Need investment advices !!!

AppleStrudelMudPie

I'm a full time student with a moderate amount of savings. Both my parents aren't working anymore and I would like support my family through passive income together with my part time job. Thankfully, my school fees has been covered so I don need to earn a large sum. Anyone can advice ? Do note that I'm very new and have no experience whatsoever in investment or stocks so I would be more keen in advices that does not involve much risks as I'm using my savings. Thanks.

Sent from the deep that Adele is rolling in using GAGT

wahkao3

Right now i am 100% vested in stocks. no cash. but dont follow me blindly. Because I know what i am doing.

As a newbie, keep in bank deposit till market crash
after market crash, show hand everything into stock market, including CPF. anyhow buy also can huat. go for your favorite blue chips like singtel, smrt, starhub, ST Eng, Keppel Corp.

when market crash? I dunno. Its no where in sight.:o

wahkao3

and dont listen to those financial advisors, investment advisors, alternative investments. They will always tell you its the right time to invest. They sell mutual funds, unit trust with amazing projected returns. I guarantee you will not get anywhere near those returns. u will be lucky if you can get your capital back

AppleStrudelMudPie

coloumbiaGames

I'm a full time student with a moderate amount of savings. Both my parents aren't working anymore and I would like support my family through passive income together with my part time job. Thankfully, my school fees has been covered so I don need to earn a large sum. Anyone can advice ? Do note that I'm very new and have no experience whatsoever in investment or stocks so I would be more keen in advices that does not involve much risks as I'm using my savings. Thanks.

Sent from the deep that Adele is rolling in using GAGT
Ocbc 360 definitely a good start.

archcherub

wahkao3

i agree. make sure u have a few tens of thousands first.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/ocbc-360-account-4629515.html

keep an open mind, and start reading up a lot more..

prepare ur stock broker account first, and get use to do demo or at least understand what u want to do.
start from this thread?
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/*official*-shiny-things-club-4866757.html
let me help u by summarizing shiny thing's advise.
shiny advises newbies to dollar cost average. every month put in a part of your salary into a low cost index, such as vanguard fund for US, or STI ETF for singapore. and have a very long term approach.

platopus

Go posb and open the 1.88% Current acct saving acct now. Transfer half your funds imside this pseuso fixed deposit..
Profit!

linxiaobei

and dont listen to those financial advisors, investment advisors, alternative investments. They will always tell you its the right time to invest. They sell mutual funds, unit trust with amazing projected returns. I guarantee you will not get anywhere near those returns. u will be lucky if you can get your capital back

I agree to the above statement. Those are salesperson in another title, they want you to invest not for your benefit but their benefit. Unless you don't know how to invest and can't be bothered to try learning, then you can use their services.

havetheveryfun

Right now i am 100% vested in stocks. no cash. but dont follow me blindly. Because I know what i am doing.

As a newbie, keep in bank deposit till market crash
after market crash, show hand everything into stock market, including CPF. anyhow buy also can huat. go for your favorite blue chips like singtel, smrt, starhub, ST Eng, Keppel Corp.

when market crash? I dunno. Its no where in sight.:o

thought u haven't open CDP account

wahkao3

Unless you don't know how to invest and can't be bothered to try learning, then you can use their services.
dunno how to invest even worse, they eat u alive! :s13:

this is how i shoot down the financial advisors
=========================================

FA: what is your risk appetite?
me: I am low risk taker
FA: Ok, I recommend you bond mutual fund, the projected return is 2%
me: U siao ah! inflation already 5%. U only offer me 2%.
FA: Because your risk appetite is low risk, only mutual fund return 2% and very low risk.
me: I am looking for high return, low risk. Why you recommend me this kind of nonsense mid risk, low return product?
FA: In market no such thing as high return,low risk. High return will come with high risk
me: Then what for I need you? What is your value add? You are just going to stand in the way and suck commissions. If I want high return high risk, I can easily find it everywhere. I can go casino, even faster. if do not have any low risk high return products, dont waste my time.

archcherub

FA: Because your risk appetite is low risk, only mutual fund return 2% and very low risk.
me: I am looking for high return, low risk. Why you recommend me this kind of nonsense mid risk, low return product?
FA: In market no such thing as high return,low risk. High return will come with high risk
me: Then what for I need you? What is your value add? You are just going to stand in the way and suck commissions. If I want high return high risk, I can easily find it everywhere. I can go casino, even faster. if do not have any low risk high return products, dont waste my time.

bro if u got low risk high returns, PM me leh... i also wanna make sure i got enough money for CPF minimum sum...

friedpiggy

LOL.
U are so full of crap but really entertaining.

wahkao3

LOL.
U are so full of crap but really entertaining.
its not crap
low risk, high return is a fundamentals concept of investing.
if you cant follow this concept, i suggest not investing at all

econsmagic

Wahkao do make some sense though he tend not to elaborate. quite entertaining posts also

bankingnerd

AppleStrudelMudPie, may I suggest that perhaps you may wish to view your perceived risk appetite with relation to your understanding of the investments you are considering?

Reason I am saying this is because you may have noticed that in the recent years, 'so called' lower risk options (in the minds of Singaporeans specifically), such as Gold, Australian dollars, or even certain bonds, have in fact fallen a lot.

Ironically, it is the high risk instruments such as shares that have benefited.

If I may share some humble advice, if you were to consult any financial advisor and ask them for advice solely based on the supposed risk nature of the product, the advice may end up being irrelevant to the current markets and end up being detriment to you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.