New scam method

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Moonnite_Firefly

this is not new scam lah... this one has been around for years liao... scammer posting as police or CID or public servants not a new thing~~ :frown:

fire

Why so troublesome? Just jitao tell if crime was committed feel free to come arrest with arrest warrant and put down the phone 🤣

Ye_Rongtian

PHMlN6L.jpeg
https://mothership.sg/2024/12/nric-numbers-publicly-listed-acra/

When Mothership tried out the feature on Dec. 13, we were able to access the NRIC details of quite a few Singapore Citizens — including ourselves.

The NRIC numbers of many public figures — including cabinet ministers — were readily available.

cstanhwz

They can change the number anytime.

Just be careful. Especially your elderly parents, remind them to transfer the call to you if they receive any funny call like these.

enimen

Gx gx. The scammers arm chio knowing he wasted you some transport money. He can sleep well tonight

snowcrabramyeon

Hi all, if you receive a call from 91369117, pls don’t pick up… its a scam that sounds very real 😅I nearly kena scammed and just finished making police report..
Please send this number to Scamshield so that it is appropriately tagged

blackie83

Police will not inform you go down station. They arrest you on the spot one. Did the caller got jiu Hu slang? So far I canna all Tiong speak Chinese. You just say no speak English they will hang up.

MrAwesomeX

this is not new scam lah... this one has been around for years liao... scammer posting as police or CID or public servants not a new thing~~ :frown:

ICA is most norm .

Gahmen wun call to ask you for money .

They just send letter to summon you 😂

Or send police directly to your address .

evilduxy

i mean y would police call u on a handphone no.? see this shld be wary abit liao just kup hone go npp n check lor

MrAwesomeX

Bare minimum the scammers have your name, phone number and NRIC

But it’s ok because Mdm Dowager and Pappy says these are not confidential info, ok to release, leaked multiple times by their agencies liao

Meanwhile I’ve yet to see them publicly release their own IC numbers, it’s probably not even listed on ACRA

Most our data has been leaked to dark web from moh hacks and other Telco hacking etc .

We just been kept in dark only .

Moonnite_Firefly

ICA is most norm .

Gahmen wun call to ask you for money .

They just send letter to summon you 😂

Or send police directly to your address .
another one scammers post as gong an from china... say you involve in some criminal activity den must pay fine if not will send gong an come sg arrest you~~ :s13:

Lchlch

Gotten this message from a friend:

Hi all, if you receive a call from 91369117, pls don’t pick up… its a scam that sounds very real 😅I nearly kena scammed and just finished making police report..

He says he is Jason yew from police anti scam dept and he can read out my full name and IC.

Then he says that my name and ic have been used to register a prepaid mobile number at SingTel Tampines Mall. I said no I did not. He said the number has been used to send many investment scam msgs to citizens and that my existing number will get terminated if I dun report in 1hr. He wanted to connect me to commercial affairs dept via phone to help with the reporting.

I asked why he has my real number he said he has it in the system. And if I dun believe I can go down to police cantonment complex and meet him at level 3 and he will help me to proceed with the reporting. guy seemed like he was genuinely trying to help me...ask me if i recall signing up for something recently..that maybe caused my details to leak..and he speaks with local sounding english!

I told him fine I don’t believe you and I will go to the police cantonment building.. so I booked grab to go down in case it was real while calling 1799 to check on the number. In the end u turn to nearby police post to report it..😅
You should go there n check, thrn report to police if scam calls.

Bumperbee88

Gotten this message from a friend:

He says he is Jason yew from police anti scam dept and he can read out my full name and IC.

Then he says that my name and ic have been used to register a prepaid mobile number at SingTel Tampines Mall. I said no I did not. He said the number has been used to send many investment scam msgs to citizens and that my existing number will get terminated if I dun report in 1hr. He wanted to connect me to commercial affairs dept via phone to help with the reporting.

I asked why he has my real number he said he has it in the system. And if I dun believe I can go down to police cantonment complex and meet him at level 3 and he will help me to proceed with the reporting. guy seemed like he was genuinely trying to help me...ask me if i recall signing up for something recently..that maybe caused my details to leak..and he speaks with local sounding english!

I told him fine I don’t believe you and I will go to the police cantonment building.. so I booked grab to go down in case it was real while calling 1799 to check on the number. In the end u turn to nearby police post to report it..😅

That scamer is so childish. Only dumb fools will believe him. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
o_O

ts actually took the trouble to go down Cantonment
then made a u turn to make a polis report?

why go one big round? :s22:
when u could have checked first beforehand? :look:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.