My Homecooked Dishes - To exchange recipes, tips etc

desiresale

My favorite durian is in season! Bought Raja Kunyit (坤玉) and Golden Phoenix (金风).

MEITU-20250716-215806400.jpg

MEITU-20250714-224615372.jpg

The 2 boxes of Raja Kunyit were very good. Super intense bitterness. A bit of sweetness. And a tingling numbing sensation at the tip of the tongue subsequently.

MEITU-20250716-220717659.jpg

MEITU-20250716-221041957.jpg

jumpthepig

My favorite durian is in season! Bought Raja Kunyit (坤玉) and Golden Phoenix (金风).

MEITU-20250716-215806400.jpg

MEITU-20250714-224615372.jpg

The 2 boxes of Raja Kunyit were very good. Super intense bitterness. A bit of sweetness. And a tingling numbing sensation at the tip of the tongue subsequently.

MEITU-20250716-220717659.jpg

MEITU-20250716-221041957.jpg
how much is Raja Kunyit?

iam7377

I got bee hoon but want to cook Singapore bee hoon, what type of curry powder should I use? The bee hoon can be used to cook 2 meals. Is one packet too much?

desiresale

I got bee hoon but want to cook Singapore bee hoon, what type of curry powder should I use? The bee hoon can be used to cook 2 meals. Is one packet too much?
I dun use curry powder tat often. So no experience with a lot of brands. So far, I buy the Baba's brand.

When you ask is 1 packet too much, are you referring to the beehoon? Or are you referring to the curry powder?

iam7377

I dun use curry powder tat often. So no experience with a lot of brands. So far, I buy the Baba's brand.

When you ask is 1 packet too much, are you referring to the beehoon? Or are you referring to the curry powder?
The curry powder. I scared not enough, but also scared too much.

desiresale

The curry powder. I scared not enough, but also scared too much.
1 packet of curry powder can use very long.

Depending on the amt of beehoon you cooking and how strong a curry flavor you want. Typically we add 1sp to 1 tbsp of curry powder nia

Notbbfa

asian-steamed-cakes-10890724.jpg
Anyone knows where I can get these steam cake from? Pasar malam very expensive lei

Thanks.

desiresale

asian-steamed-cakes-10890724.jpg
Anyone knows where I can get these steam cake from? Pasar malam very expensive lei

Thanks.
I ever saw at those neighbourhood Swee Heng. Can find the mini ones from Bengawan Solo. The Daun Pandan Rice Dumpling @ AMK Hub B2 oso got sell. But all these places, I not sure if they sell cheaper than pasar malam

desiresale

For me, half boiled egg + kaya butter toast + Kopi-O Gao is the best breakfast.

Making Yakun/ kopitiam styled half-boiled eggs (半生熟蛋) can be easy and quick.

To achieve the perfect half-boiled eggs, the things to take note will be size of eggs, number of eggs to cook and temperature of the eggs. All these elements will determine the time taken to cook the eggs in boiling hot water.

Today instead of room temp eggs, I used eggs from the fridge. Somehow, 8mins also yearned the perfect eggs. Perhaps because i had taken the eggs out from the fridge while the water is boiling. The hot weather may have made the eggs less cold while waiting for the water to boil.

This is how I get perfectly done half boiled eggs every time 😀

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.