My OPC conversion experience...

d3n

Finally OPC-ed!

here's a quick summary (useful for those who might be interested).

1. Order your red car plate (i got mine made in clementi for $60). You can also do it with Chuan Heng (Sin Ming Drive).
2. Top up and convert your car insurance into OPC for full year.
3. Visit LTA to apply for OPC conversion. Pay $100 admin fee + OPC road tax (my case, $168 per year). Get approval letter from LTA.
4. Visit authorised OPC car plate installer to fix the red car plate with bracket. I got mine done via Chuan Heng... they dun really do but outsource to a workshop nearby them. Cost me $70.
5. This is the last step, visit Vicom (Sin Ming Drive) then pay $16.05 for OPC sealing at the cashier then proceed to the Motor Rm to get your OPC sealing done. You will receive a certificate once your OPC sealing done.

Total damage for me = $60 + $100 + $168 + $70 + $16.05 = $414.05.

For my case, i will receive full rebate of $1100 every 6 months till my car gets deregistered on Aug 2015.

That's all! :D

CCCustom

Total damage for me = $60 + $100 + $168 + $70 + $16.05 = $414.05
I don't remember the name of the workshop ... is it the one at the row of shophouses along the same side of the road as LTA? They've got licence plates hanging near the entrance of the shop.

If so, you should have gone to them straight to do everything including the licence plate. Pretty sure it was less than $150 but I can't remember how much exactly ($120? Thereabouts, I guess), all-in package inclusive of bringing the car for the inspection. Even if it was almost the same price, you save a lot of effort.

d3n

I don't remember the name of the workshop ... is it the one at the row of shophouses along the same side of the road as LTA? They've got licence plates hanging near the entrance of the shop.

If so, you should have gone to them straight to do everything including the licence plate. Pretty sure it was less than $150 but I can't remember how much exactly ($120? Thereabouts, I guess), all-in package inclusive of bringing the car for the inspection. Even if it was almost the same price, you save a lot of effort.

yup dats the one.

ermm i make first cos its CNY period... so i dunno whether they can make it on time or not.... since i had to convert to OPC yesterday before my road tax ends next sat. :D

CCCustom

since i had to convert to OPC yesterday before my road tax ends next sat. :D
If your road tax expiry is just 1 week away, it would have been a good idea to hold off your conversion for that 1 week so that it coincides.

Seriously, you'll have less headaches that way.

d3n

If your road tax expiry is just 1 week away, it would have been a good idea to hold off your conversion for that 1 week so that it coincides.

Seriously, you'll have less headaches that way.

haha... i scare that day something crop up and got no time to do the conversion. so do one week earlier. :)

d3n

i did mine 1 day before it expires.. :s13: :s13:

haha i just scare something crop up... so change earlier hehe.

btw... if later touch wood... i change my mind want to change back to normal plate say 1 year later... do i need to pay back the rebates i taken during that 1 year? no right? pay back is only for those registered as OPC since day 1 hor?

for me if i switch back means i pay the admin fee and those other misc fees right?

bendi85

btw... if later touch wood... i change my mind want to change back to normal plate say 1 year later... do i need to pay back the rebates i taken during that 1 year? no right? pay back is only for those registered as OPC since day 1 hor?

for me if i switch back means i pay the admin fee and those other misc fees right?

Wow so fast cannot stand OPC off peak regulation liao ah? Want to change back to normal plate? Haha

ZhuTou!

No need pay back
Ya only admin fee etc only

d3n

Wow so fast cannot stand OPC off peak regulation liao ah? Want to change back to normal plate? Haha

no lah in case next year i change job and may requires driving.

OPC still suits me now. :D

Milner_24

quick question.

if do conversion, what will happen to my

1 - road tax, already paid 372 for jan 13 to jul 13
2 - insurance, already paid $1,300 for this yr converge

will they refund me?

thank you!

d3n

quick question.

if do conversion, what will happen to my

1 - road tax, already paid 372 for jan 13 to jul 13
2 - insurance, already paid $1,300 for this yr converge

will they refund me?

thank you!

both will be refunded to you.

1. LTA will refund the balance to you after deducting the cost of road tax for OPC for your car size (mine is $160+ or $180+ pa can't rem).

2. You need to contact your insurance company and let them know you are converting to OPC... then you need to top up (if applicable) and pay (from the date of conversion ) 1 year upfront of insurance... your insurance company will calculate any refunds after opc discount and refund to you.

In my case... i already paid 1 year upfront and my insurance last me to Oct... so then refunded me part of it since my rate is based on OPC now and I need to top up and extend my insurance to next year Feb.

Milner_24

both will be refunded to you.

1. LTA will refund the balance to you after deducting the cost of road tax for OPC for your car size (mine is $160+ or $180+ pa can't rem).

2. You need to contact your insurance company and let them know you are converting to OPC... then you need to top up (if applicable) and pay (from the date of conversion ) 1 year upfront of insurance... your insurance company will calculate any refunds after opc discount and refund to you.

In my case... i already paid 1 year upfront and my insurance last me to Oct... so then refunded me part of it since my rate is based on OPC now and I need to top up and extend my insurance to next year Feb.

noted!

thanks!

still deciding whether to convert or not.

Milner_24

sorry one more question.

will convert to opc affect the monies you get back when de-registration?

Milner_24

sry another question,

can i convert to opc now, then few months/yrs later convert back to normal plate?

d3n

sry another question,

can i convert to opc now, then few months/yrs later convert back to normal plate?

missed your question...

i think you just need to top up the insurance and road tax. u dun need to pay back LTA anything unless your car is OPC right from start during registration... then u need to pay back some part of the rebate you received.

Expert

missed your question...

i think you just need to top up the insurance and road tax. u dun need to pay back LTA anything unless your car is OPC right from start during registration... then u need to pay back some part of the rebate you received.

rmb, when u convert from normal plate to opc, there is a minimum 6mths 'contract' you have to fulfil to get your rebate. they will not prorate for the first 6mths. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.