Need some info for SCDF:)

xbearbishopx

Hi guys,

Recently i just go my letter saying that i will be heading to SCDF.. I am a poly graduate with quite a decent GPA i would say and with a napfa result gold~
:/ wanted to go navy but ended up in SCDF :/ can anyone enlighten me how is the SCDF life and how is the procedure in progressing of ranks in SCDF? and what would i do in SCDF after rescue training?

thanks!

reddevil0728

So what if you are a poly grad with quite a decent GPA and NAPFA Gold??

How is that related to your qns?

NWT1978

Both I guess? I heard to go to sgt u need to have diploma?

why u need to become sgt?

it better to be low profile... then got less things / responsibilities to do...

unless u like scdf? if so, go sign on...

xbearbishopx

why u need to become sgt?

it better to be low profile... then got less things / responsibilities to do...

unless u like scdf? if so, go sign on...

Lol I don't like SCDF though. But still I am those ppl that will work hard still as long I have to perform... Well if wanted to sign on would have sign on the scholarship for navy lol.. They keep sending me scholarship for officer base on my poly results and sports background I suppose but I rejected it cause I don't want to have a bond holding me haha
Need to have challenges in live else it will be boring :/

reddevil0728

Lol I don't like SCDF though. But still I am those ppl that will work hard still as long I have to perform... Well if wanted to sign on would have sign on the scholarship for navy lol.. They keep sending me scholarship for officer base on my poly results and sports background I suppose but I rejected it cause I don't want to have a bond holding me haha
Why u dun like SCDF?

there's a difference between AWARD and SCHOLARSHIP.

NS_han

If you want challenges dont worry. there will be plenty of challenges in the fire side.

Having a diploma will help your chances if you want to be a section commander. but it is not a guarantee. Also attaining a gold for napha helps. But when you put on the bunker gear and BA on in the afternoon sun for the first time, whether you are gold, silver or pass it does not matter. After 10 mins i can tell you, all will be thinking about falling out. In the end it is your mental strength that pushes you on. From experience, those that fall out are usually the 'fitter' ones.

mgx-alander

act blur live longer

if u want siao on then become firefighter.. then maybe u will regret :s13:

Franzz

Hi guys,

Recently i just go my letter saying that i will be heading to SCDF.. I am a poly graduate with quite a decent GPA i would say and with a napfa result gold~
:/ wanted to go navy but ended up in SCDF :/ can anyone enlighten me how is the SCDF life and how is the procedure in progressing of ranks in SCDF? and what would i do in SCDF after rescue training?

thanks!

After Basic Rescue, those PES A/B with no criminal record will to CDA and go for fire training as Firefighters (3 months) or Sect Comdr (6 months).

If got poly diploma and fit, high chance go to SCC but no guarantee. If suay suay your batch alot of regulars sign on in that period, then lan lan hv to go Firefighter.

If somehow you dont get chosen for front line duties, then will go to other voc such as Provost, Infocomms, Clerks.

My life in SCDF was shiat as a recruit (as expected), but after go to CDA slack abit although the discipline there more strict.

My advise to you is to keep your fitness at tip top condition and start to do weight training.

Franzz

If go SCDF pls don't slack or give ppl that impression. Simi low profile do lesser etc. You low profile lepak one corner doesn't make the fire less hot. And I can assure you the regulars there are more on that the most siao-on trainee who is trying to impress the instructors.

I was on office hours but used to go camp very early during NS. But every other day, I will see senior officers running around the camp at 6am liao. All the Marathon fanatics, Iron Man kakis, Triathlon wannabes all inside.

xbearbishopx

After Basic Rescue, those PES A/B with no criminal record will to CDA and go for fire training as Firefighters (3 months) or Sect Comdr (6 months).

If got poly diploma and fit, high chance go to SCC but no guarantee. If suay suay your batch alot of regulars sign on in that period, then lan lan hv to go Firefighter.

If somehow you dont get chosen for front line duties, then will go to other voc such as Provost, Infocomms, Clerks.

My life in SCDF was shiat as a recruit (as expected), but after go to CDA slack abit although the discipline there more strict.

My advise to you is to keep your fitness at tip top condition and start to do weight training.

