Nintendo Switch thread - Part 2

makav31i

That means tax free with another 5% discount showing any Visa card huh?

Suppose the Pokémon game in japan is no English huh haha.

I thought Pokemon game in Japan support English...When you launched the game for the first time, it lets you select the language you want to use...It is highly unlikely that they created a Japanese only pokemon game and for the rest of the world uses another one game...

iguesstheynevermisshuh

Hi, so what’s the general consensus on getting the switch overseas? Is it worth the hassle to get one overseas from Japan / US for the slightly cheaper price or is it better to get one locally? Also I missed the 11.11 deals so anyone know whether Nintendo switch have any Black Friday deals? And if I miss the BF deals do you think Christmas will have any other attractive deals? Thanks, it’s my first time using this forum :)

5star_pundit

Hi, so what’s the general consensus on getting the switch overseas? Is it worth the hassle to get one overseas from Japan / US for the slightly cheaper price or is it better to get one locally? Also I missed the 11.11 deals so anyone know whether Nintendo switch have any Black Friday deals? And if I miss the BF deals do you think Christmas will have any other attractive deals? Thanks, it’s my first time using this forum :)

the japan set is in japanese language , do you understand japanese? get from sg lah only $399 cheaper than amazon

culepico

I would recommend just to get local set from shopee or lazada. There are many sales in this period of the year (9.9, 10.10, 11.11, black Friday, Christmas sales etc.) in those platforms mentioned. Also, flash sales occur quite frequently for switch in shopee so look out for those too.

marcansy

Hi guys, so I have just gotten my switch yesterday and started to fiddle around with it. For my switch itself, the region i chose 'The Americas' , my questions here are that :
1) when setting up my nintendo account , do i set my region as United States as well in order to use the eshop ?
2) what would be a good country/region & time zone to stick to , if i just wish to stick with 1 only ?

iguesstheynevermisshuh

I would recommend just to get local set from shopee or lazada. There are many sales in this period of the year (9.9, 10.10, 11.11, black Friday, Christmas sales etc.) in those platforms mentioned. Also, flash sales occur quite frequently for switch in shopee so look out for those too.

Alright, thanks! I’ll probably keep a look out on these platforms. I guess a cheaper price overseas isn’t really worth all the hassle :-/ I’m really regretting missing out on the 11.11 deals... hopefully there are equally good deals for Black Friday since I’m intending to get it before December.

makav31i

you know how to modding or not
don't void the warranty hor

The above post is a good example of the blind leading the blind...How is changing language which is an option on the Nintendo Switch suddenly requires modding? So if you buy local set and set the language to Japanese, it will require modding and void warranty? So Nintendo left the language option for people to void warranty?

5star_pundit

The above post is a good example of the blind leading the blind...How is changing language which is an option on the Nintendo Switch suddenly requires modding? So if you buy local set and set the language to Japanese, it will require modding and void warranty? So Nintendo left the language option for people to void warranty?

Haha don’t need to know modding, it’s one of the starting up options iirc

you don't even own a japan nintendo switch of course you can say whatever you like

Asakura

gosh. switch is region free. u can set it to any language u want
please dont mislead others

runforyourlife

I thought Pokemon game in Japan support English...When you launched the game for the first time, it lets you select the language you want to use...It is highly unlikely that they created a Japanese only pokemon game and for the rest of the world uses another one game...

Ok bro that’ll be cool!!

makav31i

Have to consider the adaptor (cause voltage different I think) + no warranty. So if suay and got a spoilt Nintendo switch cannot easily repair or exchange... but it’s cheaper if you buy from Japan though

Adapter should be because different country uses different wall socket...Some people would buy the UK adapter because they prefer 3-pin over the 2-pin plug that is sold in Singapore...

People have the misconception that buying a Switch overseas equals to no warranty...It is not true at all...You can still claim warranty at the country you purchased the Switch from...If you go to Japan quite frequently, Nintendo Japan will not stop you from going to Nintendo Japan for a faulty Switch...Same applies to the Nintendo Switch that is bought in any other country...

Fat_Hope

i just bought a switch frm bicqlo in shinjuku-ku. sgd350 only.. can change to english la upon bootup.. lol if u r planning to go japan just hoot there

iguesstheynevermisshuh

Adapter should be because different country uses different wall socket...Some people would buy the UK adapter because they prefer 3-pin over the 2-pin plug that is sold in Singapore...

People have the misconception that buying a Switch overseas equals to no warranty...It is not true at all...You can still claim warranty at the country you purchased the Switch from...If you go to Japan quite frequently, Nintendo Japan will not stop you from going to Nintendo Japan for a faulty Switch...Same applies to the Nintendo Switch that is bought in any other country...

Ah the thing is I don’t travel to Japan all there frequently but my dad has colleagues there so that’s how I was planning to get at first. But i still a bit paiseh so that’s why :-(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.