need some recommandations for DIY

bwaysaigan

thinking of buying a new desktop but dunno what to go for
- problem is dunno how to troubleshoot or build or assemble.

looking for something that doesn't scream "i am a desktop"

DIY @ SLS or straight buy aftershock aio PC better?

have to set budget 2.7k include monitor and OS
(similar to this aftershock aio pc pricing)

PC SHOW / CEE 2017 PROMOTION : Free Trend Micro Anti Virus
Warranty (Desktop) : 2 Years Parts Warranty (1st Year ONSITE)
Desktop Processor : Intel® Core™ i7-7700 3.60 GHz Kaby Lake Processor (8M Cache, up to 4.20 GHz)
Display (NEXT AIO) : 32" 60hz QHD Display (2560 x1440) with 100% SRGB
Thermal Compound : IC Diamond Thermal Compound CPU (Free Lifetime Thermal Compound Re-pasting)
Graphics Card (IMPULSE and NEXT) : NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5 GDDR5
Memory (RAM) : 16GB DDR4 2400mhz (2x8)
Solid State Drive (Desktop) : 120GB WD SSD (530 Read, 430 Write speeds) *M.2 Version*
First Hard Drive (Desktop) : TOSHIBA 1TB 3.5 INCH HDD (Buffer Size 32MB)
Wifi - NEXT AND IMPULSE : 802.11ac WiFi (2.4G / 5G WiFi) With Bluetooth 4.0
Operating System : Windows 10 Home 64 Bit

bwaysaigan

looking at either desktop or labtop - since long time never do desktop
so think maybe now is time to do desktop.

bwaysaigan

i not sure but i anyhow hantum from pricelist as follows:

total 2921 from cymbermind price list may 2017

mobo chip
asus b150i pro gaming/aura - core i77000k - $716

ram
ddr4 2400 cl15 gskill 8tb + 8tb - 89 x 2 = 178

ssd for windows
Wd green ssd 240gb - 129

hdd for storage
toshiba 4tb 7200/128mb x 2 - 199 x 2 = 398

gfx
asus strix gtx 1060 6gb dual fan - 439

sound
asus strix soar 7.1 - 159

power supply
corsair tx850m (850w) semi m 7 yr - 219

os
windows 10 pro 64 bit dvd oem - 205

dvdrw
asus 24x sata dvdrw - 25

casing
fractal design node 804 - 149

display
lg led 27mp59vq - 329 (anyhow plug one)
any idea what display got speakers?

forget to add dvdrw

dgenex

DIY is cheaper, but do note that if parts spoil in the future have to troubleshoot and RMA yourself.

If I'm not wrong Aftershock got on-site warranty for 1 year and 2 year carry-in or something like that.

Recommend you DIY of course, its not too difficult:s22:

mobo chip

ram

ssd for windows
Wd green ssd 240gb - 129

hdd for storage

gfx

sound

power supply

os

casing

display

If not overclocking no need k processor.
Samsung/PNY SSD over WD Green
I'm not sure about reliability of Toshiba HDD as well. If I'm not wrong warranty quite short, can get WD Blue
Get a 1070 instead of 1060 6GB
Power Supply get 550-650W enough
OS can get from Carousell for <$20
Dell Ultrasharp series quite solid for Monitor

What is your usage for the desktop though? And are aesthetics/size important?

This info can help others recommend more suitable build

bwaysaigan

DIY is cheaper, but do note that if parts spoil in the future have to troubleshoot and RMA yourself.

If I'm not wrong Aftershock got on-site warranty for 1 year and 2 year carry-in or something like that.

Recommend you DIY of course, its not too difficult:s22:

If not overclocking no need k processor.
Samsung/PNY SSD over WD Green
I'm not sure about reliability of Toshiba HDD as well. If I'm not wrong warranty quite short, can get WD Blue
Get a 1070 instead of 1060 6GB
Power Supply get 550-650W enough
OS can get from Carousell for <$20
Dell Ultrasharp series quite solid for Monitor

What is your usage for the desktop though? And are aesthetics/size important?

This info can help others recommend more suitable build
tks for the advice. honestly i really no idea what parts i choose got what special effect.
i just browse thru the price list and hantum only.

1st off - don't know how to trouble shoot or assemble. thus not looking to buy separate items from here there everywhere. looking to buy 1 off everything assemble and use.

2nd - looking for pleasant looking desktop - am avoiding those casing that is tall and rectangular block with side window n neon disco light. will only touch the desktop to off/on and take out dvd

3rd - desktop is to replace current labtop. which has been using for the past 6 years.
surf net download play some games - last game i played was tropico 5,
did not manage to play new games as my labtop cmi. may buy watchdogs 2 if new machine can take it.

looks and size - quite important.

browsing some casings - if possible would like something that is similar to this.
A488A5C1D2B34FCDACEBA2E9BF5FF28C.ashx

spiky0180

Your budget of 2.7k can do many things and definitely build a rig that can support watch dogs.

