My theory of why many local F&B and cinema start to close down one by one recent years~

Raitei-Q

Malaysja is not cheap, what made it feel like is cheaper than singapore is due to the currency exchange rate😌

If it is 1 to 1 rate, would you still feel is cheap?😌

I would say with all the current new online streams sites, many rather stay indoors😌

I don't frequent cinema, unless there are title i am interested in and don't mind pay for gold class is there is😌

F&B side of things depends on if they are riding on a hot tend or they are food that is general + offordable regradless of financial level😌

Godeau

Ts i would gave believed you if you said 15mins.. but 5mins duration i can't even walk from my house to the bus stop

For people who drove, no impact, but for people who take the CW bus have big impact

Last time go JB need to queue 4-5 hours, no egate, people will question the ROI of queuing vs spending in SGD

after recent year egate start to be available

the barrier to enter JB is low, with egate, I can enter JB within 5 minutes. There are no more incentive to watch movie in Singapore anymore, when JB is 3 time cheaper

i tink jb did play a part......small part

but i tink the ******* high rental kills them all.....

Raitei-Q

Ts i would gave believed you if you said 15mins.. but 5mins duration i can't even walk from my house to the bus stop
Waiting for bus if you are at peak you wait close to 45 to 1h to board.😌

Travelling to the checkpoints add another 15mins ( depend where u board)😌

You still need to get off the bus, walk to the gate, q for the people infront of you, this easily a good 15 to 20mins, if unlucky the people infront is a newbie or gate break down on ur turn you can add another 15mins to it.😌

After you clear you will have to walk urself to the bus q which would bring u into malaysia side😌

So yah you might clear the gate at 5 to 15mins but the whole journey in is about an 1 hour😌

_eMuu_

Agree, cinema business in Singapore is hit hard by the egates.
The seats and screens in JB are bigger better newer cheaper compare with Singapore.

The seats for GV. All are so old and small. No leg space. The cheapest ticket give you economy class seats.

In JB, the cheapest ticket give you first class seats.
The popcorn taste better and gives more. Enough for the length of the movie.

GV popcorn not nice. Mostly are unpop kernels.

Kaylin

not coz ppl pwefer netflix & 短视频 over cinema meh?

_eMuu_

From door to door. My house door to the shopping mall door in JB. Is about 3 hours.
But damn worth it.

bobo07

04GiNhq.jpeg

yes our sez is great....

jumpthepig

For people who drove, no impact, but for people who take the CW bus have big impact

Last time go JB need to queue 4-5 hours, no egate, people will question the ROI of queuing vs spending in SGD

after recent year egate start to be available

the barrier to enter JB is low, with egate, I can enter JB within 5 minutes. There are no more incentive to watch movie in Singapore anymore, when JB is 3 time cheaper

One biggest reason - Most sinkies are trying to save money. Premium F&B close down one by one - They don’t care at all.. 🤣

SeeClothes

My theory is that many poor sinkies will flock to JB to shop but rich people in JB will NOT even think of going SG to shop.

mynickname

Naive, you think you people go jb jin duaki. Not even a pisai percentage of the whole population. Most of the sg population are in Singapore in the weekends.

If we use the figure of ~250,000 crossings per week by Singaporeans as a ballpark (from the “quarter-million” remark), then divided by 2 (for two weekend days) it gives ~125,000 visits by Singaporeans on a typical weekend.
In b4 someone posts stats Only 250k sinkies eat out, the rest all eat at home.

bobo07

The outcome today is cause of the greed of one country want to continue to tax soar sky high in directly benefit the economic of another country….

jumpthepig

The outcome today is cause of the greed of one country want to continue to tax soar sky high in directly benefit the economic of another country….

Not happy with high rental….Don’t rent and don’t support blood sucking landlord - problem solved.

soulblader_89

Actually if 5 year ago, predator badland is released, i would watch in sg cinema

but recently when new movie are released, i would think, when i can go jb and watch

If i no time go, then i just dun watch, sg cinema is not even part of consideration at all

Their student price or weekday price is a big joke sgd$7?

i could watch in IMAX in that price in JB

bobo07

Not happy with high rental….Don’t rent and don’t support blood sucking landlord - problem solved.
Only money launderers can afford to do this kind of businesses here …. Really 開門做生意huans prepare to toh

Zze121

spending power drop
save $ send back home town
cut cost to the max, ban restaurant
netflix + maggi mee
jb? maybe 5% sinkies goes in every weeks, rest r jhk balek kampong

jumpthepig

My theory is that many poor sinkies will flock to JB to shop but rich people in JB will NOT even think of going SG to shop.

Rich people in JB - they ain’t fool.
JH F&B fine dinings are cheaper there, expecting them waste time at causeway or take RTS for sinkies fine dinings? 🤣

jumpthepig

spending power drop
save $ send back home town
cut cost to the max, ban restaurant
netflix + maggi mee
jb? maybe 5% sinkies goes in every weeks, rest r jhk balek kampong

5% sinkies are bringing in many millions SGD to JH every weekend…

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.