zhenyuan_2000
May I ask what travel insurance do u buy? I look at the hiking most of them are only for less than 3000m
Just got my air ticket. 26 nov- 24 dec. flight by Malaysia airlines. 492.3 sgd. good price!
May I ask what travel insurance do u buy? I look at the hiking most of them are only for less than 3000m
yes, good price if u don't mind the transit at KL. I am still somewhat loyal to SIA (SilkAir)... which flies direct. much more expensive but saves me the worry about luggage issues...
wow you're going for almost a full month! are you going to trek the whole AC + ABC and stuff?
for hikes above 3000m, there aren't many. In fact, I followed the most popular recommendation to get from World Nomads. it's online, so hassle free.
tried asking around locally but none I found insures hikes above 3000m.
World Nomads is quite expensive ... and the insurance companies are more stringent now due to the helicopter scam ...
Dec is a good time to go ... clear skies but cold ... tho a sudden storm can close the pass ... dun rush, give yourself ample time ... good food and hot showers are the norm on the AC ... try to start from Besi Sahar or at least Ngadi, trek across the valley away from the road ... do the high trail through Ghyaru, Ngawal and all the way to Braga without going down to the valley ... on the Kali Gandaki side, walk from Muktinath to Kagbeni on the northern side ... the walk all the way to Tatopani is quite good ...
do you have an alternative to world nomads? I haven't bought for my upcoming trip yet.
can u share what u did after Manang? did u go tilicho lake? or just continue up to Letdar? what are your night stops after Manang until the day of the Pass and onto muktinath?
I'm not too sure about insurance ... I din get any lol ...
After Manang I went over to Shree Kharka, but it snowed heavily so I din cross over to Tilicho ... plus the scree slope really scared me lol ... then I gave up and took the high route to Yak Kharka to do the pass ...
I overnighted at Yak Kharka, then Thorung Phedi, then High Camp, waiting for the bad weather to break. Lotsa snow on the pass but the weather was good on pass day. After I crossed over it turned bad again, and from what I heard, was closed for a couple of days ...
i'm surprised you didn't have to produce insurance certificate to apply for the TIMS permit... or was it not necessary meh? I can't recall last year how it was done already. only remember rushing to the tourist centre just in the nick of time to get both permits done.
but I feel it's still necessary to buy insurance because you never know what may happen (emergency evacuation of any kind).
I plan to make the side trek to tilicho again although I made it last year. it snowed heavily and the lake was more or less covered when I reached so it was a bit of a let down. hope to catch a good break this time and view the lake in its entirety. also factored in more days to have some buffer.
the slope looks scary from the side but it's quite easy to pass (wide enough). just hope there's no earthquake at the moment of crossing so the loose rocks don't start rolling down...
thanks for the details of the night stops u made after Manang. helps me lay my own expectations.
do you have an alternative to world nomads? I haven't bought for my upcoming trip yet.
can u share what u did after Manang? did u go tilicho lake? or just continue up to Letdar? what are your night stops after Manang until the day of the Pass and onto muktinath?
Yah I should have gotten insurance ... next trip I'll do it lol ...
When I was at Shree Kharka, I heard 2 girls made it across the scree slope, but 1 of them dun dare to cross back, so they paid usd3000+ for a helicopter flight back to Manang! If I ever do the AC again, I'll do Tilicho .... lol
U dun have to make so many stops after Manang to the pass. I did so because the weather was bad. If you are healthy and no AMS, just do Manang - Letdar/Churi Letdar/Yak Kharka - Thorung Phedi, then cross the pass in one shot. But the climb up from Phedi to high camp to the pass is a killer. Phedi and high camp are lousy places (cold and crowded) to spend the night.
bro, can seek your advice?
which month did you do the AC by the way?
i'm in a dilemma about sleeping bag. last year I lugged along a super heavy and bulky 4 seasons bag which I rented in thamel (cheap lah...). I only found it probably the most useful after Manang (when I was at shree kharka and tilicho base camp).
am thinking of ditching that this year and planning to bring along a much lighter but only 10 deg bag, plus a thermal liner. I reckon that if I need more heat/warmth, I will just lay up with the blanket in the lodging room itself, or use the heat packs.
can you share how you cope with the cold nights after Manang up till the thorong phedi or high camp?
My 2017 AC trip was from 20th Feb to 14th Mar.
I'm quite cold tolerant so I din bring any sleeping bag. I carry my own backpack so weight is important. I rely on extra blankets and hot water bottle for sleeping. I found only Thorung Phedi and High Camp were really cold. In my Khumbu trip, however, almost all lodges from Namche onwards were very cold.
Perhaps you can combine a light weight sleeping bag or a fleece liner with lodge blankets (might not be clean). Heat packs are only really useful for pass day or peak day (Kala Patar in Khumbu) where the early dawn hike can freeze any exposed parts!
thanks. I checked the temperature history on accuweather. it seems feb/mar is similar to late nov when i'm going, maybe a bit warmer. I guess i'll just have to wear maybe more layers when I sleep. and use the liner/bag/blanket combo to get warm...
I carry my own bag too which is why last year I had a tough time carrying the 4 seasons. definitely not going to do the same this time round. just wondering if it's worth buying a ~$300 lightweight 0 deg bag just for this trip. my current one is only 10 deg and most likely won't be that cosy above Manang.
Yeah mine is also 10 Deg
Am going to bring also some thin blanket, thin sleeping bag(those silky stuff in bought in Vietnam ) , layer clothings and stuff warm water thermos into the sleeping bag .
Enough?
i'm going this Nov to hike the AC again... depends on elevation, temperature can be warm in the day (tee shirt, berms) to freezing at night.
Lowlands are OK (Pokhara, KTM) at night to go out in casuals but not if you're up in the mountains.
They are still restoring Durbar Square last December. Don't think they will be done anytime soon.
Visa can be done on arrival at the terminal.
I'm going to ABC in Nov too ....
Yah I should have gotten insurance ... next trip I'll do it lol ...
When I was at Shree Kharka, I heard 2 girls made it across the scree slope, but 1 of them dun dare to cross back, so they paid usd3000+ for a helicopter flight back to Manang! If I ever do the AC again, I'll do Tilicho .... lol
I'm going to ABC in Nov too ....