Nice Rojak found

chocobelle

jln batu market opposite katong pool ish g0tch nice rojak too~ :lick:

seePyou

U all know the sauce contain high level of mercury which cause cancer?

If you want to be anal about food, you will starve to death. EVERYTHING cause cancer these days. Even your carrots are tainted with insecticides.

matchy

If you want to be anal about food, you will starve to death. EVERYTHING cause cancer these days. Even your carrots are tainted with insecticides.

it is good to be cautious~!;)

Kaki369

and not OVER cautious :)

Everything and Anything in Moderation is good :)

jumpmanz

don't ever try this! :s27:
not worth it. ordered $3 but the serving like $1.50. peanuts not enough and the youtiao although it's warm, very hard to bite into it.

Rojak2.jpg

Rojak1.jpg

ccssgm

don't ever try this! :s27:
not worth it. ordered $3 but the serving like $1.50. peanuts not enough and the youtiao although it's warm, very hard to bite into it.

Rojak2.jpg

Rojak1.jpg

Is this coffee shop renovate again ??
Last few week ago the store is outside near walkway
How come now inside the coffee shop

dreamer75

To the stallholder, the key to good rojak lies in quality ingredients.

Singapore, January 16, 2010

Hoover Rojak
Blk 90 Whampoa Drive
#01-06 Whampoa Drive Food Centre

If the number of scars borne by a soldier is testament to the many wars he has fought, then the odd-shaped stainless steel mixing spoon on Lim Ngah Chew's wall is proof of the countless servings of rojak he has whipped up in his career.

As he holds up the hard-worked spoon, the 64-year-old proudly says, 'It's not out of shape, it's just worn out.'

Since he started out at the age of 16, Mr Lim has always remained insistent that the key to good rojak lies in the ingredients.

This is why despite the perennial snaking queue (even during off-peak hours), the meticulous man can always be found at his stall chopping, slicing, dicing.

While some may dismiss rojak as a mixed up mess, Mr Lim knows better - each individual ingredient contributes to the experience.

This is why he soaks the jellyfish strips every day, just because it adds texture. He prefers older peanuts from India, for the aroma they give out after frying. Even the vegetable and fruit pieces are cut at an angle - for better bite.

Customers can add century eggs with custard-soft centres to their rojak for a dollar more - an unlikely combination that works surprisingly well.

Lest you should think this is an innovation, this was inspired many years ago by his love for century eggs - he has been known to fastidiously change suppliers if the quality is not up to scratch.

The otah here ($0.60 each), made by Mr Lim's sister - plump and mildly spicy - is also a popular buy.

The good news is that this is one rare hawker whose children are keen to continue his legacy.

At the moment, however, they only take the night shift as he stays put. He candidly says, 'They know that I won't know what else to do as this is my second life.'

Hoover Rojak
Blk 90 Whampoa Drive
#01-06 Whampoa Drive Food Centre
Tel 9021-4593
Open daily from 11am to 9.30pm

http://www.soshiok.com/critic/article/6537

dreamer75

6539.jpg

Their rojak 'sets' include tau kwa pau and cuttlefish in rojak sauce.

Yi Kou Xiang Rojak

1) Blk 116 Toa Payoh Lor 1, #01-140

2) Blk 117 Bee Hwa Yuan
Toa Payoh Central #01-02

3) Blk 122 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 #01-1745

In just the short span of a year and a half, Yi Kou Xiang has already expanded to three outlets - thanks to 33-year-old Kelvin Teo.

Backed by a family with a strong history in the hawker food business, he wanted to introduce a 'new concept' rojak ($3, $4, $5) to adapt the age-old favourite to modern times.

Mr Teo includes non-traditional, 'healthier' ingredients such as jambu, mango and cuttlefish.

The choices - available in various 'sets' - have also expanded to include tau kwa pau (stuffed tau kwa, three for $2.50) as well as cuttlefish in rojak sauce ($3, $5).

Unlike some new-generation hawkers who are adept at shortcuts, Mr Teo insists on a more tedious method for his tau kwa pau.

Instead of just stuffing the tau kwa with ingredients and serving the sauce at the side, he tosses the ingredients in rojak sauce, before stuffing the toasted pieces of tau kwa.

The result: More flavour in one mouthful.

The rapid expansion has come at a price.

Keeping watch over his staff and the challenges of maintaining consistent quality has led him to give up one of his stalls, formerly at Blk 78C, Toa Payoh Lorong 4.

The stall is now run by one of his former staff, who changed the name to Ke Kou Xiang, which serves up a less memorable version with a more diluted dressing.

