[NAS] Official QNAP NAS Thread

eefee.gz

32.png

Do you own a 2-bay, 4-bay or may be even a 6-bay, 8-bay QNAP NAS? Or having question about NAS...
Come post here and share your thoughts, or help out other QNAP NAS owners here!

I'll post some useful tips every once in a while as long time permits.

Highlights:
QNAP have the ARM and Intel based NAS. Have you all heard of AMD Processor NAS? A NAS that comes with thunderbolt2 connection? QvPC Technology? HDMI?

World first NAS brand that had made approach to AMD and thunderbolt :D:D

hint: QvPC, Virtualization Station allow you to have virtual PC installed into the NAS. With HDMI output, you can transform your NAS to a CPU / Computer.

QNAP NAS can be your personal private cloud, and you may enjoy a lot of free features that comes with it. E.g: Photo Station, Music Station, Video Station, Notes Station and more...

Powerful File Station, allowing you to mount ISO, map other network drive and having Qsync to sync your data across multiple devices. Hence, it come with a Powerful Search Engine too, called Qsirch.

Aside for awesome features, it comes with mobile apps too:
https://www.qnap.com/i/en/qts4_phone_app/

eefee.gz

The built-in App Center provides various install-on-demand apps developed by QNAP and third-party developers, including tools for backup/sync, business, content management, communications, download, entertainment, and much more. It is also a centralized location for managing & updating installed apps.
Most importantly, most of them is free. :D:D
https://www.qnap.com/i/en/app_center/index.php

X66

First time NAS user here. Got a TS-253 Pro with 8GB Ram in early Sept. The main reason for QNAP over Synology is the 8 GB Ram for VM

Using the QNAP for following purposes:

1) File server / Personal Cloud
2) BitTorrent
3) Running a Windows 10 in the VM (to run some minor automation stuff)
4) Backup my Apple device via iTunes in the Windows 10 VM
5) Time Machine

Setup DDNS and port forwarding for access outside home (mainly for window RDP)

I am looking into configuring the email server app - Xeams (mainly via IMAP to store my old emails) and a web-based email client (read that Xeams comes with Roundcube) to access my old email when I am outside.

Anyone has any luck configuring Xeams and RoundCube on their QNAP? I google but dun find much info in setting up Xeam. I read a lot of complain for XDove for not being supported though :p

The most useful document I come across is from QNAP club in France is that someone did successfully configure Xeams and Roundcube but I dun quite understand what it means. Anyway, the link is below (need to use google translate)

http://forum.qnapclub.fr/topic/6862-tutoriel-xeams-roundcube/

Anyone here got any luck with Xeams? I dun mind paying a small token fee to help me set up Xeams on my QNAP :)

eefee.gz

you seems to be a power user.. hahaha..

Well for 3rd party application setup, i think you need to refer to Xeams direct, since most of the configuration is from Xeam, not from QNAP.

http://www.xeams.com/forum

FAQ / KB available.

X66

Not power user la... Buy the machine liao so must make use. Some more pay for the 1Gbps fiber cannot leave idle. Read the xeam website and forum before. Difficult to understand for layman like me.

My Mid 2011 Macbook Air's email backup since 2000 so very shiong on my ram whenever I start my outlook. So want to store my email in the QNAP. Tried exporting the emails from outlook but cannot export 100%, think too much email. Somemore Mac Outlook cannot export pst file... Zzz So left with the IMAP option. Any lobang to setup the Xeams on my QNAP, don't mind paying a small fee la...

eefee.gz

Depends on you.. still I suggest you get it locally for support warranty claims...

evildoctor

Hi guys! Just got a Qnap NAS. Could anybody advice me on some stuff. How to put hard disk on standby mode? Like should I put in Sleep mode instead? And how to stream movies to my TV, Xbox etc?

coldboy

A short write-up on how to upgrade the memory for QNAP TS-453 Pro if anyone is interested.

"UPGRADE QNAP TS-453 PRO MEMORY (2GB TO 16GB)" - [LINK]

2ulkifli

Been using Synology DS212j for a while and now thinking of an upgrade, I was browsing the Youtube reviews and keen on getting TS-251+. My question, is there a simple way to migrate from Synology NAS format to QNAP NAS format?

