need recommendations on rig

annoymous

Hi, intending to get a upgrade, will be playing games mostly dota2,csgo,bf4, maybe other newer games also. Budget is around $1.8K excluding monitor. :D

Asus b85 Plus w/ i5 4670 - $398 (not intending to oc also dont know what is raid.) after suggestion to change to i5 for gaming

PC3 1600 CORSAIR VENGENCE 8GB KIT (4gb*2) - $114 (can i add my kingston cl11 1600mhz from previous rig onto with this?)

SAMSUNG 250GB 840 EVO SSD - $255 (will be using my previous hitachi 500gb HDD for storage)

CORSAIR CS 550M 550W - (got a FSP aurum gold 80 plus 400W, dont know if can use for my new rig?)

not sure of what graphics card & casing to get, usually i play with my side panel off for better ventilation :D

windows 7 64bit

any shops in sls that provide assembly services? i dont know how to diy :s12:

thegamer1907

i7 4771 is overkill for gaming.
suggest you get a i5 cpu instead and channel the extra cash to the graphics card as gpu is more important in gaming. with 1.8k budget you probably can get a top tier graphics card (780Ti at ~1k or r9 290X ~ 800-900) with spare cash for i5 + mobo (~$400) and rams, psu and ssd

annoymous

i7 4771 is overkill for gaming.
suggest you get a i5 cpu instead and channel the extra cash to the graphics card as gpu is more important in gaming. with 1.8k budget you probably can get a top tier graphics card (780Ti at ~1k or r9 290X ~ 800-900) with spare cash for i5 + mobo (~$400) and rams, psu and ssd

does the HT on i7 make game stutter? i came across this post

"Today, for games a high-clocked quad-core i5 is better than i7 because i7 has HT which hinders gaming performance and also makes games stutter (no game except bfbc2 support HT and maybe even it stutters too). Also i5 is cheaper."

but i like to like surf my browser while playing games, wouldnt the HT on i7 make it smooth

if i get micro-atx, will the GFX be able to fit in? micro-atx looks cheaper and smaller also, and will it have any overheating issues

royfrosty

i want to get a comp that can last me longer for future apps also, i tend to open alot of applications at once and expect it to run smooth. The games i mostly play are only dota2 and csgo, haven't tried bf4 yet.

You probably do not read up more on a difference between an i5 and i7.

I7 has hyperthreading technologies. It is still a quad core processor just like an i5. Just that i5 do not have ht

In gaming you do not need the hyper threading. It does not boost much in gaming fps. The most single digit fps to 10fps. Rather you channel that $100++ on a stronger gpu that will eventually give you more performance gain.

royfrosty

does the HT on i7 make game stutter? i came across this post

"Today, for games a high-clocked quad-core i5 is better than i7 because i7 has HT which hinders gaming performance and also makes games stutter (no game except bfbc2 support HT and maybe even it stutters too). Also i5 is cheaper."

but i like to like surf my browser while playing games, wouldnt the HT on i7 make it smooth

There is nothing on browsing while playing game that will reduce your performance. And an i7 will not make it buttery. A ssd will help u better.

thegamer1907

eh? so you only play dota2 and csgo? if that is the case top tier gpus may be overkill as well.
yes, i7 makes no real improvement in gaming form an i5. as for alt tabbing out of games for surfing, modern cpus are capable of handling this easily, and this of course includes the i5.

the main usage for i7 is intensive photoshop editing, video processing, C4D illustrations or stock trading purposes

annoymous

You probably do not read up more on a difference between an i5 and i7.

I7 has hyperthreading technologies. It is still a quad core processor just like an i5.

In gaming you do not need the hyper threading. It does not boost much in gaming fps. The most single digit fps to 10fps. Rather you channel that $100++ on a stronger gpu that will eventually give you more performance gain.

yea still a noob here, seems like for my use, i can get a lower price one lol

eh? so you only play dota2 and csgo? if that is the case top tier gpus may be overkill as well.
yes, i7 makes no real improvement in gaming form an i5. as for alt tabbing out of games for surfing, modern cpus are capable of handling this easily, and this of course includes the i5.

the main usage for i7 is intensive photoshop editing, video processing, C4D illustrations or stock trading purposes

ok, will just get a i5 but i am intending to get a better gpu for future games also, which i most likely will be playing love fps games..is 770gtx enough? i usually play games at medium/low settings..

shadow84

Go for 280x.. cheaper and perform in the same lvl as 770.

