New PC for New Home

Looking to move into me new place soon.
Looking to setup me new cave soon.

Setting up a pc for all around 1080p gaming.

Part Price
MSI H110i pro ac + i5 7400 $375
Kingston PC4 2133 8GB DDR4 $83
Palit GTX 1070 8GB $558
Samsung 250GB 750 EVO SSD $124
Toshiba 2TB drive $80
FSP HEXA PSU 550W $70
phanteks enthoo evolv itx $129
$1419 total

Any better suggestions for ard a 1400~1500 budget?
all ideas welcome. aesthetic ideas as well.

i'm still thinking how to do up the room to show off the rig.
expecting some custom carpentry, do share how u did yours.

I've always been using 27" 1080p monitor.
Not sure whether gd idea to move up to QHD. old liao text too small maybe?
BENQ GW2765 $589 OR LG 27MP38VQ (1080p) $265

singupingu

- Upgrade to i5-7500. Better cost/performance ratio.
- Get a budget ssd like OCZ. Similar performance but cheaper.
- Get a better psu. Evga B500 or Superflower leadex silver will be better choice.
- 1440p monitor is up to you. I don't think you need the upgrade but that's my two cents. Text sizes can be adjusted within windows.

Sent from Overpowered Phone Mark III using GAGT

Providence

- Upgrade to i5-7500. Better cost/performance ratio.
- Get a budget ssd like OCZ. Similar performance but cheaper.
- Get a better psu. Evga B500 or Superflower leadex silver will be better choice.
- 1440p monitor is up to you. I don't think you need the upgrade but that's my two cents. Text sizes can be adjusted within windows.

I thought Kingston's SSD is the cheapest now? :s11:

thanks all. interesting notes on ssd.
For 250gb the price quite close i tink:
SK Hynix SL301 SSD Canvas 2.5-Inch 250 GB $118
Kingston 240 GB $120

any recommendations for anything i can get cheaper off amazon?
building an amazon order for some other stuff now.

Psycovirus

Looking to move into me new place soon.
Looking to setup me new cave soon.

Setting up a pc for all around 1080p gaming.

Part Price
MSI H110i pro ac + i5 7400 $375
Kingston PC4 2133 8GB DDR4 $83
Palit GTX 1070 8GB $558
Samsung 250GB 750 EVO SSD $124
Toshiba 2TB drive $80
FSP HEXA PSU 550W $70
phanteks enthoo evolv itx $129
$1419 total

Any better suggestions for ard a 1400~1500 budget?
all ideas welcome. aesthetic ideas as well.

i'm still thinking how to do up the room to show off the rig.
expecting some custom carpentry, do share how u did yours.

I've always been using 27" 1080p monitor.
Not sure whether gd idea to move up to QHD. old liao text too small maybe?
BENQ GW2765 $589 OR LG 27MP38VQ (1080p) $265

27" 1440p QHD is just nice for text size. Not too small.
Qnix 27" around $320 on Qoo10, great budget QHD Monitor but no warranty. (I have a 27" Qnix for 4 years+ without issue)

And never cheap out on a PSU.
FSP is fine but a modular PSU from SEASONIC G SERIES 550W MODULAR at $139 is a great investment.

Samsung's is damn expensive. :s13:

Samsung maybe expensive but their performance matches it's price...

Psycovirus

thanks all. interesting notes on ssd.
For 250gb the price quite close i tink:
SK Hynix SL301 SSD Canvas 2.5-Inch 250 GB $118
Kingston 240 GB $120

any recommendations for anything i can get cheaper off amazon?
building an amazon order for some other stuff now.

Amazon has much cheaper prices, just don't exceed SGD $400 or there will be a 7% GST...

You can get SSD/Ram/HDD(Seagate) from Amazon for cheaper...

They will not have local warranty though, just a warning. However, these parts don't fail easily.
Seagate usually allow RMA as long as you've valid serial number regardless of where you bought it from.

Providence

27" 1440p QHD is just nice for text size. Not too small.
Qnix 27" around $320 on Qoo10, great budget QHD Monitor but no warranty. (I have a 27" Qnix for 4 years+ without issue)

And never cheap out on a PSU.
FSP is fine but a modular PSU from SEASONIC G SERIES 550W MODULAR at $139 is a great investment.

Samsung maybe expensive but their performance matches it's price...

Nowadays, we don't need a high-powered PSU anymore? :eek:

Anyway, 550W is enough to power a gaming PC?

OK! I am super outdated liao... I am still stuck in the old days... Where a powerful gaming rig needs a high-powered PSU.

Psycovirus

OK! I am super outdated liao... I am still stuck in the old days... Where a powerful gaming rig needs a high-powered PSU.

OuterVision PSU Calculator part list

Motherboard: Desktop
CPU: 1 x Intel Core i5-7500
CPU Speed: 3800MHz
CPU Vcore: 1.2V
CPU Utilization: 90%
Memory: 2 x 8GB DDR4 Module
Video Card Set 1: 1 x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Core Clock: 1695MHz
Memory Clock: 2002MHz
Storage: 1 x SSD
Storage: 1 x SATA 7.2K RPM
Other Device: 4 x USB 3.0 Device
Keyboard: 1 x Standard Keyboard
Mouse: 1 x Standard Mouse
Fan: 3 x 120mm
Computer Utilization: 8 hours per day
Load Wattage: 346W
Recommended Wattage: 396W
Amperage: +3.3V: 10.0A, +5V: 12.1A, +12V: 25.2A
Recommended UPS Rating: 700VA
Generated by OuterVision PSU Calculator

Just standard calculation from OuterVision PSU Calculator...

396 Watts, Add about 100 Watts to be safe, 500 Watts~~

So 550W is more than enough to handle 1 graphic card, 1 cpu...

Recent Nvidia and Intel chips all very power efficient. Use so little energy yet give so much performance... this is due to die size shrink to 14nm along with architectural improvements

Fatfool

For most people, a high powered PSU has never been needed. And hardware now has been creeping up in power consumption over the years. Hence going from single slot heatsinks to dual slot full cover heatsinks and blowers.

This proposed rig will do fine on 350 or 400W. Hell I used to run a dual operon rig on a 750W PSU. No sweat.

singupingu

Make it simpler for you.
i5-7500 + GTX 1060 - 450W
i5-7500 + GTX 1070 - 500W
i5-7500 + GTX 1080 - 550W

But it's not absolutely true for all cases, but generally it's acceptable.

Providence

Hahaha...

Back then, I used the OCZ ModXtream-Pro 700W for one year and it just kaput.

That time, I even saw a branded 1200W PSU been sold on the shelves in SLS.

I have to wait for 1 month for the RMA to process. :s8:

In the end, I bought a Seasonic PSU instead and used till now ever since.

Hahaha...

Back then, I used the OCZ ModXtream-Pro 700W for one year and it just kaput.

That time, I even saw a branded 1200W PSU been sold on the shelves in SLS.

I have to wait for 1 month for the RMA to process. :s8:

In the end, I bought a Seasonic PSU instead and used till now ever since.

i've had the good fortune of only once having a PSU died on me. I've used everything from bargain bin taiwans to mainstream brands.

but i guess the general rule of thumb is to use reputable brands. 450w can run anything unless u run multi gfx or 10 drive file servers

i used mostly seasonic and fsp for my mid-tier systems and file servers. my htpc setups all use chupalang nonsense one (i dun expect high power draws from these types, loss is minimal in event of disaster oso).

i'm looking at pinterest setups of the angmos. all jin swee. contemplating a wall mounted setup or at least some sort of wall mounted display.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.