Also, is it easy to upgrade RAM myself, if the $ makes sense could I simply buy 2G RAM model and upgrade the RAM to 8G myself? what model RAM to buy without compatibility issues?

evildoctor

Been using Synology DS212j for a while and now thinking of an upgrade, I was browsing the Youtube reviews and keen on getting TS-251+. My question, is there a simple way to migrate from Synology NAS format to QNAP NAS format?

Also, is it easy to upgrade RAM myself, if the $ makes sense could I simply buy 2G RAM model and upgrade the RAM to 8G myself? what model RAM to buy without compatibility issues?

I think you should stick with Synology. Its better in terms of software experience. You can search in Qnap Forum that their software have lots of problem currently. For example, Qsync will auto delete the user files without their permission and there's no way to backup to public cloud service like OneDrive. They promised to release a Hybrid Backup Cloud app in 2015 Q4 but it has been delayed to 2016 Q4. Currently using a TS-453 Pro and totally regretted it.

2ulkifli

I think you should stick with Synology. Its better in terms of software experience. You can search in Qnap Forum that their software have lots of problem currently. For example, Qsync will auto delete the user files without their permission and there's no way to backup to public cloud service like OneDrive. They promised to release a Hybrid Backup Cloud app in 2015 Q4 but it has been delayed to 2016 Q4. Currently using a TS-453 Pro and totally regretted it.

Thanks for the feedback plus personal insights.. wow! that is a major system flaw when files are deleted without user permission. I will get on the QNAP forum and monitor before I make any upgrade plans, the problem with Synology those that can smoothly perform transcoding are the very high end models, for home user it is cost prohibitive, for now.

evildoctor

Your Welcome! Over the next few days , browse through Qnap forum and see whether it is suitable for you. They make great hardware but their software needs lots of improvement. Currently right now, there isent any easy way to backup to OneDrive and Amazon Cloud Drive. They promised to release a Hybrid Cloud Restore App at 2015 Q4 but it has not been release. I choose Qnap because of their great hardware and thought that their software was comparable to Synology. I was wrong but right now I have to bare with it and hope in they future, they would release new festures and a more stable software. The only problem with Synology is that the RAM is limited. I think the problem will be corrected with their DSM 6.0 with 64 Bit system. Maybe you can wait for the next IT Show and see how.

2ulkifli

Your Welcome! Over the next few days , browse through Qnap forum and see whether it is suitable for you. They make great hardware but their software needs lots of improvement. Currently right now, there isent any easy way to backup to OneDrive and Amazon Cloud Drive. They promised to release a Hybrid Cloud Restore App at 2015 Q4 but it has not been release. I choose Qnap because of their great hardware and thought that their software was comparable to Synology. I was wrong but right now I have to bare with it and hope in they future, they would release new festures and a more stable software. The only problem with Synology is that the RAM is limited. I think the problem will be corrected with their DSM 6.0 with 64 Bit system. Maybe you can wait for the next IT Show and see how.

Thanks for your suggestion, really appreciate the user experience feedback.. that was invaluable to me in the midst of making a decision on upgrading and would have saved me headaches not to mention time and effort converting from one version NAS to another. (two thumbsup !!)

victbk

Hi, I'm new to NAS. in the market is there any NAS that also come with ESATA host connector?

I have a dell laptop which only able to access hdd stroage via estata.

Thank you.

wacko

Hi, I'm new to NAS. in the market is there any NAS that also come with ESATA host connector?

I have a dell laptop which only able to access hdd stroage via estata.

Thank you.

hang on, do you need a Direct Attached Storage (DAS), or Network Attached Storage (NAS)?

victbk

I will prefer to have a NAS so that my other devices can assess wire or wireless. the esata host is dedicated for one of my laptop.

Any I just got to know that my laptop do not have dell laptop has e-SATA "port multiplier".

That post another challenge if I'm getting a multi bays NAS or DAS.

hang on, do you need a Direct Attached Storage (DAS), or Network Attached Storage (NAS)?

wacko

I will prefer to have a NAS so that my other devices can assess wire or wireless. the esata host is dedicated for one of my laptop.

Any I just got to know that my laptop do not have dell laptop has e-SATA "port multiplier".

That post another challenge if I'm getting a multi bays NAS or DAS.

not sure if I'm missing the obvious, but since you need a NAS, and you have a network to attach the NAS to, why do you need to directly attach the NAS to your laptop? is your laptop not connected to the same network the NAS will be on?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.