:) thanks for the info :D haha well i am still training regularly :) haha i am also a lifesaving instructor :p and training new lifeguards :) was an ex school swimmer :) currently still training competitively~ i really wish that SCDF :p can give me some thrill else very sianz after i train so much give me admin all this haha!

xbearbishopx

If you want challenges dont worry. there will be plenty of challenges in the fire side.

Having a diploma will help your chances if you want to be a section commander. but it is not a guarantee. Also attaining a gold for napha helps. But when you put on the bunker gear and BA on in the afternoon sun for the first time, whether you are gold, silver or pass it does not matter. After 10 mins i can tell you, all will be thinking about falling out. In the end it is your mental strength that pushes you on. From experience, those that fall out are usually the 'fitter' ones.

icic :) thanks! haha! hopefully get selected :/ dont wish to get admin stuff

Franzz

Good thing about scdf is everyone knows each other. I'm not sure about now, but at least under me, I can fight for my trainees posting all the way to hq.

I have seen some of my mates getting to their desired vocation despite being chosen for another. My BRT OC was that good. (Not applicable to fire training cos apparently they have first option on all the trainees)

So I recommend you angkat some bola, will help you get to your desired vocation. If possible, go for instructor roles in CDA as Firefighters instructors or SCC instructors (but not NSTI instructors hor, those are boring).

If you like swimming, request for PTI become swimming lesson instructor cum lifeguards there.

Tactfully ask if got ppl ORDing soon or not, if got vacancy and you are on good terms if the instructors, high chance get in.

Franzz

icic :) thanks! haha! hopefully get selected :/ dont wish to get admin stuff
Admin not bad also if you get in the right place.

SCDF is under HomeTeam, which is under MHA, which houses the PMO.

I have a few friends who got jobs as Foreign Liaison Officers; office hours, office attire, lunch outside and get to know important people.

One guy bring along his photo portfolio to camp, OC fight for him and send him off as a photographer with MHA Press team.

xbearbishopx

Good thing about scdf is everyone knows each other. I'm not sure about now, but at least under me, I can fight for my trainees posting all the way to hq.

I have seen some of my mates getting to their desired vocation despite being chosen for another. My BRT OC was that good. (Not applicable to fire training cos apparently they have first option on all the trainees)

So I recommend you angkat some bola, will help you get to your desired vocation. If possible, go for instructor roles in CDA as Firefighters instructors or SCC instructors (but not NSTI instructors hor, those are boring).

If you like swimming, request for PTI become swimming lesson instructor cum lifeguards there.

Tactfully ask if got ppl ORDing soon or not, if got vacancy and you are on good terms if the instructors, high chance get in.

haha alright! :) thanks :D lol.. got 1 of my friend who is serving SCDF as a fireman now ;x well he tell me base on my fitness level i should in fireman lol.. haha hopefully i get smth i wan! haha

falcrux

I'm currently serving my first year of NS, currently in ops management. Although the work here is not physical, we go to see a side of government service that many will never have the chance to see. However , these vocations are often reserved for those who posses a poly diploma at the very least, having a criminal record or visible tattoos will also rule you out. The training that you will go through if you get selected to 'crossover' to CDA will be much more 'siong' than what most other NSFs will experience, its also extremely fun, the course is 2 months long for fire fighters and 4 months for section commanders.

P.S. There are two ways to get sgt, either through the section commander course or through the vocational section commander course. Despite possessing similar names they are completely different in purpose and curriculum.

If you want to find out more, I'll be happy to help. Just shoot me a pm.

NS_han

The training that you will go through if you get selected to 'crossover' to CDA will be much more 'siong' than what most other NSFs will experience, its also extremely fun, the course is 2 months long for fire fighters and 4 months for section commanders.

They changed the training for section commanders from 6 months to 4 months!?!?:eek:

i already think 6 months is too short to prepare you for the responsibilities of a sect com.

falcrux

They changed the training for section commanders from 6 months to 4 months!?!?:eek:

i already think 6 months is too short to prepare you for the responsibilities of a sect com.

They have already been thinking about it for a long time, it was only confirmed a few months ago though. Not too sure when they are going to start implementing it, either with the next batch or the batch after.

Well, I feel the same way, 6 months is way too short luckily you would normally be in the same truck as a warrant officer that is supposed to take you under his wing and guide you so you won't actually do doing much 'commanding' in that sense.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.