Need a rig recommendation

sp0rky

Hi guys. I will be getting a computer soon and would like some recommendations.

It will be a brand new PC without the need of keyboard and mouse and windows.
I also do not need any ODD.

Budget would be $2.3k i guess? Inclusive of monitor around 22 inch.

PC will be used mainly for League of legend gaming and also for my work consisting of admin stuff.

I would like to have SSD. I also do not like the heatsink intel provides, therefore would like to get a value for money heatsink even though im not overclocking.

As i would be claiming $ for this PC, i need to buy it from 1 shop all in 1 receipt so maybe i be getting it from PC themes?

Sorry for my long list of request, thank you for helping!! =D

daniel798

2.3k is way overkill for League of Legends. Inclusive of monitor and ssd and heatsink, a budget of around 1-1.3k(possibly less than this) is more than enough for one that can run League at max settings.

Do you want to minimize cost, getting one around that price or max out the budget?

Minimize cost
i3-4150 + h81m dgs $221
gskill 8gb ram $100
fsp hexa 500w $68
zotac gtx 750Ti $219
wd blue 1tb $74
samsung evo 250gb $229(If can, get crucial mx100 for USD$109 from amazon)
fractal arc midi r2 $139
win 7 $120
CM Hyper 212x $69

Total: $1239(PCThemes)

sp0rky

way overkill ah? hehehe. opps. ok anyway, i need a monitor. and i dont need the windows 7...

i3? is it possible to go up to i5?

shadow84

U can change it to i5, though it wun make a difference in ur gaming at all.

Also, since u gt the budget, go get msi b85m g43 or asrock b85m pro4. The layout of components is better than the H81m dgs...

As for monitor, can try Dell S2340L at $219. Its glossy though. If u wan matte, go get Dell U2414H at $369.

From daniel's build, change psu to superflower hx500w. It costs around $89 but its 80+ gold and components used internally are better.

You oso dun need so atas CM 212x. Deepcool Gammaxx 200/300 at $29/39 would do.

sp0rky

actually of course can save then save la. but i was under the impression that i5 is much better for gaming..

shadow84

actually of course can save then save la. but i was under the impression that i5 is much better for gaming..

If your games dun make use of 4 cores, then i3 oso good enough..

Summore, your game is low end de. So, requirements isnt that high, and therefore, no need so high end specs.

sp0rky

i think i still prefer i5 leh.. since i can claim. so.. which bundle for i5?

shadow84

i5-4460 would do le...

i5-4460 + msi b85m g43 = $365
i5-4460 + asrock b85m pro4 = $359

sp0rky

Btw is windows 8.1 worth it? I tried windows 8 in the past and dont really like it

hengheng220

Btw is windows 8.1 worth it? I tried windows 8 in the past and dont really like it

If you have Windows 8 then can go to Windows 8.1 for free. If you have Windows 7, then have to depend on your preference. Not much difference other than faster start up and also the new start menu

cenedra

way overkill for LOL.

My 6 years old core 2 duo with Radeon 7850 can run League of Legends max settings at 140 FPS :s22::s22::s22:

any old dual core CPU with a half decent GPU can also run LOL at full settings without lag...

GeForce

way overkill for LOL.

My 6 years old core 2 duo with Radeon 7850 can run League of Legends max settings at 140 FPS :s22::s22::s22:

any old dual core CPU with a half decent GPU can also run LOL at full settings without lag...

LoL is a lol game. lol. geddit.

sp0rky

hahah anyway LOL going thru visual update ma.. i also do alot of multitasking. i keep my pc on as gf my stream video from my PC to her ipad while im playing games. basically my computer is the media center whereby the whole family stream video from my pc.

its also the song center. ok la can get something good make me feel good also

nippp0n

CPU & Mobo: i5-4590 & Asrock B85 Killer @ ~$380
Ram: G.Skill 1600mhz value ram 2x4GB @ $102
ODD: Liteon DVD RW @ $25
HDD: WD Green 2TB @ $109
SSD: Crucial MX100 256GB @ $165
GPU: Zotac GTX 750 Ti @ $219
PSU: Superflower HX 500W @ $89
Case: Fractal Design Arc Midi @ $129
Monitor: Dell U2414H @ $359

Total: $1715
Buy and build at PC Themes.

hengheng220

can i know why should i not get WD black instead?

Cause if I'm not wrong, Wd black is meant to be a faster drive compared to its other drives, but since you already have ssd which is even faster than Wd black, there's no point getting it

royfrosty

Msi b85m g43 + i5-4460 ~ $345
Kingston HyperX 1600mhz 2x4gb kit blue ~ $110
WD Blue 1tb ~ $71
Crucial mx100 256gb ~ $161
Zotac Gtx750ti 2gb ~ $208
Superflower HX500 500w 80+ gold semi modular PSU ~ $88
Corsair Obsidian 350D mATX chassis ~ $139
Samsung DVD drive ~ $21
Dell U2414H 23.8inch eIPS panel with 5years warranty ~ $359

Total ~ $1502. Buy at tradepac. Diy

Optional purchase:
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $110
CM Storm Quickfire TK mechanical keyboard ~ @139
Mad Catz R.A.T 7 fully adjustable gaming mouse white ~ $102sgd (amazon)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.