New PC assembled at Sim Lim no boot screen

bukitview

Just bought a new desktop and assembled at Sim Lim. The shop showed me everything booted up fine, with the windows showing all my parts, with drivers all updated. However when i was home, my monitor could not detect any signal, even though all internal RGB from Ram, Fans and AIO could light up

No boot screen even if i tried using both Display port or HDMI connections at both GPU or Motherboard ports. No Mouse and Keyboard lights also

Help will be much appreciated

Asus TUF B650M+ Ryzen 7800X3d
Zotac RTX 2060 ( old card, didn’t buy from Sim LiM cos waiting for new GPU to come)
G.Skill Trident Z Neo 6000Mhz 32GB Amd Expo CL32 Kit
SSD: SAMSUNG 980 PRO 1TB GEN4 NVMe M.2 PCIe SSD
Montech Air 100 ARGB
Deepcool Castle 240EX
Silverstone DA850
Monitor: Asus Tuf vg27aql1a

jasonwsc

Remove your GPU and test with onboard graphics, if monitor shows signal then probably RIP GPU.

Try reconnecting your PSU cable to your GPU.

kaixax555

Just bought a new desktop and assembled at Sim Lim. The shop showed me everything booted up fine, with the windows showing all my parts, with drivers all updated. However when i was home, my monitor could not detect any signal, even though all internal RGB from Ram, Fans and AIO could light up

No boot screen even if i tried using both Display port or HDMI connections at both GPU or Motherboard ports. No Mouse and Keyboard lights also

Help will be much appreciated

Asus TUF B650M+ Ryzen 7800X3d
Zotac RTX 2060 ( old card, didn’t buy from Sim LiM cos waiting for new GPU to come)
G.Skill Trident Z Neo 6000Mhz 32GB Amd Expo CL32 Kit
SSD: SAMSUNG 980 PRO 1TB GEN4 NVMe M.2 PCIe SSD
Montech Air 100 ARGB
Deepcool Castle 240EX
Silverstone DA850
Monitor: Asus Tuf vg27aql1a
Seems like you are another TUF B650M user with a similar problem

Try an older BIOS if you still have another PC to flash the BIOS, make sure the BIOS is still new enough to support 7800X3D

Seems like this board has very iffy BIOS support right now

Edit: Try to flash BIOS 1222

Kapish

reseat your GPU and RAM ... during the move back the connections may come slightly loose.

bukitview

Remove your GPU and test with onboard graphics, if monitor shows signal then probably RIP GPU.

Try reconnecting your PSU cable to your GPU.
Yes i tired on board before also, no signal, but yes, it’s a good reminder, thanks

NightRaven49

really surprised asus hasnt included debug leds on this midrange board. how long have u let it boot? am5 has really long boot times. maybe can reseat cpu and inspect for damage.

wongminmin

i think asus mobo having issues with some ram...... maybe default the ram setting?

I have the same motherboard and I have the exact same problem with my ram, the ram I'm using is 2x16gb GSkill F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5NR sticks, which is in their supported memory list. I originally had different RAM which had better timings, but contacted support and they told me that this problem might be due to it not being supported memory sticks so I specifically bought these sticks, it didn't solve it though. I'm using a 7700X as my CPU.

I'm not on the latest bios yet since I heard plenty of people having problems with it. The EXPO profile works just fine, runs at the right speeds and no problems, but if I dare to set Memory Context Restore to Enable instead of Auto my system won't boot from a power off. (You shouldn't need to do a flashback each time btw, just reset the CMOS by taking the battery out of the motherboard)

Asus support wasn't exactly helpful for me as it didn't get solved, nor did they show any interest in actually solving it, they said it looked like something would be wrong with my motherboard.. that is what their guess was. At least It's good to know I'm not the only one having that exact problem with this motherboard. For now I'm just getting used to the longer boot times from memory training each (re)boot I do and hoping some future bios update will fix it.. Tho with me not being the only one with the problem, contacting them together in some way might get them to solve it sooner?

edit: searched some more today about this topic, seems it is a very common problem with asus motherboards specifically with am5. One source being overclock forums another source would be this one where people talk about asus being rather bad the past few years. So not sure if contacting them will do much.. I really shouldn't have gone for asus, darnit

kaixax555

i think asus mobo having issues with some ram...... maybe default the ram setting?
I also suspect just this Asus board being not great

Like I said in the AMD thread, I have two friends who have these boards, one of them faced similar issues to TS, brought back to shop and the issue was gone after they flashed an older BIOS (1222 in his case)

bukitview

I also suspect just this Asus board being not great

Like I said in the AMD thread, I have two friends who have these boards, one of them faced similar issues to TS, brought back to shop and the issue was gone after they flashed an older BIOS (1222 in his case)
How to flash the Bios when the screen is totally blank, no boot screen?

