Need help for new rig (work/gaming)

boygenius

Hii guys,

I'm looking to get my first DIY rig to play more recent games (BF4 etc) and do mywork. (Currently using 3yr old laptop :s13:). After reading the latest posts from fellow members, i wanted to ask for advice on the build below. Open to suggestions

MSI b85m g43 + i5-4670
Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 2x4gb 1600mhz kit
WD blue/cavier green 7200rpm 1tb
Samsung 840 Pro 128gb
Sapphire Vapor-x r9 280x 3gb + superflower hx600 600w 80+ gold PSU
Sharkoon T28 Blue
Windows 7 home premium 64bit OEM
Samsung odd
Simple memory card reader
Dell 23/24inch or AOS 27" IPS monitor (still stuck between the two)

Don't mind increasing budget, as long as total below 2k with monitor. Looking to get it later ;)

royfrosty

Get the blue 1tb. Not unless you wanna go higher capacity like 2tb or 4tb then go green would be economical.

Else all the items are OK. And yes it is below 2k

But if you want to save more can drop the Samsung ssd. Go for plextor m5p or corsair force.

boygenius

Get the blue 1tb. Not unless you wanna go higher capacity like 2tb or 4tb then go green would be economical.

Else all the items are OK. And yes it is below 2k

But if you want to save more can drop the Samsung ssd. Go for plextor m5p or corsair force.
Thank you for the advice, Roy... Will do... :)

royfrosty

Just to add on. The monitor you chose.

May be can narrow your search.

Can choose either a Gloss screen or a Matte Screen.

Difference is the clarity and color vibrant and brightness of it in gloss. But reflects incoming lights.

If Matte then will reduce incoming light reflections, but color isnt vibrant as gloss.

boygenius

Just to add on. The monitor you chose.

May be can narrow your search.

Can choose either a Gloss screen or a Matte Screen.

Difference is the clarity and color vibrant and brightness of it in gloss. But reflects incoming lights.

If Matte then will reduce incoming light reflections, but color isnt vibrant as gloss.
Ahhh... How about the monitor, Roy? Would you recommend the Dell ultrasharp or the AOS 27".. Coz fellow members were saying the AOS display quite good also. and Dell ultra 24" compared to AOS 27" also about $50-60 diff.

Don't mind putting in extra for a bigger screen as long as <$2k ;)
Dell 27" IPS overbudget though... Bahaha..

shadow84

Just to add on, if the $539 GPU + PSU combo you are getting is frm mynextcom, they do have the MSI r9 280x + HX600w for $529, in which MSI offers 3 yrs warranty as compared to sapphire 2 years. Gigabyte can be considered as well since it also offers 3 years.

If you dun mind, can get qnix qx2710 evolution II 27" korean monitors from qoo10.com.sg. basic ver is only at $340. There are risks of running into dead pixels n bad BLB, but all monitors go through this as well. But so far, only a handful kena this.

Jian19

27" means u gaming @ 1440p, might not be able to max out latest game ~

royfrosty

Ahhh... How about the monitor, Roy? Would you recommend the Dell ultrasharp or the AOS 27".. Coz fellow members were saying the AOS display quite good also. and Dell ultra 24" compared to AOS 27" also about $50-60 diff.

Don't mind putting in extra for a bigger screen as long as <$2k ;)
Dell 27" IPS overbudget though... Bahaha..

So i guess you are more towards matte screens.

Can get the Dell U2312HM if you want.

Not really a fan of AOC monitors. The color isnt really very nice though. Not to my liking. A bit warm.

boygenius

Just to add on, if the $539 GPU + PSU combo you are getting is frm mynextcom, they do have the MSI r9 280x + HX600w for $529, in which MSI offers 3 yrs warranty as compared to sapphire 2 years. Gigabyte can be considered as well since it also offers 3 years.

If you dun mind, can get qnix qx2710 evolution II 27" korean monitors from qoo10.com.sg. basic ver is only at $340. There are risks of running into dead pixels n bad BLB, but all monitors go through this as well. But so far, only a handful kena this.
No wonder many of the builds using the MSI instead of the sapphire. Didn't know the warranty was 1 year short. Thanks shadow

royfrosty

No wonder many of the builds using the MSI instead of the sapphire. Didn't know the warranty was 1 year short. Thanks shadow

So far just take note

Zotac 5 years
MSI Giga and Asus Powercolor Leadtek 3 years
Palit Sapphire 2 years

Jian19

Warranty issue is more impt if u like always 1-2 year upgrade ur stuff, with warranty more resale value

Other then that it's not a big issue, Zotac most Lao lan give 5 year warranty spoilt market :s13: but most cards after 5 years become entry level cards Liao..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.