Nintendo Switch thread

Gametaku

When the PS4 launched in the US on Nov 2013, it came with more issues than the Switch launch. To list a few of the problems - Dead on arrival, blue light of death, white light of death, red line of death, disc auto ejecting itself, disc drive refusing to accept disc and more. All the above were hardware issues and couldnt be fixed with mere software updates. Sony didnt care and only release a revision few years later. I personally bought the PS4 on US launch day and encountered the blue light of death issue (couldnt boot up at all). Had to ask Amazon for a replacement set. The second set came with the same issue and i was offered a replacement again. Third set caught the blue light of death issue after 6 months. Local launch was on Feb 2014 but those set came with the same issues.

2e12ef1e3aba4b86a1a4476caccbd33f.png

5bef5d80ceae4cc2a78dd4c0549c5812.png

443b13cf31df4b2aab5e9e4cb53cd0f8.png

Speaking of Joycon issue... Dualshock 4 CUH-ZCT1U launched with a bigger problem. The R2 trigger breaks easily and this happened to me 5 times. I am not exaggerating. Google for "broken dualshock 4 R2" and you can easily find more than 10k videos for this:s13:. This issue was eventually fixed with Dualshock 4 hardware revision CUH-ZCT2U but the solution only came last year.

The newer method Sony has seemed to use to totally eliminate broken triggers and even squeaky triggers is to simply place the spring (1) onto a hinge totally separate from the pivot (2). In launch models and somewhat later, the spring was always placed onto the pivot (2) which caused squeaking and ultimately, a broken pivot since the stress and wear of having that spring constantly moving onto it caused it to break easily. Now this problem is potentially eliminated on both fronts due to no stress caused by the spring on the pivot.

I dunno y Sony fanboys are lurking and gloating in the Nintendo thread. Launch vs launch.. the Switch has a better start. You dont see Nintendo fanboys laughing at PS4 when it obviously has a worse launch :). I personally love both the PS4 and Switch.

ElZedHaitch

I don't even understand why there are fan boys. You can buy more than one console. It's not like you should only support 1 football club. Consoles no need loyalty. I have Sony and Nintendo consoles and I have no plan to stop that.

Also those that always say pc is better. I have a good pc too. But that does not stop you from getting a console.

DQUEK123

When the PS4 launched in the US on Nov 2013, it came with more issues than the Switch launch. To list a few of the problems - Dead on arrival, blue light of death, white light of death, red line of death, disc auto ejecting itself, disc drive refusing to accept disc and more. All the above were hardware issues and couldnt be fixed with mere software updates. Sony didnt care and only release a revision few years later. I personally bought the PS4 on US launch day and encountered the blue light of death issue (couldnt boot up at all). Had to ask Amazon for a replacement set. The second set came with the same issue and i was offered a replacement again. Third set caught the blue light of death issue after 6 months. Local launch was on Feb 2014 but those set came with the same issues.

2e12ef1e3aba4b86a1a4476caccbd33f.png

5bef5d80ceae4cc2a78dd4c0549c5812.png

443b13cf31df4b2aab5e9e4cb53cd0f8.png

Speaking of Joycon issue... Dualshock 4 CUH-ZCT1U launched with a bigger problem. The R2 trigger breaks easily and this happened to me 5 times. I am not exaggerating. Google for "broken dualshock 4 R2" and you can easily find more than 10k videos for this:s13:. This issue was eventually fixed with Dualshock 4 hardware revision CUH-ZCT2U but the solution only came last year.

I dunno y Sony fanboys are lurking and gloating in the Nintendo thread. Launch vs launch.. the Switch has a better start. You dont see Nintendo fanboys laughing at PS4 when it obviously has a worse launch :). I personally love both the PS4 and Switch.
Don't get me started on PS4. I was an early adopter for PS4. Knn cannot make it and I swear to god not to buy another Sony product.

StanII

It's under warranty for 12 months. Just enjoy it and get it repaired when it happens.

guess many are worried esp in SG due to after sales support, not like we can get a 1 to 1 replacement easily anytime.

PierceLee

When the PS4 launched in the US on Nov 2013, it came with more issues than the Switch launch. To list a few of the problems - Dead on arrival, blue light of death, white light of death, red line of death, disc auto ejecting itself, disc drive refusing to accept disc and more.
Not to sound defensive, but honestly the only widespread PS4 problem was disc auto eject, and most people were able to fix it themselves (remove a rubber foot or turn a screw).