As for your PSU, do get a quality brand. The corsair CS is low end de. Get seasonic G650.

As for your ssd, do get it from amazon. Can save $80 or so.

What is the specs of your kingston rams? It would be good to get same rams so as to prevent any conflicts. Same mhz is most impt.

Jian19

i5-4570 + Msi b85m g43 ~ $347
Kingston 8gb ddr3 ~ $98
Crucial m500 240gb ssd ~ $150 (amazon) or Kingston v300 240gb ~ $199 (local)
Hdd reuse
Msi 280x gaming ~ $485
Samsung oem drive ~ $21
Corsair RM 650w 80+ gold ~ $159
Corsair 540 ~ $170 or Fractal design arc midi r2
Win7 64 oem ~ $115

$1545 buy and DIY @ tradepac ask for discount. Can bring to gs shop ask him help u assemble @ a fee

Or go pctheme or mynextcom to buy but pay a little more $ ~

annoymous

Go for 280x.. cheaper and perform in the same lvl as 770.

As for your PSU, do get a quality brand. The corsair CS is low end de. Get seasonic G650.

As for your ssd, do get it from amazon. Can save $80 or so.

What is the specs of your kingston rams? It would be good to get same rams so as to prevent any conflicts. Same mhz is most impt.

i5-4570 + Msi b85m g43 ~ $347
Kingston 8gb ddr3 ~ $98
Crucial m500 240gb ssd ~ $150 (amazon) or Kingston v300 240gb ~ $199 (local)
Hdd reuse
Msi 280x gaming ~ $485
Samsung oem drive ~ $21
Corsair RM 650w 80+ gold ~ $159
Corsair 540 ~ $170 or Fractal design arc midi r2
Win7 64 oem ~ $115

$1545 buy and DIY @ tradepac ask for discount. Can bring to gs shop ask him help u assemble @ a fee

Or go pctheme or mynextcom to buy but pay a little more $ ~

ok noted, but i think most likely i will just get from the ssd from local, dont really know how to buy things online :D the corsair 540 like quite big, i can use my dvd writer from previous rig also
i think i will get the fractal casing instead. Yea will get from tradepac as suggested, good prices lol
is GS shop open like normal shop hours?

shadow84

ok noted, but i think most likely i will just get from the ssd from local, dont really know how to buy things online :D the corsair 540 like quite big, i can use my dvd writer from previous rig also
i think i will get the fractal casing instead. Yea will get from tradepac as suggested, good prices lol
is GS shop open like normal shop hours?

Just make account with amazon, put ur sg address and buy the item. input your cc details and pay for it.. nothing too difficult.

As for GS shop, pm him if he is open on xx day.

Do note for tradepac, they may not have certain items. Dun kena swayed to getting other stuff they recommend. and try to bargain, although dun lowball them a lot.

annoymous

Just make account with amazon, put ur sg address and buy the item. input your cc details and pay for it.. nothing too difficult.

As for GS shop, pm him if he is open on xx day.

Do note for tradepac, they may not have certain items. Dun kena swayed to getting other stuff they recommend. and try to bargain, although dun lowball them a lot.

alright, thanks alot, no cc here so will still go get from local :s12:i think the item he suggested confirm out of stock sia, all the good price items

royfrosty

The only problem you will have is finding the r9 280x.

Go walk around and find.

shadow84

alright, thanks alot, no cc here so will still go get from local :s12:i think the item he suggested confirm out of stock sia, all the good price items

Debit card also can... can try ask tradepac pull stocks frm other stores. if not, go walk ard and see which shop gt the r9 280x and hw many left. Then go to tradepac and get rig w/o gpu. Den ownself install gpu. Not that hard.

royfrosty

i read from your previous post that msi mobo with msi gfx card better right? can have the boost

There is a features and software that you can download and use together. Like VGA Boost and the small gaming apps like help you OC, gaming or silent operation.

Can also monitor straight the temps on the apps widget on screen also.

annoymous

Debit card also can... can try ask tradepac pull stocks frm other stores. if not, go walk ard and see which shop gt the r9 280x and hw many left. Then go to tradepac and get rig w/o gpu. Den ownself install gpu. Not that hard.

like that amazon will send to my house or jus put letter box or collection? sry suaku here =:p

annoymous

actually if i am just playing dota 2 and csgo,

right now my rig is amd fx 4100 and 5770, perhaps i just upgrade my gpu to something like to gtx670 and maybe get a SSD, i am using M5A97 PRO motherboard, can just plug in right? i just want better frame rates :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.