Mr Tan ask why the Government is not helping him. He's been paying taxes all his life

Hindsight101

The point is that he has the means to downgrade and cash out...

Unlike ppl living in 1 room 2 room flats where you want them to go??

Can't have the best of both worlds :s22:

Those who own a 5 rm HDB also has the means to downgrade and cash out.

kaputzzz

Next time u pay tax, pls remember to pay tax to urself too.. aka save a portion of ur own money

U think govt ur laopeh ah? Why must govt help u when u still got assets? Even if no assets govt is not obliged to help u. Singapore is u die ur business.

HappyCanOrNot

Can I don't pay tax and do NS??

Next time u pay tax, pls remember to pay tax to urself too.. aka save a portion of ur own money

U think govt ur laopeh ah? Why must govt help u when u still got assets? Even if no assets govt is not obliged to help u. Singapore is u die ur business.

rider83

Not really sure if those of you who suggest Mr Tan sell his terrace got read properly or not, but here is the extract of the article.

"But the 50-year-old, who lives in a terrace house, remains unemployed and works as a Grab driver to make ends meet.

He does not qualify for the Self-Employed Person Income Relief Scheme (Sirs) because of the type of home he lives in, said Mr Yip Hong Weng (Yio Chu Kang), who recounted Mr Tan's case in Parliament yesterday."

I highlighted very clearly the key word used. The article did not state Mr Tan owns the terrace or his parents own the terrace or even any of his relatives own the terrace. Mr Tan merely lives in the terrace. You guys who ask Mr Tan to sell the terrace talks as if you know Mr Tan or his parents own the terrace. I wonder, is Mr Tan another Ashley Wu?

Mr Tan was "penalised" from SIRS handouts because he lives in a terrace that may not be his in the first place.

Take a look at GST voucher. At its website says "The permanent GST Voucher scheme was introduced by the Government in Budget 2012 to help lower-income Singaporeans. The GST Voucher is given in three components – Cash, MediSave and U-Save." But if you live in a condo with your parents but jobless or having lower income, will you receive GST vouchers? Fair?

Next point on Mr Tan earns a five figures income... Point taken on this and it is valid. Agreed that he should have some savings to tide him over. But at the same time, I am not sure of his financial obligations. Think about it, if a millionaire falls from grace and lost all his money (for whatever reasons), should the govt help this ex-millionaire?

Back to Mr Tan, one thing we can be sure is that Mr Tan definitely paid more taxes because his income was high. In a way, Mr Tan contributed more to nation building. Now Mr Tan has fallen from grace, shouldn't Mr Tan receive at least "some" help from the scheme?

darknite84

Not really sure if those of you who suggest Mr Tan sell his terrace got read properly or not, but here is the extract of the article.

"But the 50-year-old, who lives in a terrace house, remains unemployed and works as a Grab driver to make ends meet.

He does not qualify for the Self-Employed Person Income Relief Scheme (Sirs) because of the type of home he lives in, said Mr Yip Hong Weng (Yio Chu Kang), who recounted Mr Tan's case in Parliament yesterday."

I highlighted very clearly the key word used. The article did not state Mr Tan owns the terrace or his parents own the terrace or even any of his relatives own the terrace. Mr Tan merely lives in the terrace. You guys who ask Mr Tan to sell the terrace talks as if you know Mr Tan or his parents own the terrace. I wonder, is Mr Tan another Ashley Wu?

Mr Tan was "penalised" from SIRS handouts because he lives in a terrace that may not be his in the first place.

Take a look at GST voucher. At its website says "The permanent GST Voucher scheme was introduced by the Government in Budget 2012 to help lower-income Singaporeans. The GST Voucher is given in three components – Cash, MediSave and U-Save." But if you live in a condo with your parents but jobless or having lower income, will you receive GST vouchers? Fair?

Next point on Mr Tan earns a five figures income... Point taken on this and it is valid. Agreed that he should have some savings to tide him over. But at the same time, I am not sure of his financial obligations. Think about it, if a millionaire falls from grace and lost all his money (for whatever reasons), should the govt help this ex-millionaire?

Back to Mr Tan, one thing we can be sure is that Mr Tan definitely paid more taxes because his income was high. In a way, Mr Tan contributed more to nation building. Now Mr Tan has fallen from grace, shouldn't Mr Tan receive at least "some" help from the scheme?

