NEW WAY Of calculating F U MONEY!!

SoulEraser

your wall of text can simply be annual salary multiply by 65 - current age.

that's a dumb way to calculate.

easiest way(without inflation) is take monthly expenses multiply by 300.

with a 4% withdrawal rate, your money will last you without drawing down on your capital.

fulaien

My friend recently shared with me a new and simple way of calculating if you have enough to SAY F U BOSS. Not the usual unrealistic and too low level like 2 years of emergency funds and so on...This is the real F U Money

Basically like this:

X : Your Age
Y: Annual Salary/12

F U MONEY = (65 -X)*12*Y

Assuming retire at 65 Years Old.
Assuming no more increment.
Assuming you still have housing loan which you will service till 65 yo.

So for example:

X, Age: 40
Y, Salary: $200000 / 12 = $16666

F U MONEY = 25*12*16666 = $4999800 = $5m

Conclusion: The amount of REAL F U MONEY you need to have NOW is the amount of SALARY you would have earned from NOW to 65yo. If you already have this amount, that is TRUE F U!
Ts curse people all die at 65?

So if you are 65 yo now, you need (65-65) x annual salary = 0?

Hypernova

if TS use annual salary x no. of years from current to retirement, how are you going to earn that money if your projected retirement sum is equal to your salary?

toto? big sweep? all-in at casino?

give you a hypothetical qn, a 40yo earning 100k a year needs 2.5million to retire, then a person earning 1million a year how? 25 million to retire? then a person who only earn 20,000 a year leh? just need 500,000 to retire?

Joe Maya

Annual salary u guys include bonus,aws & employer's CPF ?

BlackWing1977

Not important la. Be contented and enjoy the current moment is more important.
Yeah a lot of people keep saying must plan this or that for retirement can enjoy your fruits of labor.. but looking at how many young people just drop dead without warning signs.... just learn to be content, if need to enjoy just do as long you dun go overboard lar.

SBC

My friend recently shared with me a new and simple way of calculating if you have enough to SAY F U BOSS. Not the usual unrealistic and too low level like 2 years of emergency funds and so on...This is the real F U Money

Basically like this:

F U MONEY = (65 -X)*12*Y

So for example:

Conclusion: The amount of REAL F U MONEY you need to have NOW is the amount of SALARY you would have earned from NOW to 65yo. If you already have this amount, that is TRUE F U!
Let me summarize for you.
FU$ is (No of year to 65)*yearly income

Nesplex

Basically like this:

F U MONEY = (65 -X)*12*Y

So for example:

Annual $200k is below average by EDMW's standards.

greenitude

This is a better FU Formula for true happiness:
Highest salary among my social circle * (110 - current age) + cost of biggest house among social circle + maxed out CPF

People can only be happy relative to other people. If the entire social circle is rich and you are not, gg.

If kids are involved, they also need to inherit lots of money probably. Add this sum for each kid.
(Number of kids * Infinity)

SBC

25 * Yearly expenses is a better answer any time.

RinoaX

Aiyo ts ah. You just learnt about maths in school want to hao lian is it.

Better pay more attention to teacher first.

esandwich

count until so jialat....tell your friend just diam diam work la

Basically like this:

F U MONEY = (65 -X)*12*Y

So for example:

televisione

At the minimum, you would need to account for inflation at 3%.
So realistically and according to your theory, you would need $7,291,853 for 25 years.

Go learn about investing, and you'll learn that you need $5 million to withdraw $200,000 annually using the 4% rule without depleting your funds.

fulaien

TS maths fail.

Anyway a right way to calculate is

(Life expectancy (eg. 80) - Current age) × year expense
Can take into account 3% inflation increased in yearly expenses

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.