Need advice in purchasing a PARF car

Comage

It doesnt matter 1 or 5 owners. Owner can just sian liao so change car. Or parents transfer to son also add 1 owner to it. U just need to test drive and feel it. Owners and mileage will not determined the car condition. There are 300k mileage car with good condition as well. It all depends on how previous owner take care of it.

Most importantly feel for the expensive repair parts like gearbox. If feel jerky then might have some problem. The rest like undercarriage things is not that ex to repair. Full steering turn left/right if have tok tok sound, likely is steering rack issue. Engine rarely died for parf car so no need worry so much.
True mostly, I suppose - although a multi-owner vehicle in near-perfect condition is very, very, unlikely.
Though you can also find 1-owner COE cars in piss-poor state - this is also very, very unlikely because the owner wouldn't have made it past the 10-year mark if he/she scrimped on vehicle maintenance/upkeep.

*Sorry - was really referring to COE cars mostly as used cars. For PARF cars, multi-owner could also indicate a red flag that there is some major issue with the vehicle, and vehicle owners are just passing on the buck to the next guy...

ZhuTou!

True mostly, I suppose - although a multi-owner vehicle in near-perfect condition is very, very, unlikely.
Though you can also find 1-owner COE cars in piss-poor state - this is also very, very unlikely because the owner wouldn't have made it past the 10-year mark if he/she scrimped on vehicle maintenance/upkeep.

*Sorry - was really referring to COE cars mostly as used cars. For PARF cars, multi-owner could also indicate a red flag that there is some major issue with the vehicle, and vehicle owners are just passing on the buck to the next guy...
It is unlikely to find near perfect unless the car is fairly new like 1-2 yrs old. Some cars with only 1-2 owners also can be quite jialat. The owner is like never service at all. Really depends on how the past owners take care of it.

For my own car, i wont skip repair. I feel weird things or noise i go workshop check alr. Spoilt parts will lead to other parts to spoil. They are link together so i always maintain my car properly to avoid a repair bomb next time.

Comage

It is unlikely to find near perfect unless the car is fairly new like 1-2 yrs old. Some cars with only 1-2 owners also can be quite jialat. The owner is like never service at all. Really depends on how the past owners take care of it.

For my own car, i wont skip repair. I feel weird things or noise i go workshop check alr. Spoilt parts will lead to other parts to spoil. They are link together so i always maintain my car properly to avoid a repair bomb next time.
I have to admit - my standards for "near perfect" for a used car is simply just:

- no leaks from anywhere, including rubber seals or gaskets
- transmission shifts without any shudders or jolting of the vehicle
- engine accelerates smoothly with no loss of power from any gear

Because everything else can be easily resolved by throwing parts at it...

mcspiky

I have to admit - my standards for "near perfect" for a used car is simply just:

- no leaks from anywhere, including rubber seals or gaskets
- transmission shifts without any shudders or jolting of the vehicle
- engine accelerates smoothly with no loss of power from any gear

Because everything else can be easily resolved by throwing parts at it...
Kinda same bro, I'm a simple guy :D . I don't abuse my car even when driving, I don't crank the gas, do a sudden break and 10K mileage, I do servicing.

I guess I'm lucky with my 15yrs old Cerato, absolutely no major engine issues.

mcspiky

Got a B for my STA Inspection! :D Agent replaced the battery to a new one!

I dunno if having a 'soft' shock absorber note is good instead of putting it as 'normal'

Screenshot-2024-03-14-at-10-45-03-AM.png

-nyox-

Got a B for my STA Inspection! :D Agent replaced the battery to a new one!

I dunno if having a 'soft' shock absorber note is good instead of putting it as 'normal'

Screenshot-2024-03-14-at-10-45-03-AM.png
How detailed is the STA report? I just did a AA PPI and there are many points of checks and the inspector will comment as necessary on that particular area.

mcspiky

How detailed is the STA report? I just did a AA PPI and there are many points of checks and the inspector will comment as necessary on that particular area.
very VERY detailed actually, very impressive! I'm more than confident to now drive my new car!

Only thing is that there's no note on the fluid portion... I hoped they mentioned if say the oil needs top up for example. But overall, highly recommended!

kebinu

If you have a budget, Honda city will be cheaper overall in terms of FC & maintenance. I guess TS bought the Subaru as it's sold.

1 thing I'll share is, never believe the mileage of the cars. If you see all cars of similar age, all are just tucked nicely below 80+k mileage for 7-9 years old car. Some 9 years old are just 110+k mileage. All with more than 1 owner, you think there will be so many people buying the same cars and all drive so low mileage nicely?

STA inspection will not check for tempered mileage. Jap cars with tempered mileage are not as bad since maintenance is usually cheaper. If used Conti, good luck.

Once you pay deposit to dealers, go for PPI, workshop said a list of issue. Dealers will not refund and say will repair for you first, but they probably won't do it before handing over anyway.

mcspiky

If you have a budget, Honda city will be cheaper overall in terms of FC & maintenance. I guess TS bought the Subaru as it's sold.

1 thing I'll share is, never believe the mileage of the cars. If you see all cars of similar age, all are just tucked nicely below 80+k mileage for 7-9 years old car. Some 9 years old are just 110+k mileage. All with more than 1 owner, you think there will be so many people buying the same cars and all drive so low mileage nicely?

STA inspection will not check for tempered mileage. Jap cars with tempered mileage are not as bad since maintenance is usually cheaper. If used Conti, good luck.

Once you pay deposit to dealers, go for PPI, workshop said a list of issue. Dealers will not refund and say will repair for you first, but they probably won't do it before handing over anyway.
Thanks. I purchased a KIA K3 ;) which had 1 owner.

So far so good, very smooth ride. STA inspection was graded B

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.