need some cooling advice.

gunblakes

Hi guys,

my PC is not those high roller PC, but im looking to do some tweaking to it.

currently im running

LGA1366 i920 (2.6Mhz) i7 core.
H60 Cosair Heatsink
Mobo: Gigabyte - EX58-ud3r
GPU : MSI GTX 550 TI Cyclone

although is a old comp, its still in good condition as i change some parts regularly.

At full Load, my card is generating at 65degree(although not very high) but due to the nature of SG weather and me seldom on Air-con.. my room gets a little too warm to bear.

so im seeking some advice to actually cool down my PC as a whole. i know there are water cooling units out there, but im a total nuts about it,

please guide me~~

i have about 800 Budget to do some upgrades of any kind. (i know my core is the oldest i7 core around) but i would appreciate if the upgrade can actually cool my CPU down..

Thanks ! Thanks!

tony_ong

actually ur graphic card is lower than mine when i play dota2. my reach close to 70 degrees and processor about 63 degrees

gunblakes

haha. i know my system is actually very cooling liaoz. but my room small. + SG heat. #@$ Combo.

my Room become too hot, i play game i also sweating.... den i become very pekcek and hot tempered... den lose game. >_<

tony_ong

hahas use fan to blow directly at you lo. thats what i always do.
maybe improve your room ventilation helps more in cooling the room down ba..

xkiller213

move your comp further away from you lor... then run longer wires for your kb, mouse and screen...

gunblakes

my comp alr shifted near to the window already. but still warm. + fan blowing at my face whenever im at the comp. maybe i shud invest in a small fan to blow the hotair out of the room via the window..

dawntime

Which part of sg you live in? I play games also need fan blow directly at me. Won't feel warm and sweat until I need to actually communicate with others in game verbally then my fan must stop blowing at me Liao. That's when it becomes unbearable. My rig just beside me :O

gunblakes

Which part of sg you live in? I play games also need fan blow directly at me. Won't feel warm and sweat until I need to actually communicate with others in game verbally then my fan must stop blowing at me Liao. That's when it becomes unbearable. My rig just beside me :O

i stayed at Aljunied Area. my Room is facing North.. not even WEST or EAST.. (if its west, maybe i would have gotten a Water cooling 5 years ago-:s13:)

so no body has a better suggestion? gahaha. or maybe the pros have yet to off work.. >_<

gunblakes

does changing my processor and mobo actually helps?

(old ppl mind set) - old stuff generally more heaty.

dinosau4

IMHO, the heat generated will be still generated(and circulated), even you spend more money on cooling, the air circulation will only cool down your comp but not your room.

if you're looking to just cool your PC, a good chassis and Directed air flow fans will help ;)

Maybe old stuff (due to wear and tear) will generate slightly more heat but i think in your case it is insignificant.

gunblakes

IMHO, the heat generated will be still generated(and circulated), even you spend more money on cooling, the air circulation will only cool down your comp but not your room.

if you're looking to just cool your PC, a good chassis and Directed air flow fans will help ;)

Maybe old stuff (due to wear and tear) will generate slightly more heat but i think in your case it is insignificant.

okay. so what chassis u recommend and what is the general accepted Air Flow fans ?

dinosau4

Chassis varies from person to person, but most of the people will recommend corsair, sharkoon ,NZXT and some of the coolermasters.

Good fans such as GT(Scythe's Gentle Typhoon) Arctic Case Fans, Silverstone Air penetration series are all considered good fans :p

gunblakes

Chassis varies from person to person, but most of the people will recommend corsair, sharkoon ,NZXT and some of the coolermasters.

Good fans such as GT(Scythe's Gentle Typhoon) Arctic Case Fans, Silverstone Air penetration series are all considered good fans :p

okayy. i will look those up.! thanks so much!!!

are there any other second opinions out there? hahaha

the more the merry.~!:s13::s13:

Andread

what case are you using? the coolermaster HAF XM is a very well built and cooling case, if not, phantom 410, corsair obsidian series are good too. just compare features and price. you won't go wrong with any of them.

just try changing your case first and check the temp, after that slowly change the fans. no need to one shot dump all into case+fan+controller the whole package.

when i game my system is consistent below 60c (non-aircon) . cpu, ram and gpu overclocked.

ordway

ummm... bro, I think you're missing something.

Making your computer cooler by adding a water cooling system or changing the chassis will not cool down your room temp which is what you're complaining about.

Conservation of energy. The lower the temp of your computer, the faster heat will be dissipated to the computer's environment. That means by employing better/more efficient cooling on your CPU and graphics card, more hot air will be circulated into your room.

Watercooling and better case airflow is not going to magically make energy disappear. The only way you're going to decrease overall temp of the room without changing the system is to have the heat exchanger (be it radiator or whatnot) blowing outside your room.

Simpler solution as others have mentioned, have a room fan blowing on you. If not strong enough, get a vornado or dyson fan if you don't want aircon.

Don't want you to end up spending hundreds on cooling than realize your room is getting hotter!

gunblakes

ummm... bro, I think you're missing something.

Making your computer cooler by adding a water cooling system or changing the chassis will not cool down your room temp which is what you're complaining about.

Conservation of energy. The lower the temp of your computer, the faster heat will be dissipated to the computer's environment. That means by employing better/more efficient cooling on your CPU and graphics card, more hot air will be circulated into your room.

Watercooling and better case airflow is not going to magically make energy disappear. The only way you're going to decrease overall temp of the room without changing the system is to have the heat exchanger (be it radiator or whatnot) blowing outside your room.

Simpler solution as others have mentioned, have a room fan blowing on you. If not strong enough, get a vornado or dyson fan if you don't want aircon.

Don't want you to end up spending hundreds on cooling than realize your room is getting hotter!

u actually made a good point here!! hahaha. i might consider a cooler fan.

Thanks!!

gunblakes

what case are you using? the coolermaster HAF XM is a very well built and cooling case, if not, phantom 410, corsair obsidian series are good too. just compare features and price. you won't go wrong with any of them.

just try changing your case first and check the temp, after that slowly change the fans. no need to one shot dump all into case+fan+controller the whole package.

when i game my system is consistent below 60c (non-aircon) . cpu, ram and gpu overclocked.

er... some Case from CoolerMaster... not a very well known case. so yea...

dawntime

Leave your fridge open and put it right at the back of your fan :s13:

But seriously you can only lower the warm air temperature by changing components within your chassis. A new case won't help as it does nothing besides cooling your components and pushing them out to your room instead. Either change your components or adjust to a way that the warm air gets pumped out of your room, than having it circulating in circles or squares.

Edit: ordway quicker than me :o

tony_ong

wa. urs really cool sia. mine all stock when game also over 60 degree for sure

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.