So if he don't own the house, should be rental? Or Parent's? Means family rich, or he is cash rich to pay the rental. Gov has limited amount of money, and also limited capacity to check individual case. To me, if he wants to qualify, not just this time, but for all other subsidises, then eat humble pie and go stay in hdb

Do you think it is unfair to him?

Why others can get support and still no need to sell their terrace or GCB?

Quoted here lor. You ignored my earlier qn. Where to find GCB with Annual Value that can still be eligible for SIRS payout one? Means it costs as much as 2 or 3 room BTO?

Cheap cheap leh. I want to sell my 5 room hdb and buy 2 GCB. Maybe I sell my phv mazda 3 can buy a third GCB also. Tiagong news say rent out GCB can get up to 150k/month, can earn more than driving my phv. :o

Think about it, if a millionaire falls from grace and lost all his money (for whatever reasons), should the govt help this ex-millionaire?

How come govt should help ex-millionaire if he loses money due to poor personal financial choices? :s11:

Din know Singapore also got caste system one. Once a millionaire means govt must forever help him remain a millionaire. Mr Tan actually looks like this sibo? :vijayadmin:

satayxp

So a jobless family who lives in a GCB (worth $15M) deserves more help?

I know the family used to pay more taxes than 99% of the population in the past.

gcb? plse rah u think such an owner will even go to MP to ask for help? so dun use exaggerated example

the point is staying in landed ppty (so many kinds) does not mean one shld auto disqualified frm help

Gonjeng

I seriously dont get what this Tan want the government do for him?

Find him a job?
Give him money?

Claim to be unemployed but is a PHV driver.
Lives in landed property and used to earn 5 figures.

There is nothing the government can do for him other that what is already given to the rest of the population.

All I see is this guy red eye because cannot get $9000 from SEP. But his situation is not as bad to those hawkers who shop was force to shutdown during the 1st phase and cannot claim SEP too.

RedEyesFan

I seriously dont get what this Tan want the government do for him?

Find him a job?
Give him money?

Claim to be unemployed but is a PHV driver.
Lives in landed property and used to earn 5 figures.

There is nothing the government can do for him other that what is already given to the rest of the population.

All I see is this guy red eye because cannot get $9000 from SEP. But his situation is not as bad to those hawkers who shop was force to shutdown during the 1st phase and cannot claim SEP too.

Gahmen should just issue him some NTUC vouchers. He can then either take it or leave it.

Hindsight101

Quoted here lor. You ignored my earlier qn. Where to find GCB with Annual Value that can still be eligible for SIRS payout one? Means it costs as much as 2 or 3 room BTO?

Cheap cheap leh. I want to sell my 5 room hdb and buy 2 GCB. Maybe I sell my phv mazda 3 can buy a third GCB also. Tiagong news say rent out GCB can get up to 150k/month, can earn more than driving my phv. :o

I raised a similar question on this earlier.

What is the percentage of the 100B used for SIRS?

What percentage used for other support?

If you think that the support from 100B is only for low income and SIRS then you didn't get my point.

Gonjeng

Gahmen should just issue him some NTUC vouchers. He can then either take it or leave it.

True enough.

For someone who used to earn 5 figures salary complaining about $9000 is just an entitle a-hole.
Even this 9k is small sum to him. He just want free money.

tanjiakpeng

As usual

Rich complain not enough money and not willing to do lowly jobs beyond their ego

In other news, the poor looking for creative ways to get rich and way more motivated

I raised a similar question on this earlier.

What is the percentage of the 100B used for SIRS?

What percentage used for other support?

If you think that the support from 100B is only for low income and SIRS then you didn't get my point.

I don't think anyone gets your point other than yourself. :s13:

Ok la, let you win this internet debate. Agree that Mr Tan jin poor thing, we should crowdfund him if our gahmen insist on being so heartless to him. :D

Edit: can share with me where to buy cheap cheap GCB already?

Mecisteus

gcb? plse rah u think such an owner will even go to MP to ask for help? so dun use exaggerated example

the point is staying in landed ppty (so many kinds) does not mean one shld auto disqualified frm help

Why not? SG can got so many gian peng people.

See cheapskate LML and maid incident.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.