Need a small footprint PC for design work

ZrE0_Cha0s

i think only come with motherboard. cpu is ownself choose / buy right ?

ok after looking at their web it seems they dun have cpu in it, which means it could be a hassle to remove the cpu cooler as well =:p

still how are u going to purchase them? i dun see SG is in under their supply, meaning u have to get from other place.

stupidog

i assume your desk is large cause can accomodate 2 monitor..
Get atx case and put under the table. Possible?

my desk is those L shaped ones with drawers and cabinets...which contractor have to fix it onto the wall (no legs).

i dun think it's possible to put under the desk as there is no holes for the cables to run up. :( This is the cons for customising such desk :(

i think the best choice, best way to place my stuffs if getting a mid tower or small form...

my thunderbolt drive and hdd bay put on top of the cpu casing lor.

no other way liao :(

stupidog

ok after looking at their web it seems they dun have cpu in it, which means it could be a hassle to remove the cpu cooler as well =:p

still how are u going to purchase them? i dun see SG is in under their supply, meaning u have to get from other place.

ah, shuttle can contact dr_disciple aka beyondgeek...

u search lazada.sg can see his products. =:p

stupidog

To keep at a budget of around $1700 you have to go down in CPU choice or go for a 256gb samsung 950 pro NVMe.
Build would be as below and can get at cybermind(ask them to help you build it up).

SH170R6 + i5-6500 cpu @ $806
512gb samsung 950 pro NVMe @ 529
2 x 8gb ram @ 110
ZOTAC GTX1060 Mini 3GB @ $299

or

SH170R6 + i7-6700 cpu @ $966
256gb samsung 950 pro NVMe @ 309
2 x 8gb ram @ 110
ZOTAC GTX1060 Mini 3GB @ $299

Add more ram in the future as photoshop runs best with more ram.
I'd go with the i5 build if you don't do any sort of video editing and or cad programs else the i7 if you require video editing and stuff.

btw, i saw Intel 600p NVMe...is that better or samsung better ? Cos 512 for Intel is like dirt cheap :D

stupidog

Mzai9M9l.jpg

Lol bought this in the end....

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

knightshaz

Good thing you bought proper desktop, that Skull Canyon NUC if want graphics card must buy Razer Core connect with thunderbolt 3

gld998

your choice case is definitely not small footprint. Should consider Raven v2 itx or CM 130 if u want small foot print

stupidog

your choice case is definitely not small footprint. Should consider Raven v2 itx or CM 130 if u want small foot print

buy liao lol...when i saw it i got a shock.

oh well, nvm...i sacrificed my laptop w/docking station space lol

MoneyFace =p

buy liao lol...when i saw it i got a shock.

oh well, nvm...i sacrificed my laptop w/docking station space lol

Learn it the hard way lor. There are dimensions on product page and YouTube video for size judgement de.

Encrypted11

If ts start with skull canyon nuc become air 240 is jipai siao liao.

Air 240 is not a good case esp in its use of internal space.

Its one of the "nice concept, poor implementation" products of corsair imo.

Small footprint design work, I may be no sexpert but would have gone for a mobile workstation + ext display/keyboard. Maybe work in extended desktop with internal display as secondary monitor, ext as primary with wireless kb/mouse when desk bound.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.