New HDB BTO Flat - How do you connect your Home Fiber Network

Rivers

Hi Everyone, am currrently doing a reno on a old resale hdb. Can I get some advice over the installation of CAT 6 LAN points and how they should be routed?

Shoe Cabinet
ONT TP -> Huawei ONT -> CAT 6 data point

LAN Point at TV Console
Will connect to my Asus WiFi router -> wired connection to TV

LAN Point at Study Room
Meant to connect to my PC

In this case, is there a need for me to install a dumb switch in the shoe cabinet? I'm not quite sure how the cables should run from the shoe cabinet since there are 2 endpoints (TV Console area and the Study room)?

Not sure if the green arrows that I drew below is correct or not?

QAXrLF.jpg

Mach3.2

Hi Everyone, am currrently doing a reno on a old resale hdb. Can I get some advice over the installation of CAT 6 LAN points and how they should be routed?

Shoe Cabinet
ONT TP -> M1 Modem -> CAT 6 data point

LAN Point at TV Console
Will connect to my Asus WiFi router -> wired connection to TV

LAN Point at Study Room
Meant to connect to my PC

In this case, is there a need for me to install a dumb switch in the shoe cabinet? I'm not quite sure how the cables should run from the shoe cabinet since there are 2 endpoints (TV Console area and the Study room)?

Not sure if the green arrows that I drew below is correct or not?

hxuFDv.jpg
Ethernet cables are point to point; that's to say you decide on a location where you want to house all your equipment, and terminate all the cables at that location.

Since you're renovating your house, if the existing fibre termination point location isn't ideal, you can take the opportunity to shift everything to the spot you want. If not just tell your contractor to terminate all cables at your fibre termination point area.

Rivers

Thank you. I guess that would mean I should have 2 data points in the shoe cabinet then?

Believe the new flow should be:

Shoe Cabinet
ONT TP -> Huawei ONT -> Can I use a 4 port gigabit switch here or do i need a router? -> 2 wires from switch device connect to each data point

Data Point 1
Wired out to Asus wifi router -> TV + PS4

Data Point 2
Wire out to PC

RqndxJ.jpg

Mach3.2

Thank you. I guess that would mean I should have 2 data points in the shoe cabinet then?

Believe the new flow should be:

Shoe Cabinet
ONT TP -> Huawei ONT -> Can I use a 4 port gigabit switch here or do i need a router? -> 2 wires from switch device connect to each data point

Data Point 1
Wired out to Asus wifi router -> TV + PS4

Data Point 2
Wire out to PC

RqndxJ.jpg
Yup correct.

What ISP are you subscribed to? If you're provided with an ONR (ONT+router combined unit), then you won't need a router at your shoe cabinet. If you have an ONT, you'll need a router. A switch won't work here.

windwaver

I know physically it will fit in the socket, but the male RJ11 plug will damage the contacts in the RJ45 socket.

https://www.lynxnetworks.co.uk/rj11-plug-into-and-rj45-socket/

That's how you end up with a LAN point that does only 100Mbps links.

There's doing things the hacky way, and there's doing things the right way. RJ11 plug in an RJ45 socket is the hacky way.

Wah i dun know need to change the tel point to rj45, thought now where got people using phone.
Living room got 1 data point and like you mentioned use rj45 splitter.

thank you the guide.
Me still using phone at home.

I plug into RJ45 port will damage it? Oh my, didn't know that.

stresskiddo

Hi guys what do you think of my planned setup whether its feasible, not an expert but read through the suggestions in this thread and seems like using APs are the way to go.

There will be smart devices across the house so will be hoping to get Wifi coverage throughout if possible, I also bought a zigbee network gateway hub most likely placed with Router 2.
Haven't chose a broadband plan yet. Read through @xiaofan 's recommmendation and most likely will go with his recommendation of M1/Starhub 1gbps plan, slightly leaning towards Starhub because of the Premier League bundle 24mths @ $45++ effective/mth.

