News| No longer a must-have? Why some Singapore malls are swapping cinemas for gyms and tuition centres

gaul_ads

duh... who still goes to cinemas to watch movies nowadays when you have netflix and torrents

gyms and tuition centres bring more traffic to the mall and leads to more spending
But why other country cinema still my and booming?

Newtype_com

Every 6 months just subscribe to Disney+ for 1 month

Can watch all the MCU movies in the comfort of your home

jimboyboy

It is too expensive to go cinema to watch a movie.

Yes, weekend even if go JB to watch movies, it's only RM23.80nett or less than S$8. Non-weekdays I ever watched, around RM14 or below S$5, which is Singapore's movie price some 30 years ago.

Of course worth it iif you go JB do other activities too.

klim668

I wouldn’t even step into a mall with many tuition or enrichment centres. Dunno why the mall thinks all these can increase footfall? Probably the only people who will go into these malls will be the kids and their parents.
There are areas they just don't build those hdb shop houses anymore liao, so they build a "mall" and throw everything inside. That's why some newer hdb estates like SK u see they have this kind of low ses malls scattered sround the area. Those are not full fledged malls but more like just a "air-con building" that houses businesses/services cater for the neighbourhood like tuition centres, GP clinics, barber shops, stationary shops, chinese tonic shops, etc, all boring like fuk.

mirukuboi

Went to the new Cathy. After the second floor, it feels like those old shopping malls full of tuition and education centres, salons and what not.

cal127

Cinemas used to be one of the people's favourite hangout places...

Until mall operators starts increasing rental that caused cinema operators to hike up movie ticket prices...

And why rent hiked? Because of inflated electricity, utilities prices? Because of inflated licensing prices? Because of greedy landlords?

Reallly orbigoot...

Scarcity because of supply and demand but mostly because of greedy landlords including govt prioritizing higher rental yields. Who controls those factors? Mainly our rent-seeking govt. This has nothing to do with Hollywood, cinema business dying or going out of style. its the same with many F&B. :s13:

Globe

chan chun sing change portfolio then jitao bo hiew his tuition agenda

klim668

Not all. Yes to The Ten Commandments, Star Wars trilogy.
The rest on big TV screen.

The classics and epic films need excellent scripts (narratives, dialogues etc), scenes, music/OSTs, good surround & stereo audio system to match the music + big screen to create optimum engagement for the audience.

These movies for example:
Ben Hur
The Ten Commandments
Indiana Jones
Star Wars
(the opening crawl and music)

Ben Hur - Parade of the Charioteers

The Ten Commandments - Parting of The Red Sea scene

Indiana Jones

You must be quite senior liao on edmw. :oops:
Nowadays watch cinema don't have the feeling of "theater experience" liao. Sometimes watch movies on TV at home the experience is even better.

TehOPengSiuDai

Tuition centre brings in the footfall as parents will need a place to chill/eat. Hence will have all the cafes and restaurants. In turn, bring in revenue
Parents, if waiting for their kids to finish class, the most is buy a drink and sit there and use HP. One drink and they hog the seats and table for 1-2 hours. Dunno how the cafe or restaurant can earn money

kingmaker888

u cannot take the cake and eat it, when u push for higher property prices something has to give man

watsonsface

gym at least u exercise lose weight
cinema u sit down watch tv grow fat and stupid

hope govt ban all cinemas in singapore
unless they sell fruit juices

cal127

Nowadays watch cinema don't have the feeling of "theater experience" liao. Sometimes watch movies on TV at home the experience is even better.

I rarely hear anyone making such a bold claim that even with the vast streaming options it could replicate the cinema experience. You must have one helluva private theater at home. :s13:

Calis_Yoda

No lah, I'm only in my mid 40s.

For Ben Hur, The Ten Commandments and Dr Zhivago, I watched them during the "10 Classic films of All Time" festival in the Shaw Theatres Lido (Shaw cinema in Orchard Road long ago, if anyone remember it).

For movie musicals, for example, I watched them on TV and vds/dvds I borrowed from libraries.

1 example of movie musicals I watched on TV and vcd/dvd, which have an iconic, immersive and engaging opening.

The Sound of Music opening scene

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.