New Ubiquiti setup! Still a work in progress.

kashix

57-FFC7-F5-3-B67-486-C-B743-BFD981-F5-F1-C4.jpg

Bought the 7 Pro XG to try it out while waiting for the UCG Fiber to be in stock

kashix

Anyone using U7 Pro XG, wondering why does the 5GHz and 2.4GHz only giving 802.11AX for PHY Mode? 6GHz is fine, it does BE for PHY Mode.

Found the solution, for some reasons, U7 Pro XG will only negotiate BE if encryption is only WPA3.

ykeen

57-FFC7-F5-3-B67-486-C-B743-BFD981-F5-F1-C4.jpg

Bought the 7 Pro XG to try it out while waiting for the UCG Fiber to be in stock
US no stock meh. Thought I saw have stock.
Think I shd unbox to play and upgrade firmware first before electrician fix it up. Haven’t got time to do it.

kashix

US no stock meh. Thought I saw have stock.
Think I shd unbox to play and upgrade firmware first before electrician fix it up. Haven’t got time to do it.
Have but idk how to ship it over 😭 I running the XG now, the XG is damn hot sia. I read a bit they say super hard to get it shipped over, any tips bro? @ykeen what fwd to use?

mahler_qs

Have but idk how to ship it over 😭 I running the XG now, the XG is damn hot sia. I read a bit they say super hard to get it shipped over, any tips bro? @ykeen what fwd to use?
Just managed to set up XGS and its super hot. Run it with a POE++ adapter.

Sadly, my 2x uacc-cm-rj45-mg just cant work on my UCG Fiber port 6 and 7. Headache...

I got mine from Biz**** but paid a huge premium. Maybe you just wait until more stocks shipping into SG then buy at a much lower price.

kashix

Sadly, my 2x uacc-cm-rj45-mg just cant work on my UCG Fiber port 6 and 7. Headache...

I got mine from Biz**** but paid a huge premium. Maybe you just wait until more stocks shipping into SG then buy at a much lower price.
Haha, I got it from Biz**** too, I bought 1 XG and 1 PoE+ injector .. You got your UCG Cloud from them too?
Now more familiar with their interface already, okay is much better than traditional kind.
How useful is the XGS spectral scanning radio? I was contemplating XG or XGS but went with XG as it was cheaper.

Why you can't use your SFP+ to RJ45 Adapter?

Rmb to set WPA3 only to devices that you want to run full bandwidth and link at WiFi 7 BE
For mine, even setting to WPA2/WPA3 will drop the link to WiFi 6 only.

mahler_qs

Haha, I got it from Biz**** too, I bought 1 XG and 1 PoE+ injector .. You got your UCG Cloud from them too?
Now more familiar with their interface already, okay is much better than traditional kind.
How useful is the XGS spectral scanning radio? I was contemplating XG or XGS but went with XG as it was cheaper.

Why you can't use your SFP+ to RJ45 Adapter?
yeah i got my UCG fiber from them. That was around 2nd half of March. I just tried the spectrum analyser and I am impressed. I just managed to get it set up just 2 hours ago to get things running first. Then slowly play with it. I had some issues - tried to segregate 1 network to be solely 2.4ghz and another as 5 and 6ghz but cant get it worked. So gave up, and have one sole 2.4ghz for IOT and another one with 2.5/5/6ghz.

On the SFP+ to RJ45 Adapter - really no idea. My UCG Fiber could detect it based on the console management UI. However, it just cannot get connected. No lights when i plugged in my RJ45.

kashix

yeah i got my UCG fiber from them. That was around 2nd half of March. I just tried the spectrum analyser and I am impressed. I just managed to get it set up just 2 hours ago to get things running first. Then slowly play with it. I had some issues - tried to segregate 1 network to be solely 2.4ghz and another as 5 and 6ghz but cant get it worked. So gave up, and have one sole 2.4ghz for IOT and another one with 2.5/5/6ghz.

On the SFP+ to RJ45 Adapter - really no idea. My UCG Fiber could detect it based on the console management UI. However, it just cannot get connected. No lights when i plugged in my RJ45.
I did what you wanted to ...
I segregated the network to 2.4GHz to 1 SSID for IoT and legacy devices, if needed.
Main network combined 5/6GHz as one, disabled band-steering as I want the devices to prioritise 6GHz. I have no need for 2.4GHz on this main network. I did the setup late last night, got it up working 1st and troubleshooted this whole afternoon, optimising it. Now finally ok liao. Got some issues like what you faced, have to troubleshoot 1 by 1. Wife was making noise saying I took too much time to do this, haizzz. Now she's happily gaming on her iPhone on the Wi-Fi.

