need some recommandations for DIY

bwaysaigan

i got nothing new in hands to base my feelings on.
for the longest time i have not used a desktop PC.

recent past 10 years only used labtop

this time around - am thinking of getting a desktop after such long long time.

my fren keep saying with that money i set for a PC, might as well get

1tb ps4 pro with games
55" UHD led tv
cheap sub 1k labtop

produde1999

i remember last time my old desktop turn on more than half a day - can hear lots of noise, then after that is BDSO
Commercial and old generation Build quality and cooling system bad bad. DIY is different beast.
i got nothing new in hands to base my feelings on.
for the longest time i have not used a desktop PC.

recent past 10 years only used labtop

this time around - am thinking of getting a desktop after such long long time.

my fren keep saying with that money i set for a PC, might as well get

1tb ps4 pro with games
55" UHD led tv
cheap sub 1k labtop
His advice sounds good to me HAHA

If u like ps4 games go with it.
Tho personally i wouldn't get 1k laptop, laptop dun last long, i would just build a sub 800dollars htpc.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

Satki General

maybe dreamcore suit your taste can check out their FB.

So you bought your 2k laptop for your daughter liao? :s13:

LiLAsN

I would highly recommend against buying a laptop. My Alienware 18 bought a few years back died just nice after my 3 year warranty ends. $5000+ down the drain. But that is how manufacturers get more money out of you ma. Make you buy a new one every few years so they can continue their business. I have experienced, Dell, HP, Lenovo and Alienware. Never again.

I go to Desktop only, have yet to experience any problems.

I am currently in the phase of buying new parts to upgrade my PC from brands that a Distro near my house carries. That way, if touchwood, anything goes wrong, I can just go over to the Distro to do an exchange.

If Aftershock's main office is near your house, then go ahead. You can do your warranty issue there. But if they ask me to carry the whole PC back, especially for the replacement of CPU thermal compound or for any defects, I think I will prefer DIY. So I can bring just that specific part only.

Building PCs nowadays is quite simple and straightforward and you'll feel a sense of entitlement with it. Can refer to PC build guides to help along if you want too. Like this.

Or this thorough guide that is close to your specs.

bwaysaigan

wah tks siah.

this brand go where see the actual thing?

this one sibeh chios - i might be keen to look at this if really no choice.
Gallery-7.jpg

Gallery-6.jpg

Satki General

I think the upcoming IT/PC show should have bah, can FB msg them to check. They were there during the last show

dgenex

If your gaming usage is heavy, and play FPS games, I suggest you set aside about $500 for 144 Hz Monitor like ASUS VG248QE, and remaining budget for your system.

Once you play at 144Hz, I think you will feel playing on PS4 Pro is a joke :s13:

Nowadays ITX Cases are very compact until its about similar size to consoles already. With possibility to upgrade the performance.

If you don't want the hassle of troubleshooting and setting everything up and don't mind playing on console though, I guess getting a PS4 Pro for gaming and a normal laptop for PC usage is fine as well :)

joshuaho

This one is S4 mini, special order online and costs quite a bit. Also, GPU length is limited, do a Google to check on compatible models. PSU wise have to use Brick for PSU, not the standard PSU like sfx/atx etc

wah tks siah.

this brand go where see the actual thing?

this one sibeh chios - i might be keen to look at this if really no choice.
Gallery-7.jpg

Gallery-6.jpg

bwaysaigan

If your gaming usage is heavy, and play FPS games, I suggest you set aside about $500 for 144 Hz Monitor like ASUS VG248QE, and remaining budget for your system.

Once you play at 144Hz, I think you will feel playing on PS4 Pro is a joke :s13:

Nowadays ITX Cases are very compact until its about similar size to consoles already. With possibility to upgrade the performance.

If you don't want the hassle of troubleshooting and setting everything up and don't mind playing on console though, I guess getting a PS4 Pro for gaming and a normal laptop for PC usage is fine as well :)
pardon me - but what does ITX mean?

bwaysaigan

This one is S4 mini, special order online and costs quite a bit. Also, GPU length is limited, do a Google to check on compatible models. PSU wise have to use Brick for PSU, not the standard PSU like sfx/atx etc
u mean like labtop power adaptor type?

Soul77

1 game download will take how long?

i still on the old adsl broadband.

Hm.... first time 1 hear someone still on ADSL. How much are you even paying for it?

I'm sure your house got Starhub Cable right? Just go and get the instant starhub 200mbps @ $22.90

bwaysaigan

Hm.... first time 1 hear someone still on ADSL. How much are you even paying for it?

I'm sure your house got Starhub Cable right? Just go and get the instant starhub 200mbps @ $22.90
9.90 for adsl 10mbps.

no cable tv unfortunately.

Soul77

9.90 for adsl 10mbps.

no cable tv unfortunately.

Are you staying in landed or something? 1st time I hear someone without starhub cable point.. (I'm not talking weather you're subscribing to cable tv or not. I'm talking about the cable point. some of the older one branded as SCV point, those white boxes where your antenna point for free to air tv coming out).
Anyway, call starhub cs, they should be able to tell you whether your address have or not.

New games download will take up around 5-10GB. with your 10mbps adsl, it'll take 2-3 hours (that's if you can hit the max speed), else longer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.