I'm not too sure on what routers to buy , hoping to get some advice from the experts and see if I could grab some nice deals on Black friday/Cyber Monday. Am I right that for this setup Router 1 can be just a low end cheap router ?

21X6BFl.png

babyjyo

Hi guys what do you think of my planned setup whether its feasible, not an expert but read through the suggestions in this thread and seems like using APs are the way to go.

There will be smart devices across the house so will be hoping to get Wifi coverage throughout if possible, I also bought a zigbee network gateway hub most likely placed with Router 2.
Haven't chose a broadband plan yet. Read through @xiaofan 's recommmendation and most likely will go with his recommendation of M1/Starhub 1gbps plan, slightly leaning towards Starhub because of the Premier League bundle 24mths @ $45++ effective/mth.

I'm not too sure on what routers to buy , hoping to get some advice from the experts and see if I could grab some nice deals on Black friday/Cyber Monday. Am I right that for this setup Router 1 can be just a low end cheap router ?

21X6BFl.png
- Often, most ISP plans bundle with a basic WiFi router. This is normally adequate for most home users to be used as a Router (if you turn the WiFi off)
- Based on your house layout, it may be possible that you just require 1 wireless router (or AP) to broadcast the WiFi. This could be at the DB Box or Living Room point area. It may also be possible that you do not need a seperate wireless router or AP. Just get a better WiFi router and position it properly outside the DB Box (non-concealed)
- You can actually just use the ISP provided wireless router to test your WiFi blindspots to get some indicator about the coverage to determine the best position. If you already have an existing wireless router, you can use it to test as well.

In Short,
- Option 1: If you can place the router at the DB Box at a good placement (which is outside the DB Box), getting a better Wireless Router for both router and WiFi may be sufficient.
- Option 2: Just use the default ISP provided router (or get a router seperately) with WiFi turned off, and get another wireless router (or AP) and placed it at the TV Console area.

stresskiddo

Thanks for the detailed response :)
If i go for Option 2: Any recommendations on which routers to buy ? Do they need to be of the same brand ?
- Often, most ISP plans bundle with a basic WiFi router. This is normally adequate for most home users to be used as a Router (if you turn the WiFi off)
- Based on your house layout, it may be possible that you just require 1 wireless router (or AP) to broadcast the WiFi. This could be at the DB Box or Living Room point area. It may also be possible that you do not need a seperate wireless router or AP. Just get a better WiFi router and position it properly outside the DB Box (non-concealed)
- You can actually just use the ISP provided wireless router to test your WiFi blindspots to get some indicator about the coverage to determine the best position. If you already have an existing wireless router, you can use it to test as well.

In Short,
- Option 1: If you can place the router at the DB Box at a good placement (which is outside the DB Box), getting a better Wireless Router for both router and WiFi may be sufficient.
- Option 2: Just use the default ISP provided router (or get a router seperately) with WiFi turned off, and get another wireless router (or AP) and placed it at the TV Console area.

xiaomao87

Huh, not damage immediately?

Why only damage after a few years?

Faceplate damage or what?
Why damage immediately?
Rj11 use 2 copper cable to trf signal
Rj45 use 8 copper cable to trf signal
No diff

After a few years than damage is been told by some1 here , as I didn't encounter b4
I'm just forwarding some1 knowledge

Faceplate won't dmg (as long as use the same way to take out the cable)
Both cable head got the little click thingy
It a question mark on the copper cable as there no answer

I done so use so many rj11 into rj45 port ,
No backfire b4
Sometime my lan tester run out of battery than I use my limited edition house phone to test call = same signal been send N recieve .
I only tested on newer bukit timah condo 🤫

By experience Older condo I don't even wan to try cus tio cat4 internal wiring + high end Reno on the outside = sweat until underwear wet !
Sometime really have to see situation
Especially THOSE FREEHOLD!

