Need help on Jiufen & Pingxi

CI

Taking midnight flight tonight to Taiwan but still confused on Jiufen and Pingxi? jin jialat... :o

Feasible / make sense to visit Jiufen and Pingxi line on the same day (Monday actually)? Which one to go first?

Am I right on the following? To reach both, Ruifang is the common location.

1) To reach Ruifang, take train from TMS, about 50min journey. No need to book right? Just walk in and purchase ticket from counter. Need to purchase return ticket ahead? Any last timings for the day?

2) From Ruifang to Jiufen, take the bus 1062, 15min journey. To return to Ruifang, take the same bus on the opposite side of the road?
Jiufen opens 11-12am and closes at 5-6pm.

3) From Ruifang to Pingxi, purchase the day ticket (NT52) at the station of unlimited rides. Trains on Pingxi line only comes once every hour.
Where to check "operating" hours for the trains?

Thanks hor! :)

twosix

Taking midnight flight tonight to Taiwan but still confused on Jiufen and Pingxi? jin jialat... :o

Feasible / make sense to visit Jiufen and Pingxi line on the same day (Monday actually)? Which one to go first?

1) To reach Ruifang, take train from TMS, about 50min journey. No need to book right? Just walk in and purchase ticket from counter. Need to purchase return ticket ahead? Any last timings for the day?

You can use youyou card too. This card can be used to take mrt, bus and local trains.

the train may not have place to sit, so you have to stand all the way to ruining. another way is to take bus 1062 from Zhongxiao fuxing mrt station all the way to juifen. you do not need to transfer.

2) From Ruifang to Jiufen, take the bus 1062, 15min journey. To return to Ruifang, take the same bus on the opposite side of the road?

yup.

3) From Ruifang to Pingxi, purchase the day ticket (NT52) at the station of unlimited rides. Trains on Pingxi line only comes once every hour.

dun think you have much time on thee pingxi line after jiufen. if so, just buy 1 way ticket instead of unlimited ride ticket.

asiafrenz

Just give you an idea what we did last week:

8:30am - Leave hotel in Taipei, take MRT to Muzha Station
9:15am - Take bus 795 from Muzha station to Dakeng, arrive at 9:30am
10:45am - Take bus 795 from Dakeng to JinTong Laojie(Pinxi), arrive at 11am
12:00pm - Take bus 795 from JinTong to Shifen (Pinxi), arrive at 12:05pm
14:50pm - Take Pinxi local train from Shifen to Ruifang, arrive at 15:20pm
15:30pm - Take bus from Ruifang station to Jiufen, arrive at 15:50pm
18:15pm - Take bus from Jiufen back to Ruifang station, arrive at 18:30pm
19:00pm - Take bus from Ruifang back to Taipei, arrive at 19:50pm

dede1217

Sometimes you might not get seats on the 50min trip to ruifang.
coz tour agencies already purchased all the seats.
in e end, u can only stand and wait outside the toilet cabin haha ...

saffronsatire

Sometimes you might not get seats on the 50min trip to ruifang.
coz tour agencies already purchased all the seats.
in e end, u can only stand and wait outside the toilet cabin haha ...

are there four types of trains to ruifang? if buy the most ex type can buy reserved seats also? or do you mean those also taken already?

Windowlover

From XMD to Juifen, can I take taxi one way and return later from then or must book a taxi is better... becos not sure how long family member will shop there.. :s22: It is easy to get Taxi from there.

calkel20

From XMD to Juifen, can I take taxi one way and return later from then or must book a taxi is better... becos not sure how long family member will shop there.. :s22: It is easy to get Taxi from there.

Book one way there. Then on the way back, maybe stop at ruifang and take a train back might be a good option.

zepanda

Same as TS,will be going tw this week~

Planning to go Jiufen and Shifen for one day trip too but read all the info until abit blur :s22:.

Currently,I'm planning something like this:Jinguashi in the morning,followed by Jiufen, Shifen, then end at Pingxi to release sky lanterns.

To go Ruifang station from TMS,if i use easycard to enter the station means im taking a local train (no reserved seats+cheaper), and if i purchase tickets from the machines/counters means im taking a train with allocated seats?Roughly how long is the journey?

