Next Election will be a Watershed

aang1971

Singapore had been governed by PAP for last 50 years, under 3 different PMs.

LKY and GCT for all their shortcoming (especially in matter of heart) were great at developing Singapore and ensuring the progress continue.

I have no love for LKY but I am respectful of his commitment and success in guiding Singapore to what he is today.

True he made errors like "Stop at 2" population and his ideas that the gifted are born to govern the silly did not gel with us, but I would say he ensure we have a comfortable lifestyle.

However as we move into digital age, PAP became less adaptable and stubborn. Now that everything and every news are available at the speed of now, PAP and especially the current PM seems less and less able to cope with the new age.

Their old ways of threatening and spreading fear about opposition is no longer working, as information can dispel such fear in matter of seconds.

The attempts by PAP to enforce certain policies and trying to defend the undefendable seems amateurish and made million dollars ministers look incapable.

Recent example is the flip flop by MOM on Degree Mills. After painstakingly drawing a diagram to demonstrate differances between accredited, non-accredited (degree mills) and fake degrees and saying that non-accredited degree holders will be assessed based on experience, now MOM says that degree mills holders will not be eligible to work in Singapore, if you are not a PR or Singaporean.

I guess the multi million dollars paid offered to ministers have attracted people, who are serving by name...but ultimate motive is they are self-serving. Such people can never be effective.

Hence LHL has assembled a D Grade group of ministers to assist him.

And top it all LHL is not a Grade A PM , at best he is B grade. So he lack the leadership to lead and motivate D Graders to excel beyond their natural ability.

We need to change. The opposition may not have the chance to establish a track record in governing the country. True they will make mistake...but not the kind that PAP and their followers are harping about.

There is no corruption in Aljunied. They have not done anything PAP have not done in the past or currently. Which PAP ministers or grassroots can say in their ward, PAP members have not benefited commercially.

The transition will be tough, PAP dominates and structure the economical landscapes around the GLCs and populate it with their followers.

So it will be painful. PAP followers will try to influence you with reports of how bad the NEW Government is doing...but we have to hang in there and work to help us break away from the crutch of PAP.

Let us make the next election an election PAP will never forget.

And trust me, once the NEW GOVERNMENT is entrenched, the self-serving members of PAP will start to join the party and assist in the administration.

PAP will collapse if they are out of power for 2 terms.

Afteall their members join PAP for benefits, not to serve.

gravity_infinity

worrying thing is. if they join for benefits.. then the system itself wont change much. if u dont let them join the new government.. they will sabotage and make it look incompetent.

aang1971

worrying thing is. if they join for benefits.. then the system itself wont change much. if u dont let them join the new government.. they will sabotage and make it look incompetent.

that is unfortunately one of the legacy of LHL.

It is up to the new government to manage and change

CAShop

SG will collapse if PAP is out of power for 2 terms. 1 term under WP and AHPETC already collapsing. We can only imagine the damage they can do on the national level

nyvrem

SG will collapse if PAP is out of power for 2 terms. 1 term under WP and AHPETC already collapsing. We can only imagine the damage they can do on the national level

MRT is under national level

:s11::s11::s11:

aang1971

As i mentioned PAP IBs is like broken record repeating about Aljunied

I think if PAP appoint me to head the IB, the result will be more effective and simpler...rather than these bunch of "RI and NUS" grad who are out of ideas

CAShop

I think if PAP appoint me to head the IB, the result will be more effective and simpler...rather than these bunch of "RI and NUS" grad who are out of ideas

One can accuse me of being a broken record but one cannot deny the fact that WP cannot even handle a simple operation like Town Council management how are they expected to miraculously handle a complex operation. Don't say country level, even managing a stat board is clearly beyond them

idwar1

**** all the money minded PAP politicians and their dogs

Vote for those who will put the interests of Singaporeans first !!!!

michael_thm

The only way the PAP will lose anytime soon is for SDP to get out of the way to let the WP contest against PAP alone.

There are a lot of Singaporeans who will vote WP but NEVER SDP. So dun tell us " Vote for SDP is same as vote for WP."

MiG123

sinkies will still vote them in rah. usual carrots (handouts) and sticks (fear mongering) always work wonders

michael_thm

Personally I think you should be made Prime Minister.

nyvrem

sinkies will still vote them in rah. usual carrots (handouts) and sticks (fear mongering) always work wonders

this year got $500 leh

not bad for putting an X in the box leh.

Laneige

Then SG is doom
No good opposition to manage the country
I hope we won't be liked Taiwan
End up more interested in getting votes or struggle for power than pushing for things to be done
Of coz things liked distance ERP will be good to be abandoned haha

aang1971

Bo watershed, otherwise tuckyou will not be promoted liao.

have you ask why the bunch of obviously incompetent ministers were promoted

have you asked yourself what is the current synergy like among the PAP upper echelon?

LHL is trying very hard to make his own mark on the party as well as Singapore and the world.

It seems to be backfiring as he is not well regarded

If he do not promote his own man, irregardless of capability, how can he be able to influence policy

Even an Emperor need supporter to carry out his policies in his own court, much less a democratically elected PM

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.