Need help with secondary PC.

Dragoneral

I have a AX3960 with a spoiled heatsink fan.

I’ve replaced the inside with a GT720 and 850evo 500GB.

Can turn this into
1. secondary monitor for the main PC with the gt720+gt435m non-SLI (Main PC has RX480+g2460pf)
2. RAID game storage for the main PC
3. a replaced heatsink fan on this thing

riotpatriot

1. secondary monitor for the main PC with the gt720+gt435m non-SLI (Main PC has RX480+g2460pf)
2. RAID game storage for the main PC
3. a replaced heatsink fan on this thing

1. like run chrome on secondary PC while main PC game? can is can, but don't expect copy paste across PC or combine monitor from two PC for merge desktop, lol. is basically you using 2 PC at once :s22:
2. no RAID
3. can, but you see if worth keeping this PC first

Dragoneral

Paiseh! What I meant was:

I have 2 comps. 1st is the AX 3960 (parts replaced).
The second is my main PC. https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Dragoneral/saved/Vf8rHx

I can either replace the faulty heatsink fan and let my bro use the Acer aspire, an upgrade for a shitty laptop my parents are using...

Or I can strip down the PC and:
1. use the 3rd and 4th pci lanes on my main pc to use with the GPU and monitor to extend my main PC
2. use the acer’s 500gb to form a raid for my game/media storage
3. replace the faulty heatsink. I’ve breastfed his setup up until the point of almost registry editing. He may as well just use the PC since it’s there already.

riotpatriot

So clarify first:

1. is you want to bring the GT720 to your main com with the RX480
2. is you want to bring the original acer HDD over to your main comp to RAID with the SSD inside (RAID 1?)
3. is the rest of the Acer with the evo SSD and new heatsink give your bro

if correct:

1. not worth. some programs may not like, especially when your game fullscreen stretch between monitor on AMD/Nvidia GPU. plus especially when you use mid-end + low end card. usually game fullscreen only on one monitor will use primary monitor only, that one should be still ok.

2. aah this one your SSD write speed will be slowed by HDD. is can, but your SSD will live longer than your HDD. abit no point to use HDD to mirror when got SSD liao

3. can, but i think the GT720 give him sua. I see the 405m I abit want to cry sia

see what others say also

Dragoneral

All the storage mentioned are 850 evo SSDs, don’t worry. I have only used hard drives as primary backup storage.

I thank you for the input! I’m going to spend on a new fan as intel’s default ones are notoriously crap and see what I can help him with onwards from here. Have a nice day~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.