[NEWS] Singtel to shut down ageing ADSL network in April 2018

amazingone

Why is the advantages of keeping the analogue line instead of changing to digital line?

If change to digital line, need to transfer ownership? Or just cancel analogue line?

What's the router model given?

Sent from Pocoyo fan club using GAGT
Advantages of analogue line are:
- No power needed to keep the home phone powered
- Able to support alarm systems, fax machine etc.
- Able to receive calls even if internet is down

Should be able to transfer ownership too if you intend to change to digital line from analogue line.

Singtel will be issuing the AC1900 AC Elite router by Arcadyan.

amazingone

Just did the migration at the hello shop at AMK Hub :o

Now have to wait for installation this coming Friday..

amazingone

wahh!!! reli fast for them to arrange installation... cham, my cso haven got back to me abt my migration after i rece email for the successful transfer of ownership of home analogue line...
Yeah, I was surprised that got installation date available within a week. Maybe nowadays don't have much installation job as compared to the past. :o

I think they will contact you by tomorrow, because tomorrow is working day. :s13:

kw442

Yeah, I was surprised that got installation date available within a week. Maybe nowadays don't have much installation job as compared to the past. :o

I think they will contact you by tomorrow, because tomorrow is working day. :s13:

That's fast.

The first installation should be Opennet people come down to "activate" fibre point while the second installation is ST engineer deliver ONT/ONR + Wifi/AP + Setup/Testing.

amazingone

hopefully.... lol, with 45k adsl ppl scrambling to migrate, have to say singtel is efficient... :s13:
Got customers want to migrate early, they confirm must hurry up.. :o

My father was speculating that Singtel may extend the deadline of the ADSL closure haha, don't know will Singtel do it since they still have 45k ADSL users remaining..

amazingone

That's fast.

The first installation should be Opennet people come down to "activate" fibre point while the second installation is ST engineer deliver ONT/ONR + Wifi/AP + Setup/Testing.
Unexpectedly fast considering this week is the IT Show and there could be a surge of fibre installation haha.. :o

Yeah, there's this NLT activation on the 21st then Singtel installation on the 23rd. The staff say there's no need to do anything on the 21st, only need to prepare for the installation on the 23rd.

renfred89

Got customers want to migrate early, they confirm must hurry up.. :o

My father was speculating that Singtel may extend the deadline of the ADSL closure haha, don't know will Singtel do it since they still have 45k ADSL users remaining..

Unexpectedly fast considering this week is the IT Show and there could be a surge of fibre installation haha.. :o

Yeah, there's this NLT activation on the 21st then Singtel installation on the 23rd. The staff say there's no need to do anything on the 21st, only need to prepare for the installation on the 23rd.

actually hor, don't get your hopes too high up cos nearer to the date, they can call you and tell you unable to fulfil order by NLT one..

I mean, if its true then its good, but you also must prepare to accept the fact NLT can last minute flip prata and thus ISP cannot fulfil installation on 23rd...

amazingone

actually hor, don't get your hopes too high up cos nearer to the date, they can call you and tell you unable to fulfil order by NLT one..

I mean, if its true then its good, but you also must prepare to accept the fact NLT can last minute flip prata and thus ISP cannot fulfil installation on 23rd...
Jeez, hope won't kena because my cousin kena before this NLT can't fulfil order thing and the installation got delayed for two weeks.

amazingone

she said once system completes the transfer request, she'll call back to complete migration application... i'll give her until 6 pm then call in again...
:s22:

update: cso called ard 5+ to continue with migration ....