Learnt that to go Jiufen and Jinguashi have to take bus at Ruifang.Does bus 1062 go to both destination?How to pay for the bus ride?

To go to Jiufen from Jinguashi, take the same bus back?

To go to Shifen and Pingxi,is it take the bus back to Ruifang station and change to Pingxi line? Tickets for Pingxi line buy one way ticket or day pass?Can use easycard to pay?

Thanks in advance for the help!
:)

twosix

Same as TS,will be going tw this week~

Planning to go Jiufen and Shifen for one day trip too but read all the info until abit blur :s22:.

Currently,I'm planning something like this:Jinguashi in the morning,followed by Jiufen, Shifen, then end at Pingxi to release sky lanterns.

To go Ruifang station from TMS,if i use easycard to enter the station means im taking a local train (no reserved seats+cheaper), and if i purchase tickets from the machines/counters means im taking a train with allocated seats?Roughly how long is the journey?

Learnt that to go Jiufen and Jinguashi have to take bus at Ruifang.Does bus 1062 go to both destination?How to pay for the bus ride?

To go to Jiufen from Jinguashi, take the same bus back?

To go to Shifen and Pingxi,is it take the bus back to Ruifang station and change to Pingxi line? Tickets for Pingxi line buy one way ticket or day pass?Can use easycard to pay?

Thanks in advance for the help!
:)

Buses use youyou card aka easy card too. To go jinguashi from taipei, I'd suggest you take bus 1062 from the bus stop @ Zhongxiao fuxing station. (Exit at exit 1 and then turn back and walk towards to traffic lights then turn left.) High chance to get a seat and also no need to transfer.

google map is your best friend. use it: https://goo.gl/maps/g3XHG

incredible.piggie

1. iirc the shifen waterfall is closed on mon. Rather alot of those tourist attraction is closed on mon so better do some research before going.

2. As for the train from tpe main station to ruifang...no need book la. Me and my friend just hop onto the next train that goes to ruifang. if you avoid the peak hours it's quite easy to get seats.

3. As the pingxi line train is on fixed schedule and the interval are more than 1hr+ i do suggest that you take down the train schedule and plan ur time at each of the stop you intend to stop.

dilphinus

1. iirc the shifen waterfall is closed on mon. Rather alot of those tourist attraction is closed on mon so better do some research before going.

2. As for the train from tpe main station to ruifang...no need book la. Me and my friend just hop onto the next train that goes to ruifang. if you avoid the peak hours it's quite easy to get seats.

3. As the pingxi line train is on fixed schedule and the interval are more than 1hr+ i do suggest that you take down the train schedule and plan ur time at each of the stop you intend to stop.

Shifen waterfall is closed for renovations/construction (till probably end of the year).

zepanda

Buses use youyou card aka easy card too. To go jinguashi from taipei, I'd suggest you take bus 1062 from the bus stop @ Zhongxiao fuxing station. (Exit at exit 1 and then turn back and walk towards to traffic lights then turn left.) High chance to get a seat and also no need to transfer.

google map is your best friend. use it: https://goo.gl/maps/g3XHG
awesome.thanks! Good to know google maps is accurate for finding my way in taiwan.

Pingxi line can use easycard to pay?

Sent from GAGT Android App

zepanda

Cannot if i rem correctly...They using ticket system..Or you can get a day pass if planning to visit a few stations..
Will only be visiting shifen and pingxi.alright thanks,I'll go there and check which one is more worth it :)
Btw,Pingxi also can put sky lantern right?is my itenary doable for a day trip?Jinguashi in the morning,->Jiufen->Shifen->Pingxi

Gixxerfied

Will only be visiting shifen and pingxi.alright thanks,I'll go there and check which one is more worth it :)
Btw,Pingxi also can put sky lantern right?is my itenary doable for a day trip?Jinguashi in the morning,->Jiufen->Shifen->Pingxi

Yup, can put..Backdrop different...

Pingxi:
r6pOfNh.jpg

Shifen:
vI6Kkwi.jpg

Can is can...You would probably come out of Shifen late since the train service interval is like 1 per 1hr odd..Boils down to how much time u spend at Jinguashi and Jiufen....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.