Need some MDES career advices!

bibu00

Hello! Im current a aero engineering final year poly student now with a GPA of 3.8.
I signed on with RSAF as a ME air force engineer since year 1. I have to serve out my bond of 4+2 years as a spec ME after graduation.

A little background info about myself is that i hate office/admin work and im those type of people who dont mind getting my hands dirty doing hands on work. I just cannot tolerate sitting still infront of a computer for 8 hours (i tried, i had 2 industrial attachment one is admin type paper warrior asst engineer(6 months of hell), one is skill training for aircraft engineer(6 weeks of heaven)

So i got some advice that since my physical fitness is not bad, and my results assures me a uni placing in NTU/SIT. There will be a good chance i can upgrade my study award to a university one and i can be upgraded to serve my bond as a ME-4.
However i heard that the life of a ME-4 is my personal nightmare. Office desk, computer, managing, NATO 8-5. (p.s. i know this might be heaven to some people. this is my personal opinion only)

But the pay scale of a OFFR and a SPEC is almost a deal breaker.

Im caught in a dilemma if i should just remain as a airforce senior tech, or do my best to try to get to MDES OCS.

Would like to hear from some regulars in the airforce on your opinion.
Right now if TL:DR
Satki ME4 VS ME1
$4k+ $2k+
Job scope might be personal nightmare VS Interest
Money vs interest.
6 years bond. Possible 10 years if ME4

Disclaimer: Opinions of office worker is really personal opinion.
Wake up 6, take shuttle bus to work compound, wait for lunch, end work, go home, sleep. Buay tahan that lifestyle. See nothing from inside your cubicle (maybe gf photo). everyday hear printer machine KPKB. At the end of year see profit of company from the chart, comment "wah buay pai" go back cubical, repeat.
VS a/c engineer.
Face lots of ****, hard work in hanger, move non stop. hands get drenched in oil/fuel/whatever.
End of repair sign off, take a heaven rest, see plane take off. If plane no explode, feel ultimate sense of satisfaction. morale + 99999999999999999 knowing you did a good job. Lim finish kopi, repeat.

Makunouchi_Ippo

My personal opinion from what i see now , was an aft

ME1 job scope : 60% work 40% paperwork
ME4 job scope : 60-80% paperwork , 20-40% meeting and etc

Since you already bonded , might as well just take the 20k serve 4 yr and zao....

or you got the $ can break bond cuz its might be too boring for ya :s13:

For me , after serving ns , i realize job satisfaction is very impt to me rather than $...cuz $ can only give temp happiness....might take away those words of mine when i get older...hoho xD

bibu00

My personal opinion from what i see now , was an aft

ME1 job scope : 60% work 40% paperwork
ME4 job scope : 60-80% paperwork , 20-40% meeting and etc

Since you already bonded , might as well just take the 20k serve 4 yr and zao....

or you got the $ can break bond cuz its might be too boring for ya :s13:

Thanks for response! :D
but but but, if i use ahgong money go for degree, solid titanium rice bowl leh

Makunouchi_Ippo

Thanks for response! :D
but but but, if i use ahgong money go for degree, solid titanium rice bowl leh

Quite a stable job la i feel but too boring for my character...i prefer life with more challenges......

Would you like a more $ job but everyday dreading of going to work OR average pay but the workplace suits you.....

To me $ is never enough , as long can feed my hobby good enuff liao...I am young & single so I still can say this but might be different if i got commitments.... :s13:

and again another thing is that if you are not scholar type ...promotion will be slower

ahkeong

lol me1 always kena kan very badly in my camp. me4 no one actually dare to touch one

at least that is for my side

bibu00

woo okok, i understand, will not trouble you haha.
Will you pick money over interest?

chehjin

are you interested in the aerospace in general or must be in airforce?

i know you are thinking about hands on and what not but you have to be practical. if you are studying for a degree and if u are not in the force, do you think outside they will hire you to be tech?

if you ask me, get your degree and get ME4 study award if you want to remain in the force.

after your bond, you can go back to be a on the grounds technician outside, but no way can you be a engineer or ME4 going the reverse way.

keep your options open...

bibu00

Yeah actually dont have to be in the force. A licensed aircraft engineer servicing planes in SIA earns 8-12k a month.
Last time can poly holder, 2012 change rule degree holder only.

Successor.

ME4 is a graduate level job of course pay higher then a ME1. You are obviously not comparing apple to apple.

And ME4 is mostly paper work and meetings. Maybe but self only you can go on site to check but that's about it.

bibu00

Thanks for your reply.
Im comparing between a job i believe will pay high but i will hate doing VS a job that pays lower but i will enjoy.

Successor.

I agree with what many say here. Please sign on as ME4.

ME1 may seem interesting to you as it is more hands on and on the ground. But after awhile you will find that there are just so much redtape and politics that you are better off as an officer aka ME4...

if you want ME1 just because you enjoy, font bother getting a degree, cause its of no use. If you want up convert, give up that thought. Converting from ME1 to ME4 is much much harder then signing on as ME4 straight.

bibu00

Really? its very rare to convert to ME4 from sign on as ME1 ah?
even with uni placing?

