Neighbour's dog too smelly and unbearable that Serangoon resident wants to move

SteamChicken8888

last time i used dettol brand shower foam for human on my dog .... it was better than any of the cheapo dog shampoo i tried
Huh? Sounds like ********, Dettol contains all kinds of strong chemicals, I highly doubt that the dog won't have issues. The only Human Shampoo that I know works is Head and Shoulders.

MaskedRider555

the problem of staying too close

my neighbour below also keep on leaving their Aircon on 24 hrs, ending in my floor alway wet.

SteamChicken8888

Usually the owner cannot smell because they already gotten used to it.

The worst is big dogs and if the owner don't shower them the smell will linger in the lift for at least half an hour. Really revolting.
Golden Retriever lor. I know one sohai that keeps a Goldie but smells like crap, the condo blk's lift always got people avoid.

SteamChicken8888

the problem of staying too close

my neighbour below also keep on leaving their Aircon on 24 hrs, ending in my floor alway wet.
Same like my Cousin, the neighbour below on 24/7 to the point he and his parents have almost or have slipped every week for past 17-years. He and the parents cannot do anything cause the guy is a Civil Servant, MP also have to give him face.

SteamChicken8888

likely yeast infection especially with dog with poor immunity or skin allergies.

Maltese lor, that breed is famous for skin issues de. My area got one elderly Maltese that has been suffering from skin issues since she was 3, now the dog is 14 and the stench very unbearable that the all the neighbours avoid taking that lift. Those on high floor will take to Level 14 or 10 then change lift.

Darkshadows

IMG_6753_271024080418000000.webp

Google Translate:
The "dog smell" next door made a female resident in Serangoon to consider moving! She complained that her neighbor's dog smelled so bad that she dared not open the door for ventilation. She spent nearly $100 a month on incense and lemongrass deodoriser, and now she is planning to find a new home.

The unit involved is located at Block 124, Serangoon North Avenue 1.

Ms. Wang (67 years old), a resident, complained to the Shin Min Daily News that after her neighbor brought the dog home in January this year, there was often a strange smell at her door, causing her to suffer and afraid to open the door for ventilation.

"My daughter and I live in a corner unit, and we especially need ventilation, but we can smell the dog smell as soon as we open the door."

Ms. Wang said that the neighbour's raised an elderly medium-sized dog. When the neighbour is at home and opens the window, the stench will float out as soon as the window is opened.

"I had heart surgery in February and April this year. I am most afraid of being suffocated, which makes me anxious, so I can't keep the door closed all the time."

Ms. Wang started buying aromatherapy at the beginning of the year, and also used fabric softener to wash the floor in front of her house, and bought lemons and spices to burn at the door to cover the dog odor. She also spent $75 to buy lemongrass water to spray the air.

"I have bought three or four aromatherapy devices so far, and I have to spend closs to $100 every month. So far, I have spent at least $1,000 on "deodorization."

Ms. Wang said that the dog owner was difficult to talk to, and she also tried to convey the message to a young resident in the neighbour's house but the other party asked her not to keep up a fuss.

"I also love animals. If necessary, I can pay for her dog to see a doctor and change the resting nest, but I am worried that the neighbour will not accept it."

Ms. Wang even said that she really couldn't stand it and planned to move to another place to live.

Shin Min Daily News contacted the dog-owner neighbor Chen Yueying (62 years old, retired), who said that the authorities had visited her home but told her that there was no problem.

"If many people complained, I would believe it and try to improve it. But so far, only that neighbor has complained, and the authorities said there was no problem."

The tenant living in Chen Yueying's house told reporters that it was normal for pets to have some odor, but it was not unbearable.

The tenant also mentioned that the dog owner would leave the dog somewhere else when she went out everyday, and the dog was not at home most of the time.

The Aljunied-Hougang Town Council said that it had indeed received similar feedback from the National Parks Board and was aware that the authorities were contacting the person concerned for follow-up. Shin Min Daily News is currently trying to understand the situation further.

On the other hand, the neighbor downstairs also revealed that the dog had body odor, which was particularly severe when the wind blew.

Ms. Chen (over 60 years old, retired), a resident living at the corner of the 3rd floor, said that she had also smelled it before, and the elevator often left a bad smell because of it.

"When the wind blows, the stench from upstairs will be blown to my house."

She also pointed out that when the dog's supplies are hung out upstairs, there will be a stench.

Hu Xueer (22 years old), a beautician at Fluffy Paradise Pet Grooming Shop, pointed out in an interview that if an elderly dog has body odor, it is mostly because of skin aging and skin diseases. "The combination of the two will cause the dog to have a bad odor, and frequent bathing cannot improve it."

She pointed out that if this happens, the owner should bring the dog to the doctor to treat the skin disease, or to do a soothing bath massage at the pet grooming shop, which may improve the situation.

https://www.ilifepost.com/?p=363504...TNNelCk220QDxvBgNQ_aem__6hvJ0PvZP5HfmqnEONU_g
Elderly dog means will be gone very soon.

Tardis

why the reporter no comment if got smell or not then at least we can get a third party view of this?

ChuppaChups

Very kind lady willing to help neighbour tackle smelly dog skin problem but neighbour say Buay yao kin.. poor doggo.

pushtopen

this kind is those old people problem leh

they find something wrong with somebody and then fixate on it till psychosomatic symptoms appear even though it isn't really there

the smell may be bad but it's not bad till it justifies moving out, just that her mind keeps replaying on the fact that because of the smell, she can't receive her gratification of opening the door and airing herself

kebinu

1. Some OCD yes.
2. Disease + ageing + owner didn't take best care yes.
3. We didn't know the lifestyle. Indoor/outdoor trained? sometimes use diaper etc, then **** all onto body. some shower the dog once a month etc.

Bo bian, just keep door close if that helps.. moving out is extreme!

HomeMommy

Actually corner unit windows dont face corridoor what? So why will the smell drift into her unit? Unless she need to leave her door open? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.