Need help on my desktop PC

foosoomin

Hi experts,

Few months back while i was using my desktop PC to surf Internet, suddenly the PC restarted by itself

Worst of all, it doesn't boot !!!

However, the light on the motherboard still lits up, power supply still running, CD-Rom is OK

Here's my questions below;

1) Is it my CPU blown ? My CPU fan still running

2) Is it my motherboard damaged ?

3) Which SLS shop would you recommend to send for inspection/repair

Anyone please enlighten me, please !!! :s11::s11:

mypillowtalks

Take out all your ram. Erase the contacts with an eraser. Put them back one by one, then start your pc.

Loose graphics card may cause this as well

ykgoh

Take out all your ram. Erase the contacts with an eraser. Put them back one by one, then start your pc.

Loose graphics card may cause this as well

Was there an earthquake when he was surfing internet? Kind of hard to imagine how his ram or graphics card can shake loose, unless he was shaking and rocking his casing violently. :s22:

mypillowtalks

Was there an earthquake when he was surfing internet? Kind of hard to imagine how his ram or graphics card can shake loose, unless he was shaking and rocking his casing violently. :s22:

Sometimes it just happens, or dust have caused the contacts to be dirty over time. It is always worth a try to resit the ram/ensure connections are not loosen.

1) Not much chance of CPU being blown. Never really smell anything burnt right? Anyway CPU fan running doesn't mean CPU isn't blown.

Sudden shutdown can be due to overheating issues, whereby the CPU shuts down automatically when a certain temp is reached. However since your comp still wont boot after restart(after cpu cool down), i presume it could be other minor but common issues such as ram

Do check that thermal paste is not dried out too.

2) Do a visual inspection for bloated capacitors. Can't confirm motherboard is damaged until you troubleshoot to the point whereby the computer works with a new motherboard but not your current one.

Last time one ah beng customer come to sls to troubleshoot his comp, after testing i told him that his ram was loose he jitao dulan and tell me "you think i carry my computer dancing ah?"

External vibrations may cause things to get loose over time, eg. putting PC near big subwoofers

Thermal cycling over long period may cause components to be loose.

foosoomin

mypillow,

tried taking out ram & cleaned it, swapped position too.

tried changing graphic card

still cannot boot up.

anyway, I now @ SLS searching for same mobo liao, old model. Gonna try finding it

jtjt00

TS, your chance of finding same brand new motherboard like your current one is slim. After all, 4-5 generations backward.

foosoomin

guys,

thanks for support.

I no longer able to find DDR2 version of mobo already.

I will consider DDR3 ones

thanks guys

foosoomin

jtjt00,

lai lai, gai siao me the following:

1) Mobo for Core i7 cpu, similar to my previous Asus P5Q Pro. must have PCI-E slots ( I have two GPU )

2) moderate performance 4th gen core i7 cpu

3) DDR3, moderate performance

tell me the estimate price too

my usage, play strategy game like Romance of the three kingdom, Part 11 surf Internet, browse video, listen to mp3, use Office application, view PDF file...those standard usage

EatSnakeWarrior

jtjt00,

lai lai, gai siao me the following:

1) Mobo for Core i7 cpu, similar to my previous Asus P5Q Pro. must have PCI-E slots ( I have two GPU )

2) moderate performance 4th gen core i7 cpu

3) DDR3, moderate performance

tell me the estimate price too

my usage, play strategy game like Romance of the three kingdom, Part 11 surf Internet, browse video, listen to mp3, use Office application, view PDF file...those standard usage

dont need i7 la bro :s13:

just get an i5 4570 + msi b85m g43 ~ 347

ykgoh

Bisco~

have you tried reset the cmos battery? did not work for me but may work for you.

foosoomin

thank you Mr goh,

I will upgrade to DDR3 version early next month.....

since I want to have wireless connectivity on the mobo too

wanna have the latest version/new generation CPU too

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.