‘No luck even after a SkillsFuture course’ — Woman asks for help after two years of unemployment

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

JivBunny

why are u so condescending

I don’t think that’s condescending. Just that the barrier of entry to these jobs are lower due to the high demand, local taking such jobs will get the company quota for hiring more foreigners. The low take up rate bcos of pple’s view of taking such jobs as “condescending”

It’s a decent job that pays decent salary (than not doing anything)

jinsadndepress

Those peepur who like to sing tune of take any job dont choosy are those that arm chio wan see other peepur do worse than them 1

Thoreldan

Skills futures is an initive to enrich/benefit those in the training sector. It doesn't help people who need to secure/change job.

The real problem?
Ageism and lack of real world experience in a new field.

Senfai

People in their 40s should be somewhere respectable in their field of work. And no, their salaries do not lose to someone with degree in their twenties. Just look at the salary report can see already.

If they are not, it speaks for itself, what kind of character these people are. Typical eat snake sinkies, always take mc, anyhow quit without a job etc.
My salary definitely loses to a fresh grad and I am not the type of person you described.

I am most offended by your post.

XiaoChilli

Actually women are super privileged in SG and finds high paying cushy jobs easily one.

All my female classmates/friends/relatives also in office jobs easily $8k & above

Even those who are quite stupid with low EQ also can find a office job with pretty decent pay

Unless the looks really extremely jialat and cannot speak coherently... otherwise no issues for females when it comes to finding good jobs in SG
Wad kind of office job 8k?

XiaoChilli

Yes. As a potential employer, I think this is a red flag.

Coming up with a cock and bull story like “I started an online business with friends which didn’t make it in the end” but learnt things abt simple business management is also better than her line.
I got a 8 yr gap which I done online retail biz.. not kok n bull story..can check got biz registered one.. but I managed find a FT job after it wasnt sustainable.

Heriophant

If one of 65% then dun complain.
NUqMpop.gif

Solidus_GZ

Skill future not a silver bullet, had to go out net work more. It seen like retrench is death sentence for most, need to find alternate source of income.

popdod

Skillsfuture ish to create jobs for school admins and lecturers or trainers.

not for unemployed. :(

Heriophant

She can take clean toilet course sure can get jobs

Got apply correct course?

SF is a pointless initiative by the pap to create hope in a hopeless situation. It wastes tax payers money only

She should take up healthcare course.

digital marketing - need experience and going to be replaced by AI
HR jobs - replaced by AI

Learn some useful skill lik hair cutting la....

Pick up useful skill course if really want use the credit

Simi digital marketing all waste of time
All these job hard to get 1

no shortage of cleaners and security guards meh?
Dont say BOJIO hor... I spend my Skillsfuture credit on below course (4.8 STAR RATED) and now secured my iron rice bowl cleaning toilets at PAP/PA/GLC buildings. PAP wan sui !

Screenshot-2025-05-31-190247.jpg

Evil_Boss

Its not like taking a SF course in DM = u can immediately work in DM lor. The employers prob want someone with degree in mktg WHO completed a course in DM.

SF courses are supplements on top of what you are trained in..... yes, sociology major is not easy to find jobs one.... so the having a DM cert still put you lower than a polygrad in mktg.... and prob she is asking for degree level pay i guess.... who will employ her???

DM is one of the jobs that are most easily outsourced to India, Philippines too

canteen0101

after 2 years of unemployment think even delivery rider coy also will hiam. dun say office job.

best hope is apply to be cleaner. sg needs more cleaners at eateries.

PikaPika33

actually sociology degree come out do what one?
same same other similar degree, like arts, psychology etc

:s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.