New Creative Pebble Nova $399

ninja99

Wah 399 can actually get you good bookshelf speakers. So why bother with this.
Just to clarify , your bookshelf speakers come with build on amp right ? To make sure you are not comparing Apple to orange

RockaRolla

for 399, just get a Klipsch promedia heritage 2.1 if you want a decent AIO multimedia setup with sub

or a JBL 305P + ifi Uno

begintoend

Few things put me off:

1) Need to use USB charger than use AC.
Many review sites critized such design cux how good it sound it will depend on the charger use
2) The price obviously.
At $400 plus people can go for Edifier or Audioengine.
No need to headache which charger is good.
Even though it include a charger doubt is of good quality.
not sexpert but about the usb...

now it depends on wat the power is required to power it (load)
as of tech now, usb can deliver amazing wattage, even as in power notebooks and monitors.
wat sort of power is actually required for good audio?
Would an AC charger really make a diff?
btw we talking about desktop speakers here... not some high end audiophile gigachad stuff

Phen8210

Few things put me off:

Many review sites critized such design cux how good it sound it will depend on the charger use
2) The price obviously.

ya lo.. somemore a lot of their product active speaker not even using 24 bit audio leh this ** creative knn.. pebble speaker is good for value for entertainment use but if i could buy another speaker i want something that has a little more clarity and accurate.

BlackWing1977

Few things put me off:

2) The price obviously.
Edifier my no. 1 headache is the dying remote control, I even try buying one off amazon and it is a fake.. does not work at all... now I can only rely on a old Xiaomi phone Mi 2 Max I think, to use the Edifier App I bought from Playstore to try to shut down and turn on.. as the physical remote button like not working.

BlackWing1977

not sexpert but about the usb...

now it depends on wat the power is required to power it (load)
as of tech now, usb can deliver amazing wattage, even as in power notebooks and monitors.
wat sort of power is actually required for good audio?
Would an AC charger really make a diff?
btw we talking about desktop speakers here... not some high end audiophile gigachad stuff
Some audiophile will literally spend thousands on cable... :ROFLMAO:

wwenze

With a good designer this design can work

But remember this is the company that conned the world into their speaker-emulation system when they don't even sell their own room-correction solution.

BlackWing1977

I rather they focus on at least 1 or 2 quality builds. This one feels too gimmicky.

Was considering creative for my desktop speakers but ended up with audioengine A1, which was simply much more focused on the key features. Bought on discount somemore.
Wait for my Edifier to die first then can consider all these lol

But speakers usually very long life one

BlackWing1977

With a good designer this design can work

But remember this is the company that conned the world into their speaker-emulation system when they don't even sell their own room-correction solution.
They are seriously lagging behind in portable DAC functions.... should at least add a 4.4mm balanced output mar...

wwenze

They are seriously lagging behind in portable DAC functions.... should at least add a 4.4mm balanced output mar...
Head-fi is not Creative's target market.

Creative's target market does not know what 4.4mm balanced output is.

86technie

For Creative DAC even though there are few models. Their DAC are not DAC but sound card cuz too reliant on Sound blaster software.
Everyone knows SB software are rubbish, my last experience was the SBZXR.
With SB effects on it brighten the sound as well as make it too sharp.
Have to turn off or use direct mode than the sound is normalised.
Sold off because of the rubbish software so now using Asus on board SupremeFX audio.
The day when Creative drop SB tech and focus on making DAC and amp.
Than they are counted audiophile for now they are still PC sound manufacturer.
Even product like Stage or Katana are not featured on WhatHifi.

Devilsire

the pebble x at 100 already scratching head liao now got 399 version.. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

this was exactly my thoughts last time :LOL: starting with v1 $29? v2 $39? v3 $49?
then suddenly add some RGB become 100+? i was like Mr Sim would have jumped up and screamed at those business decisions

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.