Need help for taichung itinerary

justbit

Hi to all:) I'm new here.

I'm going Taichung for 2 day trip (4-5 Jan). I planned to explore Cingjing, Sun moon lake and Taichung.
Is it better to travel:

Plan A:
Day 1 Taipei - Cingjing - Taichung(Stay at Taichung for the night)
Day 2 Taichung - Sun Moon Lake - Taipei

Plan B:
Day 1 Taipei - Cingjing - Sun Moon Lake(Stay at Sun Moon Lake for the night)
Day 2 Sun Moon Lake - Taichung - Taipei

Can anyone advice on the itinerary? And also any recommended places to explore in Taichung.

Thank you.

albertchng

Hi to all:) I'm new here.

I'm going Taichung for 2 day trip (4-5 Jan). I planned to explore Cingjing, Sun moon lake and Taichung.
Is it better to travel:

Plan A:
Day 1 Taipei - Cingjing - Taichung(Stay at Taichung for the night)
Day 2 Taichung - Sun Moon Lake - Taipei

Plan B:
Day 1 Taipei - Cingjing - Sun Moon Lake(Stay at Sun Moon Lake for the night)
Day 2 Sun Moon Lake - Taichung - Taipei

Can anyone advice on the itinerary? And also any recommended places to explore in Taichung.

Thank you.

Your 2 days includes the day you landed in Taoyuan and the day you departing flight?

Reason for asking is that 2 days is very rush to fully visit Taichung, SML, Cingjing then back to Taoyuan. For your itinerary, you most likely need to hire a driver.

justbit

The 2 days does not include the arriving and departing flight. I will spending 2 days in Taipei before i head down to Taichung. Will be heading back to Taipei on the 5 Jan and fly back to SG on 7 Jan late afternoon.

hmm I see, since it is too rush which place of interest do you think I should forgo? Tacichung, SML or Cingjing?

Erik80

The 2 days does not include the arriving and departing flight. I will spending 2 days in Taipei before i head down to Taichung. Will be heading back to Taipei on the 5 Jan and fly back to SG on 7 Jan late afternoon.

hmm I see, since it is too rush which place of interest do you think I should forgo? Tacichung, SML or Cingjing?

Cingjing is nice (try book Starry Minsu) and you can try to go He Huan San. Nice mountain view. SML must go see sun rise (try book Laurel Villa), owner will bring you to see sun rise at his private area.

Try to stay 2 days at one place if not will be too rush for you. My last trip quite rush as i travel from fengjia - cingjing - SML - Hualien - Yilan - Taipei. Not much time to enjoy at one place.

As for driver can contact 阿辉@+886 988 090 976 for more info.

albertchng

Oh i see...

I would suggest 4 days 3 nights to fully enjoy Taichung, SML and Cingjing.

Here will be how i will plan...

1ST DAY - checkout from Taipei and transfer via HSR to Taichung and taxi to hotel/minsu near Fengjia Night Market, go Yi Zhong Street shopping. If got time can go Gao Mei Wetland and eat seafood lunch.

1ST NIGHT - Stay overnight near Taichung Fengjia Night Market, plenty of things to see, to buy and foods to eat.

2ND NIGHT - Stay overnight at SML, you can take ferry on the lake or rent a bicycle for round the lake ride (about 30km). See sunrise early in the morning. Plenty of things to see and eat.

3RD NIGHT - Stay overnight at Cingjing. Daytime activities can go green green grassland, Swiss cottage and paper carton box king. Star glazing at night. Go Wu Ling (3275m), the highest point on HeHuanSan to enjoy the sights and soak in the cold. Autumn weather in Cingjing is heaven!

4TH DAY - checkout and transfer to Taichung via taxi for HSR back to Taipei.

ASummerDay

Hi justbit, sorry hijack your thread for a question, thanks

Planning to self driving in Taichung, Puli, SML and Cingjing, reading blog and thread about self driving to these place but no one mention about parking. Can someone advise how the parking system work in these place. Can park anywhere as long as dun block traffic or there is designated place for parking.

Many thanks

albertchng

Hi justbit, sorry hijack your thread for a question, thanks

Planning to self driving in Taichung, Puli, SML and Cingjing, reading blog and thread about self driving to these place but no one mention about parking. Can someone advise how the parking system work in these place. Can park anywhere as long as dun block traffic or there is designated place for parking.

Many thanks

Park in designated car park, not suka suka anyhow park. You sure kena hamtam jia lat jia lat if your anyhow parking cause accident.

Their vehicle is left hand drive. Opposite of SG.

ASummerDay

Park in designated car park, not suka suka anyhow park. You sure kena hamtam jia lat jia lat if your anyhow parking cause accident.

Their vehicle is left hand drive. Opposite of SG.

Ya noted it left hard drive,got heart prepare liao. It is easy to find carpark den ?

justbit

Cingjing is nice (try book Starry Minsu) and you can try to go He Huan San. Nice mountain view. SML must go see sun rise (try book Laurel Villa), owner will bring you to see sun rise at his private area.

Try to stay 2 days at one place if not will be too rush for you. My last trip quite rush as i travel from fengjia - cingjing - SML - Hualien - Yilan - Taipei. Not much time to enjoy at one place.

As for driver can contact 阿辉@+886 988 090 976 for more info.

I see :) thank a lot for the advise and recommendation!

justbit

Oh i see...

1ST DAY - checkout from Taipei and transfer via HSR to Taichung and taxi to hotel/minsu near Fengjia Night Market, go Yi Zhong Street shopping. If got time can go Gao Mei Wetland and eat seafood lunch.

1ST NIGHT - Stay overnight near Taichung Fengjia Night Market, plenty of things to see, to buy and foods to eat.