I already have the 1222 bios downloaded to thumbdrive

kaixax555

How to flash the Bios when the screen is totally blank, no boot screen?

I already have the 1222 bios downloaded to thumbdrive
Plug in the thumb drive in the USB (in white box), turn on the PC and press the BIOS flashback button at the back of the mobo

79671c1f-8c6f-4658-baff-b576801f4388

You don't need to be in BIOS to flash BIOS, BIOS Flashback can even be used without a CPU installed

wongminmin

Terrible motherboard. Save your money. I tried everything from bios update and setting everything to default, this motherboard fails to boot 70% of the time! Now I have to buy more thermal paste and spend another 3 hours installing a different motherboard as soon as I have the time to return this one... genuinely regret this purchase.

This product came DOA. I took it to a tech place and they even couldn't install the bios. I know it says in the reviews how to do it and we followed those steps along with the steps on manual and yet it wouldn't detect the monitor or the graphics card. It seems reading the recent reviews all of the motherboards from December to February seem to be faulty. Dont purchase this until they fix the issues with this motherboard or invest in another motherboard.

Completely bricked and wouldn't boot with a DRAM issue 2 months in so I can't even return it. Avoid this motherboard.

DOA, pc wouldnt stay booted. Swapped another mobo into it, works fine now. tried to do a return through Asus as the pc wasn't used for more than a month after building it, recieved the run around saying they would send out an email with a ahipping label to have it fixed, never received it. Called them again, turns out they sent it to the wrong email, sent it again, and again sent it to the wrong email.

Installing windows went fine but the second I turned it off completely and turned it back on got a blank screen. Tried restarting again, flashed multiple different bios versions with bios flasher, reseted cmos by removing the battery, all the usual tech tricks and would sometimes boot into windows when it felt like it but LED indicators would get stuck on green or just blank.

BUY A DIFFERENT MOTHERBOARD! This one is riddled with issues and not worth the headache! Also would hard crash or not POST whenever I enabled preconfigured settings with RAM sticks.

Even though I used Sticks on the QL list the motherboard would not post. I updated bios, I bought More RAM. I tried every single slot. I cleared CMOS. I troubleshooted for days, and It wouldn't post. As soon as I swapped out the MOBO for an MSI board it posted instantly. Save yourself the headache and buy something more stable.

bukitview

Done the flash until the Bios flash back led indicator stopped flashing, no change to my problem

Dram Q-LED is lighted up as orange, will let it train clock cycles for 10 mins before updating again

anyway thanks all for helping a stranger

Phen8210

neeed train 10 minute wtf??? 3min no boot i think can off liao.

bukitview

Tried to flash all these versions of Bios, no result on my Asus Tuf B650M

1410 beta

kimsix

Done the flash until the Bios flash back led indicator stopped flashing, no change to my problem

Dram Q-LED is lighted up as orange, will let it train clock cycles for 10 mins before updating again

anyway thanks all for helping a stranger

can you try take out both sticks of dram, and reinsert them but with more force evenly across. press down hard and straight.

mine also stuck at dram initially, but i saw reddit got case needed to insert dram hard into asus mobo. So i did and finally got it to post. :o

bukitview

Oh gosh, finally got it to boot after like 3 hours of torture

had to really push ram very deep in, even when u think it’s in, push more

Thanks all

kaixax555

Great to see the problem resolved.

btw can help me with something?

Let me know if your mobo can run 6000 Expo, because I had a friend with same mobo who can't run 6000

Phen8210

can you try take out both sticks of dram, and reinsert them but with more force evenly across. press down hard and straight.

mine also stuck at dram initially, but i saw reddit got case needed to insert dram hard into asus mobo. So i did and finally got it to post. :o

jialat leh, like tht means asus qc really CMI..

if i get this type of board, i confirm refund straight.

down the road this will pose unnecessary wear to the ram slot if a lot of forced is required to install

this means if u wan to resell this board the person buying may face issue n it become ur problem lol

Kapish

Oh gosh, finally got it to boot after like 3 hours of torture

had to really push ram very deep in, even when u think it’s in, push more

Thanks all
yup that's why i ask you to try reseat your RAM. not sure why asus motherboard ram slot only have retaining clip on one side. any movement can jolt the ram loose on the side without the clip. anyway glad to see your problem resolved

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.