Mr Loo kanna whack for saying HDB will go to zero

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

C_boliao

U really think pap will chase you out of the HDB after 99 years?

sacredrays

When the lease of the flat expires, the person living in there already long gone. 20+, 30+ buy, how to outlive 99 years. Even kids born also can agar live there at least up to 89years (10years later then first born) there ba.

But truthspeaking, the value is surely drop zero. Lease up liao, how still have value. Those saying govt intervention with SERS is wishful thinking n hopeful only, no guarantees and highly likely the govt rather BTO than SERS to save money.
they wont sers those with 0 years left.

buttertrade69

i wonder those bashing him are those property agent scared cannot sell more million dollar hdb therefor their commission is cut, or those people who are waiting to sell at million or already bought at million scare their HDB price cannot growth therefore cannot sell and stuck down there.

TimsTom

they wont sers those with 0 years left.
Ya i know. I mean those saying govt will SERS their flats when it still has lease, are only being hopeful, i dont think govt will do that very extensively

iceblendedchoc

So many KPKB dun wanna click, so here's the Video Overview

Conflicting Viewpoints on Leasehold Property Value

One group of viewers felt Mr Loo's points were obvious: 99-year leasehold properties will eventually return to zero value upon lease expiry. They criticized the video as stating the obvious and questioned Mr Loo's intelligence. Conversely, a significant number of viewers disagreed, believing that property prices will continue to rise and that the government will intervene through SERS (Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme) or lease extensions.

Government's Stance and Public Misinterpretations

Mr Loo cites Prime Minister Lawrence Wong's statement that all 99-year leasehold properties, including HDB flats, must be returned to the state upon lease expiry. He emphasizes that while the land retains value for the government, the property's value will go to zero for the owner. Despite this clarification, many viewers misunderstood or dismissed this statement, clinging to beliefs in continued price appreciation, government intervention, and lease extensions. Some even labeled the Prime Minister's statement as fake news.

Arguments for and Against Value Depreciation

Those who believed in continued price appreciation cited factors like scarcity of land, increasing labor and material costs, and inflation. They argued that property, unlike stocks, has utility value and will always be needed. Conversely, Mr Loo countered that the 99-year lease presents a significant risk that many people ignore, leading to potentially poor investment decisions. He provided examples from independent articles supporting the claim that property value significantly depreciates as the lease nears expiry.

Mr Loo's Conclusion and Upcoming Series

Mr Loo acknowledges the emotional nature of the topic and the difficulty of changing deeply held beliefs. He advocates for diversification of investments to mitigate risk and stresses the importance of financial awareness. Mr Loo announces an upcoming three-part series with Mr. Dragon Tan, focusing on the 99-year lease issue and offering a more balanced and practical perspective. This series will eventually culminate in revealing a method for making a million dollars, a formula already utilized by over a hundred Singaporeans.

Hdb should actually barred flipping for profits. Make people only able to buy or sell the second property because of addition of children in the family etc.

shawnsterz

The only alternative to depreciation is to rent.

No idea why so many ppl who are so hung up abt leasehold refuse to consider renting...
No diff. If one buys a LH property for 1mil, divide by the years stayed also similar to renting. Also added benefit of being able to sell or rent out.

C_boliao

Hdb has alrdy reclaimed back some leasehold properties. Seems like they give u years of advance notice.

https://mothership.sg/2020/11/hdb-lease-or-own/
These are pte properties. I can understand.

But there are like thousands of people n families affected each time the 99 years is up.

I am pretty sure relocation or extension of the HDB lease will be done. Otherwise they can kiss their Gov seats good bye

maxmike

99 years hdb value = 0 is not new to me but SERS, government will only give you a new flat with 50 years lease and not 99 years lease like last time is new to me, you need to top up money to get 99 years lease. Ang mo kio got many 3 room bto left because of the ang mo kio SERS exercise, many people give up the new bto flat.

esandwich

U really think pap will chase you out of the HDB after 99 years?
i thk the tricky situation is can these hdb structures last 99y.

if maintenance and structure all good and it can tahan then it will run to $0 and what the govt can do is offer you a priority bto / balance of units queue so these pple will never be homeless. this is a no goodwill situation but fair and square. so i think he's not wrong.

But if say the ppty at 75yo and hdb need to take back or if there is greater good of the land parcel, then SERS will happen but by then value will be much lower. in the end still need top up.

xdivider

But there are like thousands of people n families affected each time the 99 years is up.

I am pretty sure relocation or extension of the HDB lease will be done. Otherwise they can kiss their Gov seats good bye
Offer u low cost monthly rentals. Any thing tat affect reserves they wun do de....

otakuflick

When the lease of the flat expires, the person living in there already long gone. 20+, 30+ buy, how to outlive 99 years. Even kids born also can agar live there at least up to 89years (10years later then first born) there ba.

But truthspeaking, the value is surely drop zero. Lease up liao, how still have value. Those saying govt intervention with SERS is wishful thinking n hopeful only, no guarantees and highly likely the govt rather BTO than SERS to save money.

nah, no political system can charge land tax again and again in perpetual on its people. People owned the land.

we're no exceptional

0nePunchm@n

there'll be very early reminder.. not like last minute then hdb telling u the lease is over.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.