Many of us came from GAX, the bigger local gaming forum back then, and there wasn't any other problem reported by anyone (compare that to the sheer quantity reported by users in just this thread).

The trigger button problem wasn't common either (no one mentioned it in GAX), probably depends on individual's usage. In fact there are ppl who intentionally removed the spring cos they prefer the feel. And since the trigger is analog, not just digital, having a softer, less bouncy touch sometimes helps (I know cos I actually did just that, but since I play shooters more I put back the spring). If it's the pivot sticks that break, local shops can probably replace it (or can DIY) if after warranty, not something that requires Sony repair.

If you bring up the original PS3 phat or Xbox 360, that would be better comparison. The PS4 was no where near as problematic as the Switch at launch.

ATZW1980

I don't even understand why there are fan boys. You can buy more than one console. It's not like you should only support 1 football club. Consoles no need loyalty. I have Sony and Nintendo consoles and I have no plan to stop that.

Also those that always say pc is better. I have a good pc too. But that does not stop you from getting a console.

in the words of a fanboy is call betrayal LOL

when i was look at some USA forum ....... O man it look bad......
But like u i dun mind whose supporting who..... as long there game hahaha

DQUEK123

Not to sound defensive, but honestly the only widespread PS4 problem was disc auto eject, and most people were able to fix it themselves (remove a rubber foot or turn a screw).

Many of us came from GAX, the bigger local gaming forum back then, and there wasn't any other problem reported by anyone (compare that to the sheer quantity reported by users in just this thread).

The trigger button problem wasn't common either (no one mentioned it in GAX), probably depends on individual's usage. In fact there are ppl who intentionally removed the spring cos they prefer the feel. And since the trigger is analog, not just digital, having a softer, less bouncy touch sometimes helps (I know cos I actually did just that, but since I play shooters more I put back the spring). If it's the pivot sticks that break, local shops can probably replace it (or can DIY) if after warranty, not something that requires Sony repair.

If you bring up the original PS3 phat or Xbox 360, that would be better comparison. The PS4 was no where near as problematic as the Switch at launch.

Nonsense!! PS4 launch was a joke, the system was just unstable... I still holding on to my trusty xbox 360 for almost 10 years...

Some games will also hang the system, couldn't recall which game... damn!! PS4 just fail to meet fan boy expectation...LOL.

KinMun1989

There's a few reports on Nintendo switch getting bend and wrap due to over heating. Anyone here the switch got this problem?

Marukoban

Seriously I don't understand either why got so many Sony fanboys here.
I don't actually give a **** about console. As long as it has games that I want to play then it's good. I don't see why anyone needs to be so devoted towards a company that does not even pay them anything.

When you buy any electronics stuff, especially as early adopter, you expect to get some problem.
Sony PS, PS2, PS3 and PS4 all got problem. And yeah I owned all of them. Hell even my vita got battery drain problem and it is my currently most played system.
PS2 is my favorite system of all time and I had to return that thing twice to the store within first 2 weeks. And I bought PS2 in 2003, 3 years after launch.

halocast

micheloving

Thats why moi never buy console at launch.

Too risky and expensive .

Sure gonna be issues but is whether your ego or wallet can take it .

But switch dock quality is rather dubious and its for all to see. I think the dock might be bended/misalign from the start to cause the "warping ".

I gonna w8 for switch v2 so I can play xenoblade 2 with no worries.

Op_Valkyrie

That's what I already mentioned a couple of weeks ago.... don know why ppl that don even own switch come in here keep ranting... either they are other fanboi (mostly Sony) or jelly...

Like some of the others in here... I owned almost all the modern day consoles and handhelds and 4 high end pc rigs.... I also nv condemned other consoles and brands... cos at the end of the day u just enjoy ur hoots, games with maybe a group of friends. :)

xKeithx

That's what I already mentioned a couple of weeks ago.... don know why ppl that don even own switch come in here keep ranting... either they are other fanboi (mostly Sony) or jelly...

Like some of the others in here... I owned almost all the modern day consoles and handhelds and 4 high end pc rigs.... I also nv condemned other consoles and brands... cos at the end of the day u just enjoy ur hoots, games with maybe a group of friends. :)

sinkie pawn sinkie mentality, some ppl just like to think so much before buying anything and find reasons for themselves not to buy it, even though they want it so badly...

then come here and tell the owners "see? i already told u sure have problem" to make themselves feel better because they have not bought it yet :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.