New Desktop PC (where to start?)

fxsg123

Hi, 20yrs never build/own Desktop liao. Last time teenager always go SLS buy parts, still rem that time my PC specs is Pentium III and RAM is just 64mb, haha. Gd old days.

Anyway, now old uncle liao, looking to build/buy off shelves for the following purpose:
1) More opportunity to WFH
2) My kid LFH
3) Recent hobby on video editing (mainly for family events or vacations. This yrs cannot go intend to use old video to practice)

Should i chk SLS for self build or customise from Aftershock/similar or buy direct from Courts/HN?
Any specs recommendation?

Budget 2k with monitor. Can go higher but no more than $2.5k.

i1magic

Hi, 20yrs never build/own Desktop liao. Last time teenager always go SLS buy parts, still rem that time my PC specs is Pentium III and RAM is just 64mb, haha. Gd old days.

Anyway, now old uncle liao, looking to build/buy off shelves for the following purpose:
2) My kid LFH
3) Recent hobby on video editing (mainly for family events or vacations. This yrs cannot go intend to use old video to practice)

Should i chk SLS for self build or customise from Aftershock/similar or buy direct from Courts/HN?

If you want easy, just go down to SLS, Bizgram, PC Themes, etc. Walked in, have a chat, ask some question and then get them to propose to you. But don't state your budget lah, just state what you wanna use it for.

Then get them to assemble for you. Pay, carry home and play.

fxsg123

If you want easy, just go down to SLS, Bizgram, PC Themes, etc. Walked in, have a chat, ask some question and then get them to propose to you. But don't state your budget lah, just state what you wanna use it for.

Then get them to assemble for you. Pay, carry home and play.

Okay thks, good idea. I guess SLS won't reopen till phase 2 at least, but I in no rush so can wait. In the meantime, will research on the specs.

Oh, if I ever step in SLS again, it will be first in >10yrs

i1magic

Okay thks, good idea. I guess SLS won't reopen till phase 2 at least, but I in no rush so can wait. In the meantime, will research on the specs.

Oh, if I ever step in SLS again, it will be first in >10yrs

Yah. Have to wait, or buy online.

AMD Ryzen 5 3600 is best bang for buck cpu now liao. Graphic card will depends on your gaming needs.

hao_jun

Also take into account on the warranty. If u dun mind visiting the distro at ulu places to repair the parts, then can get it from sls or DIY urself.

Else can go for 3rd party vendo like aftershock etc for ease of mind on warranty claim.

My friend ask me to build a budget gaming pc for him and I compare buying online vs dreamcore /aftershock.
Price difference is abt $100-$150 for similar spec and i told him he can decide is the savings worth it ma.

r0_ger

Yah. Have to wait, or buy online.

AMD Ryzen 5 3600 is best bang for buck cpu now liao. Graphic card will depends on your gaming needs.

If I am casual gaming, weekend playing CSGO for couple of hours, occasional photo editing, Internet, music and video streaming, would a simpler cpu like 3500 or even the older gen 2600 and a better gfx be better, or 3600 and an entry gfx be better?

In short, if i have to compromise due to budget, which would you recommend to cut? CPU or GFX card?

hao_jun

If I am casual gaming, weekend playing CSGO for couple of hours, occasional photo editing, Internet, music and video streaming, would a simpler cpu like 3500 or even the older gen 2600 and a better gfx be better, or 3600 and an entry gfx be better?

In short, if i have to compromise due to budget, which would you recommend to cut? CPU or GFX card?

If i am in ur shoes, I will go for 2600 (cut on cpu) and focus on gpu.

I'm more focus on gaming, so I will go for the above. Not sure about other bros recommendations.

2600 is a decent cpu in my opinion.

contacted

2) My kid LFH

Some sites to help you do your research, prices should all be in USD.

https://pcpartpicker.com/guide/

https://www.logicalincrements.com/guides

clay9477

You can't cut on either CPU or GFX by a lot. Both of it must be balanced else you face bottleneck issue.

If you have the budget go for 3600, no budget go for 2600 (older but still decent just <20% performance difference from 3600 but price difference of about >$70 local pricing).

3500 might not be worthwhile as it has only 6 core 6 threads. Also, more cores are being utilize across the board in general though in terms of gaming it will beat the 2600 by fps. Would only choose between the 3600 or 2600 as the 3500 is sandwiched in between the two is not worth at its price point.

fxsg123

Also take into account on the warranty. If u dun mind visiting the distro at ulu places to repair the parts, then can get it from sls or DIY urself.

Else can go for 3rd party vendo like aftershock etc for ease of mind on warranty claim.

My friend ask me to build a budget gaming pc for him and I compare buying online vs dreamcore /aftershock.
Price difference is abt $100-$150 for similar spec and i told him he can decide is the savings worth it ma.

Noted, thanks. Will consider warranty.

r0_ger

You can't cut on either CPU or GFX by a lot. Both of it must be balanced else you face bottleneck issue.

If you have the budget go for 3600, no budget go for 2600 (older but still decent just <20% performance difference from 3600 but price difference of about >$70 local pricing).

3500 might not be worthwhile as it has only 6 core 6 threads. Also, more cores are being utilize across the board in general though in terms of gaming it will beat the 2600 by fps. Would only choose between the 3600 or 2600 as the 3500 is sandwiched in between the two is not worth at its price point.

Noted, thanks! 2600 quite rare online. Needa chk out SLS. Dunno when they will open. Hopefully gor clear stock sales. Hahaha

sevensomerset

hi, borrow thread ask question
now rocking rog G751jt laptop
i7-4720HW, gpu is 970m

gonna gaming on 1080p only, fps >60fps, setting all ultra
wat card to go for? 1660 enuf? looking at zotac card.
cpu 3300x good enuf?

shud hv >100% improve over my current system?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.