Multiple Fraudulent overseas transactions for Credit Card

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Icestillwater

Kanna a number of fraudulent transactions during the wee hours. All from different overseas companies.

Bank tried calling me, but was sleeping. Thought it was a scam call as who calls at 4am?

Called bank while transactions are still pending, but bank say no way to block the transactions. The transactions will still go through eventually.

Bank blocked the credit card, so will not have any more fraudulent transactions.

Questioned the bank on these transactions, no way to avoid tis as long as one shop online and keyed in your credit card details.

Quite sianz as though bank wil launch investigation and dispute the fraudulent transactions, I am still liable for the transactions as long as the investigation is ongoing.

Tedicious

Normal la. Be glad that it's a credit card. If debit card , GG. Money gone

Mclairs83

Kanna a number of fraudulent transactions during the wee hours. All from different overseas companies.

Bank tried calling me, but was sleeping. Thought it was a scam call as who calls at 4am?

Called bank while transactions are still pending, but bank say no way to block the transactions. The transactions will still go through eventually.

Bank blocked the credit card, so will not have any more fraudulent transactions.

Questioned the bank on these transactions, no way to avoid tis as long as one shop online and keyed in your credit card details.

Quite sianz as though bank wil launch investigation and dispute the fraudulent transactions, I am still liable for the transactions as long as the investigation is ongoing.

bank of course will tell u that transactions confirm go through but they will either chargeback or write off on their end, since there is no malicious intent on your end.

i also kena many times liao.. Amex i kena twice within 2 months..(they sent me 2 replacement cards), Citibank also kena.

XiaoJinLing

I just check my Maybank card... now then I realize got 2 transactions from usd on 18mar n 20mar... no notifications whatsoever... called MB they say need check n 45 days to revert the amount?? Really siao

Icestillwater

bank of course will tell u that transactions confirm go through but they will either chargeback or write off on their end, since there is no malicious intent on your end.

i also kena many times liao.. Amex i kena twice within 2 months..(they sent me 2 replacement cards), Citibank also kena.
I kanna too when I went overseas and used the credit card.. When back in Sg, many fraudulent overseas transactions.

Nowadays I use only credit cards I am prepared to write off while overseas.

dgeralds

Caution:
When you receive statement, just don't pay the bank on fraudulent items. They will ask you to pay first but please don't. Ask them to investigate but you don't pay the fraudulent portion.

drkcynic

If you did not compromise your card (eg lose card) or key in OTP, it is still the bank's problem.

If you key in OTP or lose card, then it's your problem and you need to make a police report.

Icestillwater

I just check my Maybank card... now then I realize got 2 transactions from usd on 18mar n 20mar... no notifications whatsoever... called MB they say need check n 45 days to revert the amount?? Really siao
Yah man, bank told me investigations can take up to 45-60 days… Even if the fraudulent transactions are a few thousand, have to pay first as long as investigations not over

Icestillwater

Caution:
When you receive statement, just don't pay the bank on fraudulent items. They will ask you to pay first but please don't. Ask them to investigate but you don't pay the fraudulent portion.

Ic, likely would do so as really no fault of mine.

cet87

i got the same from OCBC CC. received a sms saiding $3k was charged to my CC.
immediately called the bank and they blocked the card but never revert the transaction.
told the fellow that i called within 1 min le, and how come cannot stop the transaction.
he asked me to dispute the amount after i received the statement.

Icestillwater

i got the same from OCBC CC. received a sms saiding $3k was charged to my CC.
immediately called the bank and they blocked the card but never revert the transaction.
told the fellow that i called within 1 min le, and how come cannot stop the transaction.
he asked me to dispute the amount after i received the statement.
Wah… scam big time man

cet87

Wah… scam big time man
ya. they also asked me to pay first and after their investigation, they will credit back.

so i dont wait, i went to nearest police station, made a statement stating the name of the fellow who ask me to pay for this amount and which bank... then email the statement to ocbc bank.

within the same day, their bank officer called me again and said they will credit back this amount, so i no need to pay. after i cleared the bills, i cancelled all my ocbc card.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.