Hope it helps u👍🏻
Cheer

xiaomao87

21X6BFl.png
Option are urs!
I would advise
Any isp also can

Fibre w/o iptv + wifi 6 router (ONT)
-Inside db box
Ftp - ONT - data point(to 1st rm)
-1st rm
Data point - wifi6 router
-Router
Set up 2.4/5ghz
2.4ghz - smart home device ONLY (wireless cctv/smart plug/smart tv/etc (most of smart tv use 2.4ghz unless those expensive de)

5ghz - HP/laptop/etc

Slow speed zone - kitchen/yard /MBR toilet

-------
Fibre w iptv (ONT)
-Inside db (depend rg how many port)
Ftp-ont-default rg-switch-data point
-LR
Data point - rg/swtich - setup box
(Potential upsell of mesh)

Or

-Db box
Ftp-ont-data point
-LR
Data Point - rg - switch - setup box
(Highly potential upsell of mesh)

Or
Fibre w/ iptv (ONR) wifi 6 router
-db box
Ftp-onr(4port)- 3x data point
-living rm
Data point - setup box
-1st rm
Data point - rg
-mbr (extra)
Data point - PC

Same set 2 band (same as top)

Its depend on which telecom + which plan u choose
ONT - all teleco
ONR - only singtel

It's a 3rm bto don't need anything fancy full backhaul stuff , it will get the job done

Hopefully u have ah ga ah ga idea of what u going to choose

Inside db box + all rm
Rmb to change telephone port(rj11) to DATA POINT(rj45) extra abit just give to have more option later on while the hse is empty
If u choose singtel ask for (FREE OF CHARGE data point change x1 port) this depend on the installer old bird or new bird
Need to charge ask them to check with thier OP

Cheer

Mach3.2

SbyVAn1.png

See how the plastic RJ11 plug interferes with RJ45's pin 1 and 8 plug? The same mechanical inteference happens inside the female RJ45 recepticle when you plug in an RJ11 plug.

If you still fail to see how this is a problem then just do what you like, but don't kpkb when your LAN point cannot negotiate 1Gbps link in the future.

@xiaomao87 It's good that you go out of your job scope to help your customers, but what seemingly works at first glance might not actually be the correct solution.
My tolerance for **** is very high and if my ISP's technician pull this kind of stunts I WILL raise a complaint.

I'll just leave this here.
1*VX_yFVny-8iHO22IwUgpDw.png

xiaomao87

SbyVAn1.png

See how the plastic RJ11 plug interferes with RJ45's pin 1 and 8 plug? The same mechanical inteference happens inside the female RJ45 recepticle when you plug in an RJ11 plug.

If you still fail to see how this is a problem then just do what you like, but don't kpkb when your LAN point cannot negotiate 1Gbps link in the future.

@xiaomao87 It's good that you go out of your job scope to help your customers, but what seemingly works at first glance might not actually be the correct solution.
My tolerance for **** is very high and if my ISP's technician pull this kind of stunts I WILL raise a complaint.

I'll just leave this here.
1*VX_yFVny-8iHO22IwUgpDw.png
Gumxia
From the pic meaning
If the wireman wire internal to cross or rollover cable behind the faceplate won't have issuse like u say
M I right ?

Since cross/rollover wireing can support 1gb speed

Example:
Behind faceplate rollover way 6wire
Standard rj45 8wire
It still will work right ?

As I use lan tester on daily , I really SELDOM see perfect 8 wire light running tgt
Normally I check is 134568 (27mia)

bro , dun get piss off I just wanna update my knowledge as my knowledge overdue 1yr+
gumxia🙏👍🏻

Mach3.2

Gumxia
From the pic meaning
If the wireman wire internal to cross or rollover cable behind the faceplate won't have issuse like u say
M I right ?

Since cross/rollover wireing can support 1gb speed

Example:
Behind faceplate rollover way 6wire
Standard rj45 8wire
It still will work right ?

As I use lan tester on daily , I really SELDOM see perfect 8 wire light running tgt
Normally I check is 134568 (27mia)

bro , dun get piss off I just wanna update my knowledge as my knowledge overdue 1yr+
gumxia🙏👍🏻
Nothing to do with wiring order, look at how the plastic bits of the RJ11 plug overlap pin 1 and 8 on the RJ45 plug in the image I uploaded 2 posts ago.

