moving last year. After a 6 months storage, items were delivered to my place but I soon started noticing missing items.

They offered to replace a missing TV. But when I realised my gym and treadmill was missing, they refused to admit liability. While pictures show them loading the items, he said there's no itemized list prepared by me and signed by them.

Avoid. Dunnoe how they get so many stars on Google review

hwmook

Which mover are you guys complaining about? The mover I used is very professional but a bit expensive IMO.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.