2ND NIGHT - Stay overnight at SML, you can take ferry on the lake or rent a bicycle for round the lake ride (about 30km). See sunrise early in the morning. Plenty of things to see and eat.

3RD NIGHT - Stay overnight at Cingjing. Daytime activities can go green green grassland, Swiss cottage and paper carton box king. Star glazing at night. Go Wu Ling (3275m), the highest point on HeHuanSan to enjoy the sights and soak in the cold. Autumn weather in Cingjing is heaven!

Hahaha I book air ticket already, don't think I have that much days to spend in Taichung. I will maybe remove SML or Cingjing in my itinerary. Thank a lot for the the advise and recommendation. :)

Honda91

Ya noted it left hard drive,got heart prepare liao. It is easy to find carpark den ?

i did a self drive there recently, finding a parking lot and parking there is very easy and straight forward and almost free.

he huai shan and cing jing can be very dark at night as there is no much street lamp ard

the difficult part is in city. cost of parking also damn exp
like per hour 4-6sgd

albertchng

Hahaha I book air ticket already, don't think I have that much days to spend in Taichung. I will maybe remove SML or Cingjing in my itinerary. Thank a lot for the the advise and recommendation. :)

That means you have 2 days and 1 night in Taichung, SML and Cingjing.

Too rush, can't see much, can't enjoy the biggest night market in the whole of Taiwan (Fengjia Night Market in Taichung), no time to see pretty xmm at Yi Zhong Street, eat cheap cheap seafood lunch, barefooted walk Gao Mei Wetland... etc.

For SML, even if you don't want to overnight there, also need about 4-6 hours to fully enjoy the round the lake tour by ferry or riding a bicycle. Even by private car with driver also need a 3-4 hours and all the ferry stopovers are just touch and go.

For Cingjing, if never stay overnight is wasted for whole trip. If stay at hotspring resort also need time to soak, can do star glazing at night, visit Old England for their high tea. Visit green green grassland, Swiss cottage and paper carton box king. Go until Cingjing must visit Wuling (3275m) on top of HeHuanSan. All the activities need time to enjoy.

ASummerDay

i did a self drive there recently, finding a parking lot and parking there is very easy and straight forward and almost free.

he huai shan and cing jing can be very dark at night as there is no much street lamp ard

the difficult part is in city. cost of parking also damn exp
like per hour 4-6sgd

i assume city you mean Taipei hor? Will be self driving in Taichung going to FengJia night market, SML and Cingjing. Taking public transport in Taipei cos hear of the bad traffic and parking. SML is day time sill be stay in Puli so should be ok. As for Cingjing will not be late cos dinner will be in the Minsu staying.

First time going Taiwan...... hope will not be lost on the road :p

ASummerDay

That means you have 2 days and 1 night in Taichung, SML and Cingjing.

Too rush, can't see much, can't enjoy the biggest night market in the whole of Taiwan (Fengjia Night Market in Taichung), no time to see pretty xmm at Yi Zhong Street, eat cheap cheap seafood lunch, barefooted walk Gao Mei Wetland... etc.

For SML, even if you don't want to overnight there, also need about 4-6 hours to fully enjoy the round the lake tour by ferry or riding a bicycle. Even by private car with driver also need a 3-4 hours and all the ferry stopovers are just touch and go.

For Cingjing, if never stay overnight is wasted for whole trip. If stay at hotspring resort also need time to soak, can do star glazing at night, visit Old England for their high tea. Visit green green grassland, Swiss cottage and paper carton box king. Go until Cingjing must visit Wuling (3275m) on top of HeHuanSan. All the activities need time to enjoy.

Taichung, cheap cheap seafood lunch where har ?

twosix

i assume city you mean Taipei hor? Will be self driving in Taichung going to FengJia night market, SML and Cingjing. Taking public transport in Taipei cos hear of the bad traffic and parking. SML is day time sill be stay in Puli so should be ok. As for Cingjing will not be late cos dinner will be in the Minsu staying.

Taichung traffic is worse than taipei. Good luck!

Honda91

as in the main town in every state i mean inclusive of taichung.
for taichung there is alot of flyover. if you miss or take the wrong flyoveryou will be ending up in somewhere else.
infact i feel taipei traffic is easier to handle then in tai chung.

and as for driving in feng jia market area. im pretty sure you will nv gonna find a carpark lot.
unless you parked a distance away from the market.
if i didnt rmb wrongly, you need to paid like $10sgd for parking there.
the carpark attendance will be there to collect the money

other then city/town driving, every where else is pretty easy and parking is free and convenient

ASummerDay

as in the main town in every state i mean inclusive of taichung.
for taichung there is alot of flyover. if you miss or take the wrong flyoveryou will be ending up in somewhere else.
infact i feel taipei traffic is easier to handle then in tai chung.

and as for driving in feng jia market area. im pretty sure you will nv gonna find a carpark lot.
unless you parked a distance away from the market.
if i didnt rmb wrongly, you need to paid like $10sgd for parking there.
the carpark attendance will be there to collect the money

other then city/town driving, every where else is pretty easy and parking is free and convenient

Ooh den may I should take a bus or take a taxi there. How about Park Land CMP the mall itself got carpark ?

pinpinpin

Oh i see...

I like your plan!

We are travelling in 3, 2 old folks.

Im coming from taoyuan airport to taichung, thinking of 3 days 2 nights in taichung.

1st day Taoyuan to Taichung. Go Feng Jia NM. First night in taichung.
2nd day want to book driver for the trip, 2nd night at SML or Cingjing.
3rd day morning trip then 3rd night at Taichung.

4th day morning go to Taipei via HSR.
4th and 5th night in Taipei

For your itinerary in Taichung, SML and Cingjing, can i check how you intend to travel ? isit all book driver?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.