You might need to dig reddit/forums to see if anyone have such issues with SFP+ to RJ45 Adapter.
I PM you bro for more info!

ykeen

Update firmware?

Or I guess need to hardcode it to 10Gbps full duplex ?

mahler_qs

Update firmware?

Or I guess need to hardcode it to 10Gbps full duplex ?
thanks! i tried - somehow cannot work. It happened when i tried to use Port 7 SFP+ port as my WAN port. Then it couldnt work. I tot it could be due to my SH being 5gbps. Now i have XGS, it still couldnt work. Saw people facing similar issues on Reddit and they shutting down UCG Fiber, install the SFP+ adaptor in, then boot UCG Fiber up or, use TP Link 5310T SFP+ adaptor. I tried the first method and it didnt work. I will find time and figure the issue again.

I have got the most updated firmware already.

mahler_qs

I did what you wanted to ...
I segregated the network to 2.4GHz to 1 SSID for IoT and legacy devices, if needed.
Main network combined 5/6GHz as one, disabled band-steering as I want the devices to prioritise 6GHz. I have no need for 2.4GHz on this main network. I did the setup late last night, got it up working 1st and troubleshooted this whole afternoon, optimising it. Now finally ok liao. Got some issues like what you faced, have to troubleshoot 1 by 1. Wife was making noise saying I took too much time to do this, haizzz. Now she's happily gaming on her iPhone on the Wi-Fi.

You might need to dig reddit/forums to see if anyone have such issues with SFP+ to RJ45 Adapter.
I PM you bro for more info!
Thanks! Ya need to spend time to troubleshoot.

ykeen

thanks! i tried - somehow cannot work. It happened when i tried to use Port 6 SFP+ port as my WAN port. Then it couldnt work. I tot it could be due to my SH being 5gbps. Now i have XGS, it still couldnt work. Saw people facing similar issues on Reddit and they shutting down UCG Fiber, install the SFP+ adaptor in, then boot UCG Fiber up or, use TP Link 5310T SFP+ adaptor. I tried the first method and it didnt work. I will find time and figure the issue again.

wah i havent setup mine, so this could happen to me
try open a ticket with Ubiquiti

kashix

thanks! i tried - somehow cannot work. It happened when i tried to use Port 6 SFP+ port as my WAN port. Then it couldnt work. I tot it could be due to my SH being 5gbps. Now i have XGS, it still couldnt work. Saw people facing similar issues on Reddit and they shutting down UCG Fiber, install the SFP+ adaptor in, then boot UCG Fiber up or, use TP Link 5310T SFP+ adaptor. I tried the first method and it didnt work. I will find time and figure the issue again.

I saw the post/thread that it works with the TP-Link SFP+ to RJ45, you might want to buy that one instead.
Both of you try 1st, @ykeen @mahler_qs, once I do it for my new home, I likely will use same setup as you guys lol ...

mahler_qs

I saw the post/thread that it works with the TP-Link SFP+ to RJ45, you might want to buy that one instead.
Both of you try 1st, @ykeen @mahler_qs, once I do it for my new home, I likely will use same setup as you guys lol ...
haha another time then buy. SFP+ adaptor not cheap. Bought 2 Unifi brand some more and cannot work.. I will live with my current set up first. Just feel a bit disappointed cos XGS running on 2.5gbe uplink only.. haha.

kashix

haha another time then buy. SFP+ adaptor not cheap. Bought 2 Unifi brand some more and cannot work.. I will live with my current set up first. Just feel a bit disappointed cos XGS running on 2.5gbe uplink only.. haha.

Screenshot-20250713-002256-Speedtest.jpg

Your setup exact same as mine, Starhub 5Gbps. The XG uplink to my 10G Router, powered by the PoE+ 2.5G Adapter but was able to get some good results on my S25 Ultra.

Setup:
S25 Ultra
BE WiFi 7 320MHz

limck

I’ve no issues using old fiber SFP+ modules on the UXG fiber port 6 as uplink to my switch.
you can try to install both SFP+ modules on ports 6 and 7 of your UCG just to test if they are working with your cable.

tohchr

What range? I got it from SIM LIM Tower at around $400+ (XGS)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.