New scam ?

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

coldsea

Hey everyone, I need your help checking if this is a new scam.

I received a call this evening from someone who called me by my nickname, something like "ah boy." A nick where my father side relative always call me. He told me it was his new number and asked me to add him on WhatsApp. I thought it was my uncle from my father's side because they usually call me by that nickname. After adding him and saying hi on WhatsApp, nothing much happened.

But then I started feeling suspicious, so I called my cousin, and he said his father hadn't changed his number. I tried calling back the number, but it went straight to voicemail.

Don't know is it a new scam if so. What they want to achieve?

dambio

I received a call this evening from someone who called me by my nickname, something like "ah boy." A nick where my father side relative always call me. He told me it was his new number and asked me to add him on WhatsApp. I thought it was my uncle from my father's side because they usually call me by that nickname. After adding him and saying hi on WhatsApp, nothing much happened.

But then I started feeling suspicious, so I called my cousin, and he said his father hadn't changed his number. I tried calling back the number, but it went straight to voicemail.

Too many ppl to scam liao. U hv to wait Ur turn till they get back to u.

DigDub

This kind they know your name, but they dunno who they are. So just tell them a fictitious name they will anyhow say yes. Confirm scam liao.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
this pattern alrd repeatedly being mentioned around here from others as well
since last year? :s22:

DynamiteZerg

Confirm scam... they just randomly use some nickname to see if you fall for it. Ah Boy or Ah Girl as nickname is quite common in the 70s/80s/early 90s.

These type of scammers will never tell you who they are. The moment you assumed they are someone you know and say are you "XXX"? They will confirm say yes. Or alternatively you say you dunno who they are, they will ask you to guess. Then same pattern, the first one you guess they will say they are that person!

First hook you liao, later the scam is show u a screen capture of their online bank account with lots of money. Then tell you they got problem transferring money and ask you help to transfer first and later pay you back. After that they will disappear.

BBClone

No wonder everyday there are so many sinkies who lose millions to scammers.

Such an old trick still got ignorant cave men unaware of it. Police already reminded the public how many times of this particular long-lost friend/relative scam?

Why do people not open their eyes and be more aware of current affairs?

coldsea

No wonder everyday so many sinkies lose millions to scammers.

Such an old trick still got ignorant cave men unaware of it. Police already remind the public how many times of this particular long-lost friend/relative scam?

Why do people not open their eyes and be more aware of current affairs?
Haiz.. yar loh. I also find myself stupid go add him in whatapp. Anyway block him in whatapp liao.

That moment very busy and is something my uncle will do. Asking me just add him in whatapp.

coldsea

U sud call speak directly to ur unker ask how is he doing
Just happen he also change number but i did check with my cousin.

Thank you everyone pointing out. After talk to my cousin I know high chance it's a scam. But also thinking how the scam going to work.

So isit like they make me add them in whatapp 1st then is next steps like transfer money or what.

The voice confrim is local -.- very similar to my uncle loh.. maybe all loc uncle sound similar in some ways.

W1n7f1r3

Just happen he also change number but i did check with my cousin.

Thank you everyone pointing out. After talk to my cousin I know high chance it's a scam. But also thinking how the scam going to work.

So isit like they make me add them in whatapp 1st then is next steps like transfer money or what.

The voice confrim is local -.- very similar to my uncle loh.. maybe all loc uncle sound similar in some ways.
Probably will send u link n then tempt u wif perks first then slowly ask u to transfer marnee
They hav many tricks up their sleeves

odyas

I once got a scammed call too, i identify myself as Tan Yak Chin, and he say yah yah.. Very apparently, he never surf EDMW!

identity_1991

I received a call from someone as well who addressed me by my name. Then told me he change number and ask me to use this instead. I’m like okay but who are you? And he say wah lao, you hear my voice you cannot guess meh?

And I’m like ohhh Jonathan from courts is it? And he was like ya la i work with you before. And I went you cbk when you gonna return me the 10k you borrow 2 years ago? %*#%$@. Then he humji and hang up.

My guess is all our info got leaked from the series of data leaks in the likes of SingHealth, Whizcomm, etc. where scammers can just buy our data with our name and numbers to call.

coldsea

I received a call from someone as well who addressed me by my name. Then told me he change number and ask me to use this instead. I’m like okay but who are you? And he say wah lao, you hear my voice you cannot guess meh?

And I’m like ohhh Jonathan from courts is it? And he was like ya la i work with you before. And I went you cbk when you gonna return me the 10k you borrow 2 years ago? %*#%$@. Then he humji and hang up.

My guess is all our info got leaked from the series of data leaks in the likes of SingHealth, Whizcomm, etc. where scammers can just buy our data with our name and numbers to call.
Yar loh.. nowdays really must super alert especially with all this dataleak.

pippo20

No this one not scam, pls respond asap when he msg u for help.

Seriously how many thousands comms from police, banks, media all useless, u this simpleton can open thread ask. Amazing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.