500mbs $29.90, "free" 500mb data sim card, "free" 12 mths email usage (chargeable at $6+/mth) n i told her to cancel those "free" 3-mth VAS;security anti virus family filter etc... n waiver of $30 quarterly fee analogue home line

for "free" 500mb data sim card, she said can't use for call/sms as no nos tagged on it, which is weird... exceeded data usage will be chargeable $10/gb n if don't recontract after 24mths, data sim card will be chargeable mthly... :s22:

so be mindful when telco tells u "FREE"... same with ur "free" voice mail n missed call alerts which make u pay for roaming charges when u go overseas even w/o picking up calls...

now i've to wait for her to call again to gimme NLT appt n singtel installation appt... haizzzz... it's a long drawn-out process....
:vijayadmin:
I don't have the 500MB data SIM card when I migrate to 500M fibre leh haha, but how much will they charge after 24mths?

amazingone

not sure oso, dun even intend to use it... a trap to make u pay when exceed... telcos are very creative!!! :vijayadmin:

did a google search within hwz; found the answer!!! lol... :s13:
Wtf, $19.90 just for 2GB of data?! :eek:

I now have a 1GB mobile data SIM card too, which was given during my 10Mbps ADSL. I think I will call 1688 after my fibre installation and ask them if I will be charged for the data SIM card.

renfred89

Yeah it’s untrue. Receiving sms abroad is totally free, what’s not free is the sending of sms abroad.

Voice mail and such are usually provisioned at time of sign up and usually will be stated in contract when the promo period will last. Can always choose to remove it right from the start and substitute with caller alert if one wants, like what I did..

Don't think this is true...

whatheheck

wahh!!! reli fast for them to arrange installation... cham, my cso haven got back to me abt my migration after i rece email for the successful transfer of ownership of home analogue line...

if ur analogue line is bundled with ur adsl plan, call hotline to de-bundle it n set as standalone service... u'll nid to pay quarterly fee of $30 for the line itself + outgoing usage...

there're many epl streaming sites online, just do a quick google search of the match u wana watch... my 3mbs adsl plan has served me well to watch live epl matches via streaming sites with no lags... hint: sportstec stream

of course with free streaming, u may nid to choose or change channels if quality isn't gd or commentary isn't in english but i've no qualms doing it

is ur analogue line bundled under ur fibre plan? it's weird if they charge u fibre plan + home analogue line quarter fee separately when u've requested not to accept their digital line service... u may wana try 1609 again to tell them nicely abt this issue...

am pretty sure of the tagline "different ppl different answer" until u find one cso kind enuff to dig the matter thoroughly...

Will see if they call again, was scheduled one. Cant be bothered to call again earlier as I wasted 1 hour + each time :s13:
All will try to push the 1 Gpbs plan in your face and set a high price for the 500 one so you can't downgrade plan till full 24 months later.

If no choice then wait till contract up and see all the telco offers in June.

kw442

Waited 3 days for the promised call back from cso on monday for NLT n Singtel appt date...

just called, finally got my installation date next wed...:s12:

no 500mb data sim card, only for 1gb fibre plan, better too...

asked cso to remove those free 3-mth add-ons but still appeared on the soft copy service agreement form... :vijayadmin:

anti spam (free 3mths), anti virus(free 3mths), online storage ($9.99/mth, waived 1st mth on contract din say free how long), email ($6.90/mth, free 12mths)

equipments belong to singtel, if dun recontract, nid return within 7 days to somewhere (cso machine gun-ed the tnc n penalties)...
I migrated last Jun using the online form application so I was able to unchecked all options & got the $5x registration fee waived.

amazingone

Seems like Business DSL will end on 31st March..
GsDQuiX.jpg

https://smemobile.bizportal.singtel.com/shops/broadband/gofibre.jsf?custSegment=B&utm_campaign=projectswing-adsl-p2&utm_Medium=dsp-adsl-reminder-300x250&utm_source=dsp-adsl-p2-r&dclid=CI2QzsSe7NkCFVFFKwodjnAFpg

amazingone

The Singtel field engineer came and installed the fibre just now, now enjoying the fast speed of fibre. :s12:

Finally said goodbye to ADSL after 10 years.. :o

amazingone

wahhh congrats!!! lol.... :s12: did u ask them to lay cable for u?

got a desktop in the room behind tv, where my onr will be installed next wed, so thinking whether shuld i lay or just get wifi adapter for my desktop

The field engineer did ask me if I want to place the router near the TP(beside the living room TV), or in my study room(my PC located at there, also my ADSL modem). I just say place it near the TP will do, because I also bought a WiFi extender to place in the study room.

Now I don't know what to do with the ADSL modem haha, no use also.. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.