Successor.

It's not rare but you have to depend on your CO recommendation as well as positions available.

It's not that easy as it becomes more then looking at your academic results. It becomes more of like whether your superiors think you are up there as well as your peer/superior appraisal.

Anyway how are you going to study full time while working as a ME4? Unless you get scholarship and unit releases you officially for studies, it's not going to be possible.

If you don't trust me, haha, you will become one of the ME1 in my unit who has a placing in local uni. He is still deciding AFTER TWO YEARS whether or not to give up his bond to become NSF again and compensate or just continue as ME1.

j_t_fusion

technically, you cannot actually convert from ME1 to ME4.

i got friend is ME1 in air force so based on what he told me...

got no such thing as a conversion course for ME1 to take in order to become ME4. you have to go through the entire ME4 course just like as if you just sign on. your rank will become ME4-T (ie. trainee rank / OCT rank) and will draw ME4-T pay.

and you need your superior's recommendation in order to go for the ME4 course. once he recommends, 99.99% chance will get in and if you got any bonds remaining, it will be carried forward over to when you become ME4.

alternatively if your superiors don't want to recommend you, you can quit/break bond and go through the standard SAF regulars recruitment process but there is no guarantee SAF will want you again.

btw, AFE got a number of "sub-vocations".

some specialise in fighter jet's frame, some in the engine, some in electronics.
some specialise in fixed wing plane's (eg. C130) frame, some in the engine, some in electronics.
some specialise in helicopter's frame, some in the engine, some in electronics.

even as a regular, you can't exactly choose what you want to specialise in. it depends on which area need more people at the moment.

bibu00

Hello, i am aware of that. Even if i have to go 1x MEscs and 1x MEocs i dont mind.

Kyoji83

After your Poly course, you are bond to serve as ME1 without the option of studying a degree first.

However let assume you are able to study Uni first & cross over to ME4 scheme. How many years of bond you needs to serve for Poly & Uni? It will be about 10 - 12 years excluding your days in Poly & Uni. Are you ok to be tight down by bond for this long duration of time?

If you start as ME1, you may not have the time to study part time Uni or have the motivation to study Uni after you have ORD.

I am unable to compare in aerospace industry since it is government related however a ME1 (Automotive/Electronics/etc) do not really do that much of practical work compare to a Technician in private sector. I personally feel that ME1 job weightage will be 50% meeting/briefing, 30% paper work & 20% practical work (including supervising NSF & Junior ME1). To add on once you become a ME3 (3WO) & above, you will be doing Officer job which will have a lot of paper work too which you will not like it.

Hello! Im current a aero engineering final year poly student now with a GPA of 3.8.
I signed on with RSAF as a ME air force engineer since year 1. I have to serve out my bond of 4+2 years as a spec ME after graduation.

A little background info about myself is that i hate office/admin work and im those type of people who dont mind getting my hands dirty doing hands on work. I just cannot tolerate sitting still infront of a computer for 8 hours (i tried, i had 2 industrial attachment one is admin type paper warrior asst engineer(6 months of hell), one is skill training for aircraft engineer(6 weeks of heaven)

So i got some advice that since my physical fitness is not bad, and my results assures me a uni placing in NTU/SIT. There will be a good chance i can upgrade my study award to a university one and i can be upgraded to serve my bond as a ME-4.
However i heard that the life of a ME-4 is my personal nightmare. Office desk, computer, managing, NATO 8-5. (p.s. i know this might be heaven to some people. this is my personal opinion only)

But the pay scale of a OFFR and a SPEC is almost a deal breaker.

Im caught in a dilemma if i should just remain as a airforce senior tech, or do my best to try to get to MDES OCS.

Would like to hear from some regulars in the airforce on your opinion.
Right now if TL:DR
Satki ME4 VS ME1
$4k+ $2k+
Job scope might be personal nightmare VS Interest
Money vs interest.
6 years bond. Possible 10 years if ME4

Disclaimer: Opinions of office worker is really personal opinion.
Wake up 6, take shuttle bus to work compound, wait for lunch, end work, go home, sleep. Buay tahan that lifestyle. See nothing from inside your cubicle (maybe gf photo). everyday hear printer machine KPKB. At the end of year see profit of company from the chart, comment "wah buay pai" go back cubical, repeat.
VS a/c engineer.
Face lots of ****, hard work in hanger, move non stop. hands get drenched in oil/fuel/whatever.
End of repair sign off, take a heaven rest, see plane take off. If plane no explode, feel ultimate sense of satisfaction. morale + 99999999999999999 knowing you did a good job. Lim finish kopi, repeat.

Successor.

ME1 doesn't do much of briefing or meeting...it is the ME4 who does it..ME1 is mostly on the ground, with some relevant paper work...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.