So you will need a rig that can play games and surf net. Not intending to overclock.

For casing, size is important. You will need to decide upfront if you want itx (smallest) matx or atx. This will affect your motherboard of choice and possibly other components.

From what you mentioned, you also need a monitor. Any idea if you want to game at full HD (1080p) or qhd (1440p).

And if diy everything get from shop and they assemble for you?

produde1999

For starters, choose pc parts based on your intended usage, which we dk

mobo chip

ram

ssd for windows
Wd green ssd 240gb - 129

hdd for storage

gfx

sound

power supply

os

dvdrw
asus 24x sata dvdrw - 25

casing

display

forget to add dvdrw
That 8tb+8tb ram tho :D

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

bwaysaigan

Your budget of 2.7k can do many things and definitely build a rig that can support watch dogs.

So you will need a rig that can play games and surf net. Not intending to overclock.

For casing, size is important. You will need to decide upfront if you want itx (smallest) matx or atx. This will affect your motherboard of choice and possibly other components.

From what you mentioned, you also need a monitor. Any idea if you want to game at full HD (1080p) or qhd (1440p).

And if diy everything get from shop and they assemble for you?
the 2.7k budget i put is set basis the aftershock aio PC price. [similar price i have to pay for aftershock PC i dont diy]

for me is simple - turn on/off play game surf net downloads, machine suffciently capable to play any game currently on market without me hesitating to think of
any issues of not up to standard. [something like buy ps4, no need head pain think
whether PC can take the game specs arnot]

casing - if possible something similar to the one i stated upstairs - color anything also can as long as no disco lights. chio casing quite important for me. nothing tall n blocky.

display just need a big screen, if i pay 2700 buy aftershock one, i get a 32inch display but dunno if is uhd qhd fhd like u mentioned, i see DIY parts i no see any 32inch displays
Display (NEXT AIO) : 32" 60hz QHD Display (2560 x1440) with 100% SRGB,

DIY if have to do it - prefer one stop do pay collect same day.

bwaysaigan

bwaysaigan

For starters, choose pc parts based on your intended usage, which we dk

That 8tb+8tb ram tho :D

primary usage - hope the PC can behave maciam PS4.
turn on/off easily, can surf net, download - stream music videos / etc,
buy game can install and play without thinking of whether the machine specs can make it or not [well at least for the games released in 2017 upto now.]

16tb ram - overkill or underpower?
i have no idea what parts to choose at all, is primarily hantum from cybermind price list all the parts pricing.

i am open for any good recommendations which may well fall below the budget and still can function well for my standards.

produde1999

the 2.7k budget i put is set basis the aftershock aio PC price. [similar price i have to pay for aftershock PC i dont diy]

for me is simple - turn on/off play game surf net downloads, machine suffciently capable to play any game currently on market without me hesitating to think of
any issues of not up to standard. [something like buy ps4, no need head pain think
whether PC can take the game specs arnot]

casing - if possible something similar to the one i stated upstairs - color anything also can as long as no disco lights. chio casing quite important for me. nothing tall n blocky.

display just need a big screen, if i pay 2700 buy aftershock one, i get a 32inch display but dunno if is uhd qhd fhd like u mentioned, i see DIY parts i no see any 32inch displays
Display (NEXT AIO) : 32" 60hz QHD Display (2560 x1440) with 100% SRGB,

DIY if have to do it - prefer one stop do pay collect same day.
If you're afraid of ur new pc incapable of playing any games, don't be. Any new pc can play any kind of games. It's just a matter of what graphics setting you wan output only.

no need dvd drive then how to install OS and games?
Usb drive

produde1999

primary usage - hope the PC can behave maciam PS4.
turn on/off easily, can surf net, download - stream music videos / etc,
buy game can install and play without thinking of whether the machine specs can make it or not [well at least for the games released in 2017 upto now.]

16tb ram - overkill or underpower?
i have no idea what parts to choose at all, is primarily hantum from cybermind price list all the parts pricing.

i am open for any good recommendations which may well fall below the budget and still can function well for my standards.
Ur usage sounds very light... I feel like 800dollar pc can suit ur needs.

bwaysaigan

If you're afraid of ur new pc incapable of playing any games, don't be. Any new pc can play any kind of games. It's just a matter of what graphics setting you wan output only.

Usb drive

not really sia - my labtop install simcity low settings also stutter until the machine reboot.
thus i would like the new machine to be sufficiently capable of playing any games in 2017
with decent settings.

ok i swakoo - only buy before physical disc for games.

produde1999

not really sia - my labtop install simcity low settings also stutter until the machine reboot.
thus i would like the new machine to be sufficiently capable of playing any games in 2017
with decent settings.

ok i swakoo - only buy before physical disc for games.
Eheh u dun compare laptop from years ago and DESKTOP in 2017 hor...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.