Moving files between 2 NAS seems slow

jesgirl

I am transferring old NAS drive to new one.

Gigabit switch (3 devices only)
|-Laptop GB port
|-Old NAS GB port
|-New NAS GB port

all cat-5e and the speed is ~4MB?! using windows 7 cut&paste command from old to new. FTP seems to give similar rate.

This speed is really slow? Think maybe connect the 2 HDD to me desktop do transfer liao >_<

yattan

model of the NASs?

does the NASs support Jumbo frames

Logging into the User CP of the NASs, does the network setting recognize the connection as gigabit>

_dXter

Most likely 'cos transfer between NAS,-> laptop -> NAS.
Does your NAS have an OS? Can you do the transfer by logging into the NAS?

jesgirl

DLink DNS-320L and the other is one local **** brand "Universal Tech" MX3600. Unstable, company probably sunken into pacific ocean. Send email, kena bounce. Support form submit error. Previously that MX3600 keep self rebooting went to their office @Changi South told me they dunno why put a fan inside for me say problem solved. I went back 3x same problem until they replace the entire unit. Been using that for 2 years recently the webGUI cannot connect although I can still browse the file...what the fish. Probably some config inside corrupted http daemon cannot start or something.

I recently open up that mess, basket. one of the screw to tighten the HDD is wrong size brute force screw in while the other is correct screw size.

Previously went their office 1 floor full of **** doing software. Ask for Universal Tech support no one know and after shouting around then 1 **** responded....

http://www.universal-tech.biz/

Sibeh jialuck...

yattan

What is the file format for the MX3600? It might be easier to get an external housing and transfer using the USB port on the Dlink although it's still slower than gigabit but should still beat 4MB/s

VinceGan

What is the file format for the MX3600? It might be easier to get an external housing and transfer using the USB port on the Dlink although it's still slower than gigabit but should still beat 4MB/s

XFS if the info that website provided is correct. Dlink uses ext3 if I remember correctly. Depending on how much data you are transferring, it may be easier if you transfer slowly via gigabit. Fastest but more troublesome way will be to connect to a PC's SATA ports directly and copy the files using Linux live CD. I tried transferring 2TB from via my DNS 323 to my DNS 320 before... took about 3+ days

jesgirl

File system is XFS. Yea probably is NAS -> PC -> NAS but I still tot 4MB is slow even for that benchmark. The DNS-320L has FTP client but I can get it to work strange. Will update you guys, kind of fun :)

VinceGan

File system is XFS. Yea probably is NAS -> PC -> NAS but I still tot 4MB is slow even for that benchmark. The DNS-320L has FTP client but I can get it to work strange. Will update you guys, kind of fun :)

Hahahha. I'm currently transferring my 2TB worth of backup data to a new 3TB array. It is anything but fun... but at least I'm transferring at around 110MB/s via USB 3.0 :p

yattan

aikes.. xfs... data migration is never fun... especially large files run risk of corruption...

jesgirl

I tried the in build ftp client from the DNS-320L and the speed is like 5000kb/s?! That is even worst haha.

Makan first, talk later.

jesgirl

back from lunch. give up, plugged them into my desktop, run ubuntu live mount the 2 hdd and transfer there.

Now transferring about ~80MB, 1hr job well done vs via LAN 4MB...

jesgirl

4MB is a joke...
What's the root cause?

No idea...but I think DNS-320L seems to be quite slow. Doesn't affect me since I only stream video but now I do copying is quite slow. Definitely slower than mu old UT NAS.

Then another strange thing is, now I plugged back into my LAN I transfer thru 200mbps homeplug it's >6MB @@ I want to optimize the gigabyte that day thats why I plug the 2 NAS and 1 laptop to the gigabit switch and it only do 4MB.... IT..sometime it's hard to explain. Another X-file cases.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.