Nintendo Switch thread - Part 2

C.Adam

TwHl9X6.png

Accessories that I bought for Switch.

But i could not find thumb grip for my pro controller in retail stores though. Does anyone knows where can i get it as i scared the rubber parts might worn out, cus i play for long hours.

mohaha

But i could not find thumb grip for my pro controller in retail stores though. Does anyone knows where can i get it as i scared the rubber parts might worn out, cus i play for long hours.

Find it on shopee .

C.Adam

Find it on shopee .

Alot of the store states that it is compatible with both switch and PS4, then their pic shows that they put it on joy con.

I tried my joy con's ones on the controller but apparently is like squeezing into a pair of extremely tight skinny jeans. don't fit well though.

u guys use what kind of thumb grip for your controller?

And do you guys experience your switch heating up after playing for few hours on dock mode? does the cooler works? as i just ordered a cooler fan.

mohaha

Alot of the store states that it is compatible with both switch and PS4, then their pic shows that they put it on joy con.

I tried my joy con's ones on the controller but apparently is like squeezing into a pair of extremely tight skinny jeans. don't fit well though.

And do you guys experience your switch heating up after playing for few hours on dock mode? does the cooler works? as i just ordered a cooler fan.

No leh. Joy con thumb grip doesn't fit the pro con at all. You have to find pro con grip. And for shopee u are able to visit to those selling.

I using Japanese brand thumb grip for my pro con. Many dot and 4 dot type . Yeah it is very comfy.u can find it on shopee.
As for cooling.. I just use extension c cable and solve the problem of overheating as I can dock outside.

Gametaku

Joycon thumb grip does not fit the pro controller. You can get pro controller thumb grip here. I am using it..fits the pro controller perfectly.

WWsXlaM.jpg

https://shopee.sg/Fast-Local-Shippi...r-TPU-Thumb-Stick-Grip-Cap-i.875520.779341692

C.Adam

No leh. Joy con thumb grip doesn't fit the pro con at all. You have to find pro con grip. And for shopee u are able to visit to those selling.

I using Japanese brand thumb grip for my pro con. Many dot and 4 dot type . Yeah it is very comfy.u can find it on shopee.
As for cooling.. I just use extension c cable and solve the problem of overheating as I can dock outside.

hi Mate, thank you for the help, i found the Skull & Co thumb grip on shoppee already.

I'll update the post after my cooler fan comes and see whether is it better.

strikefreedom_83

Had a minor heart attack last night when my Switch wouldn't turn on. What made matters worst is Maxsoft is currently undergoing an annual stock take so they would only accept inquiries for repairs from 6 June onwards.

Left it to charge with just the wall charger and miraculously it turned on just now. Now I have to monitor what caused the hoohaa in the first place. Anyway, I don't use any third party accessories.

Something similar happen to me recently. BOTW game crashes with an error code and when I try to restart the switch it refuse to turn on for a moment. Hope it won't happen again.

PierceLee

Joycon thumb grip does not fit the pro controller. You can get pro controller thumb grip here. I am using it..fits the pro controller perfectly.

WWsXlaM.jpg

https://shopee.sg/Fast-Local-Shippi...r-TPU-Thumb-Stick-Grip-Cap-i.875520.779341692
Selecting thumb grip is probably a matter of personal preference. I have tried this type on my PS4 controller, as well as another type that has less dots (only on the rim). Maybe my thumbs are too sensitive but I find them rather ticklish. I am now using a type with a paw pattern on all my controllers (PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, Vita), works well for me.

hi Mate, thank you for the help, i found the Skull & Co thumb grip on shoppee already.

I'll update the post after my cooler fan comes and see whether is it better.
If you are getting the tall type of thumb grips (Skill co has some, kontrol freek also), be aware of how it changes your game play. Essentially, with a taller stick, it reduces the sensitivity of the stick. Basically you have to move your thumb a longer distance to achieve the same angle as the naked stick. Depending on the game, this may or may not be noticeable. You may need to adjust the sensitivity setting in-game, if the option is there. Or get used to it.

C.Adam

Selecting thumb grip is probably a matter of personal preference. I have tried this type on my PS4 controller, as well as another type that has less dots (only on the rim). Maybe my thumbs are too sensitive but I find them rather ticklish. I am now using a type with a paw pattern on all my controllers (PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, Vita), works well for me.

If you are getting the tall type of thumb grips (Skill co has some, kontrol freek also), be aware of how it changes your game play. Essentially, with a taller stick, it reduces the sensitivity of the stick. Basically you have to move your thumb a longer distance to achieve the same angle as the naked stick. Depending on the game, this may or may not be noticeable. You may need to adjust the sensitivity setting in-game, if the option is there. Or get used to it.

My wife recommend the cat paws ones, maybe i should take out those on my PS4 and try it on my pro controller though. If it works i can buy PS4 ones to use then.

But i already ordered these liao, guess no harm to have more options though.

Kibamaru

Hey I know now the Switch is region free so the game version doesn't matter. But to what extent should I not care?

If my eShop is already set to Alberta, Canada due to my 3DS gaming days, and I buy an EU pegi game that has a software update, so I have to switch over to the EU eShop to get the update?

And what about the gold coins? Can use EU cart to collect coins for my US/Canada eShop?

Kwein

so far doesn't matter
and for coin redemption i use my US region account to redeem

Hey I know now the Switch is region free so the game version doesn't matter. But to what extent should I not care?

If my eShop is already set to Alberta, Canada due to my 3DS gaming days, and I buy an EU pegi game that has a software update, so I have to switch over to the EU eShop to get the update?

And what about the gold coins? Can use EU cart to collect coins for my US/Canada eShop?

derekliu

To get my xbox one bluetooth controller to work with the switch on dock mode, is it just any normal bluetooth wireless adapter will do or muz be the 8bitdo's brand then can work?

invigo79

Yeah i've got all the mentioned items already, just that my screen protector the shop people stick until chui. first day got 2 air bubbles already and say no exchange due to me buying bundle set. Now the 3rd one coming up.

Was also thinking should i get the cooler for the docking station cus i always play in dock mode at home
If you play docked mode then get the pro controller. Much better than the joycon.

Sent from Home using GAGT

PierceLee

To get my xbox one bluetooth controller to work with the switch on dock mode, is it just any normal bluetooth wireless adapter will do or muz be the 8bitdo's brand then can work?
8bitdo makes 3rd party controllers that can work on the Switch. It won't make your xbox controllers work. Edit: 8bitdo does make bluetooth adapter for Switch (here).

If you want you use existing xbox one controller on the Switch, you need "Xbox to Wii U BROOK converter". Not sure if Nintendo has patched the Switch to stop it from working. Even when it works, there are limitations (wired only, sticks being digital vs analog etc). Anyway the converter is expensive (S$50+), so not worth it unless you already have it during the Wii U days.

1604215347.jpg

justln

8bitdo makes 3rd party controllers that can work on the Switch. It won't make your xbox controllers work. Edit: 8bitdo does make bluetooth adapter for Switch (here).

Bought 8bitdo adapter for PS4 DualShock controllers since it support Gyro too.

Website says it supports Xbox controller.
It supports Xbox One S/X Bluetooth controller
Our USB Adapter is compatible with Xbox One S/X Bluetooth controller now. Please upgrade its latest firmware to V1.13

Any model to sic?
Friend bought Xiaomi 15000mAh ZMI Power Bank USB PD, works fine and is cheap.

dmullin

Guys I heard that its better to buy a sleeve for dock to protect the screen from getting scratched when docking.

Cant seems to find it from taobao.anyone got lobang?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.