Yi Kou Xiang Rojak
- Blk 116 Toa Payoh Lor 1, #01-140
- Blk 117 Bee Hwa Yuan
Toa Payoh Central #01-02
- Blk 122 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 #01-1745

http://www.soshiok.com/critic/article/6539

dreamer75

Their rojak 'sets' include tau kwa pau and cuttlefish in rojak sauce.

Yi Kou Xiang Rojak

1) Blk 116 Toa Payoh Lor 1, #01-140

2) Blk 117 Bee Hwa Yuan
Toa Payoh Central #01-02

3) Blk 122 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 #01-1745

In just the short span of a year and a half, Yi Kou Xiang has already expanded to three outlets - thanks to 33-year-old Kelvin Teo.

Backed by a family with a strong history in the hawker food business, he wanted to introduce a 'new concept' rojak ($3, $4, $5) to adapt the age-old favourite to modern times.

Mr Teo includes non-traditional, 'healthier' ingredients such as jambu, mango and cuttlefish.

The choices - available in various 'sets' - have also expanded to include tau kwa pau (stuffed tau kwa, three for $2.50) as well as cuttlefish in rojak sauce ($3, $5).

Unlike some new-generation hawkers who are adept at shortcuts, Mr Teo insists on a more tedious method for his tau kwa pau.

Instead of just stuffing the tau kwa with ingredients and serving the sauce at the side, he tosses the ingredients in rojak sauce, before stuffing the toasted pieces of tau kwa.

The result: More flavour in one mouthful.

The rapid expansion has come at a price.

Keeping watch over his staff and the challenges of maintaining consistent quality has led him to give up one of his stalls, formerly at Blk 78C, Toa Payoh Lorong 4.

The stall is now run by one of his former staff, who changed the name to Ke Kou Xiang, which serves up a less memorable version with a more diluted dressing.

Yi Kou Xiang Rojak
- Blk 116 Toa Payoh Lor 1, #01-140
- Blk 117 Bee Hwa Yuan
Toa Payoh Central #01-02
- Blk 122 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 #01-1745

http://www.soshiok.com/critic/article/6539

dreamer75

Te Wei Popiah Rojak Otah's rojak sauce is assertive and complex.

Te Wei Popiah Rojak Otah
183 Upper Thomson Road Long House

Tossing bits and bobs together may not strike one as an art - but one cannot help but be mesmerised by the graceful manner in which stallholder Mr Ong prepares his rojak ($3, $4, $5).

He carefully - but deftly - shaves the fruit and vegetables, swiftly turns to retrieve the freshly toasted tau pok and you tiao in the two neatly stacked toasters behind him, and then snips them into smaller pieces at a steady rhythm.

What has drawn regulars here since 2004 is Mr Ong's sauce. It's assertive without being overpowering; yet not so diluted that it ends up a watery disappointment.

As you watch him at work, you realise Mr Ong goes to great lengths to prepare the base sauce for each order - rojak sauce is mixed with a plethora of ingredients, from lime peel to finely cut ginger flower.

The result: A more complex rojak, despite the common ingredient mix.

Other than rojak, the popiah here is also worth the wait.

The only downside is that you have to queue for this dish, while rojak is delivered to your table.

The logic of that we cannot figure out - but as long as we can sit and wait for our rojak, no one's complaining.

Te Wei Popiah Rojak Otah
183 Upper Thomson Road Long House
Open from 11am to 11pm, closed on alternate Wednesdays

http://www.soshiok.com/critic/article/6538

FatalethaL

woah 30yrs of ur life... HI UNCLE !

and yes for me for the past... fudge i think since i was like primary sch kid or even younger... roughly 12 yrs of my life.. i have nt tasted any rojak tat tastes so orgasmic as the Lau Ser Hong.. my parents have been supporting them since like.. i was not even on this earth HAHAHAHA

LSH FTW !

the sweet sauce is juz nice, nt too sweet, nt too bland. and i love their chilli+sweet sauce combi...
the taste of 2 worlds blended in so so well.. simultaenously u can taste chilli and sweet sauce at the same time.

my mum's fav is their tau pok(i think) stuffed wif tau geh... she says tat this 1 is the most freshest she ever tasted in her life.

ok thanks for the recommendation, one rojak that i believe that is hard to beat is Lau Hong Ser rojak at Dunman Hawker centre along dunman road (near Tanjong Katong). So far in 30 years of my life i have not eaten any other rojak that tastes near to their standard.

hariiss

MY 2 equally favourite Lau Hong Ser in Duman FC & Toa Rojak in Old Airport Road FC.Simply awesome.

exterminazn

i recommend my area there the rojak damn nice. at bukit panjang, near the petir lrt, block 110+ something, just beside the road only

astrayharry

taman jurong market...the rojak stall also superb....the sauce esp is omg nice..

somemore the stall concept is mahciam like those ngoghiam stall one..pick yr own sides..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.