The RJ11 plug will mechanically intefere with pin 1 and 8 in the female RJ45 receptacle. Best case scenario pin 1 and 8 don't get stuck and nothing bad happens like in your case.

Worse case scenario those 2 pins get stucked in the RJ45 receptacle and you end up with a faulty receptacle. Granted you can always spend a few bucks and replace the female RJ45 receptacle but normal people don't have the skill set and tools for this task, and they would have to hire someone to rectify it.

phayze

Wiring have no issue. So far i see if wrong wiring sequence, usually the cable will not work.

I use a self-made RJ11 to RJ45 cable just for telephone line to use across my data point. Need to plug in the correct connection jack into the keystone is to prevent the bending of pins. Plugging RJ11 jack into RF45 port will risk of bending the first and last pin of the RJ45 keystone.

Nothing to do with wiring order, look at how the plastic bits of the RJ11 plug overlap pin 1 and 8 on the RJ45 plug in the image I uploaded 2 posts ago.

The RJ11 plug will mechanically intefere with pin 1 and 8 in the female RJ45 receptacle. Best case scenario pin 1 and 8 don't get stuck and nothing bad happens like in your case.

Worse case scenario those 2 pins get stucked in the RJ45 receptacle and you end up with a faulty receptacle. Granted you can always spend a few bucks and replace the female RJ45 receptacle but normal people don't have the skill set and tools for this task, and they would have to hire someone to rectify it.

gregory_choo

Why damage immediately?
Rj11 use 2 copper cable to trf signal
Rj45 use 8 copper cable to trf signal
No diff

After a few years than damage is been told by some1 here , as I didn't encounter b4
I'm just forwarding some1 knowledge

Faceplate won't dmg (as long as use the same way to take out the cable)
Both cable head got the little click thingy
It a question mark on the copper cable as there no answer

I done so use so many rj11 into rj45 port ,
No backfire b4
Sometime my lan tester run out of battery than I use my limited edition house phone to test call = same signal been send N recieve .
I only tested on newer bukit timah condo 🤫

By experience Older condo I don't even wan to try cus tio cat4 internal wiring + high end Reno on the outside = sweat until underwear wet !
Sometime really have to see situation
Especially THOSE FREEHOLD!

Hope it helps u👍🏻
Cheer
the problem is connector at faceplate.

if rj11 is plugged into rj45, 2 of the pins at the rj45 will be bent much more than designed. it is ok if it is done for a short duration, if after a few months, the 2 pins will not be able to spring back to the normal position.

even so, it is perfectly ok if you want to the faceplate for rj11 connection only.

but if you want to stop using rj11 and want to re-use the faceplate for rj45, you might not get it to work.

xiaomao87

Wiring have no issue. So far i see if wrong wiring sequence, usually the cable will not work.

I use a self-made RJ11 to RJ45 cable just for telephone line to use across my data point. Need to plug in the correct connection jack into the keystone is to prevent the bending of pins. Plugging RJ11 jack into RF45 port will risk of bending the first and last pin of the RJ45 keystone.
Wow this is knowledge!!!
I didn't even know can !
Learn something new omg !!

Hoshi0995

Hello Shifu(s)..

I am moving into my new 5 Room BTO soon.. 113 SQM ~1200Sqft.

I recently won 2x Asus XT12 from company giveaway & would like to set it up in my new place.

I am afraid that placing 1 XT12 as the main router in the DB box will cause damage to the router in the long run due to poor ventilation and heat buildup.

As such I am planning to use the free asus AX3000P given when signing up with M1 1GBPS plan with ONT.

As such, my connection will be:

ONT > AX3000 > Port 1 (Living) > Asus XT12 (Wired Backhaul)
AX3000 > Port 2 (Study Room) > Asus XT12 (Wired Backhaul) > PC LAN

My question is: will the AX3000P as a main router bottleneck features and speed of the XT12?

And if so, could any experts advise otherwise?

Many many thanks.. Sorry for the questions.. newbie here..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.